We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes you feel like home”
Review of Quinta do Cabouco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta do Cabouco
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ribeira Brava
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Quinta do Cabouco is a beautiful manor house located close to Ribeira Brava. It overlooks the sea and nearby town - the view from the house is stunning anytime during the day and night. The owner, Filomena, is a distinguished lady with an open heart. She treats her Quinta and her guests with great care, making you feel like you're at home. And this homely feeling overcomes all 5* hotels by far.

It is also nice to know most of the food provided by Filomena is from her own garden. The breakfast includes fresh orange juice, tea, Nescafe Dolce Gusto (espresso, capuccino, chococcino), bread and butter, egg, home-made marmelade, yoghurt, cheese, ham and also loads of various fruit, which is avalaible all the time at the dining room. Along breakfast you may order romantic, candle-lit dinner as well, but only on Saturday, during sunset (or based on arrangement). You may choose between vegetarian food or fish. We had the vegetarian one and it was simply perfect! It was the most delicious meal we had during our stay on the island.

I'd recommend Quinta do Cabouco to anyone who wants to have a quiet and cozy place to return to after an all-day travelling around Madeira. We found absolutely no flaw about this place and we're sure to come back one day!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monika Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 30 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Quinta do Cabouco is a perfect base from which to explore Madeira. Funchal is within easy reach and some of the nicer levadas and veradas are practically on your doorstep. It is also an ideal spot to relax and unwind. Set on a hill, 300 m above sealevel, great views, 3 rooms, magnificent communal areas.Lovely host(ess), great hospitality, lovely garden, delicious fruits, breakfast and coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karel_ouendag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here at this amazing house. Even though the weather during our stay was unseasonably bad, the house and the magnificent views we had from our bedroom window more than made up for it.
The downstairs living room was more like a conservatory from which you could see the bay and the surrounding mountains. The fireplace made the chillier evenings delightfully cozy. There is a communal kitchen which can be used by any of the guests, and is well equipped. The are only three rooms for guests, so although you share the house, it is large enough to not feel crowded.
The landlady, Filomena, was a wonderful host who was friendly and extremely helpful, and made our stay feel special. For breakfast she provides a different home made jam every morning made herself from fruits from the garden.
The only slight downside to the house is the drive to it, which is full of hairpin bends up the mountain. After a few drives around Madeira you will realise that everything is up a mountain, and you will happily get used to it and the amazing views it provides.

All in all a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

"Quinta da Cabouco" is situated in the outskirts of Ribeira Brava, on the slope of the mountain high above the center of the town. It is easy to find when you use the map on their website. The view over the bay from the house is marvellous. The Quinta is a rebuilt old house in a big beautiful garden. It is also a quiet place, perfect for relaxing far from the hustle of the cities. Still, Ribeira Brava is situated near the centre of the island, and therefore an ideal starting points for exploring Madeira and as a basis for walking tours.

Our guestroom was very big, and luxuriously equipped for sleeping and living. The furniture is elegant, with a slightly antique style. The king size bed was big and comfortable, with warm blankets. During the rather cool week in March we stayed there, we were glad that an electric radiator was available in the room. The bathroom is also stylish and well-equiped, with a tub for bath and shower usage. A downstairs living room with the breakfast table and a fireplace and a kitchen for self-catering can be used by all guests.

Although the rooms are equipped like a top-level hotel in many respects, this accomodation does not feel like an anonymous hotel, but in fact it is a private B&B which is run with a lot of enthusiasm and heartiness by the landlady. We were offered free juice, cake and Madeira wine for welcome. They took care well of all our needs. Coffee and fruits from the gardens were available for free at any time. On a Saturday, we were served a delicious three-course candle-light dinner, mostly made of products from the landlady's own organic farming.

For what it offers, the price of accomodation at Quinta da Cabouco is more than acceptable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Secueil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent the last night of our holiday in Madeira at the Quinta do Cabouco. It was the most beautiful, relaxing and peaceful house with stunning views over the sea. Filomena was the perfect host and served us a wonderful candlelit meal while the sun was setting behind the big picture window. Many of the ingrediants were fresh from the garden.
We felt so at home there and found the facilities were of a very high standard.
Thank you

Room Tip: We had room overlooking the sea and the view was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaliew_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Upon our arrival we were given a tour of the organic gardens and were encouraged to sample what ever we'd like to try during our stay. There are many cozy nooks to escape to to take naps, read, relax or just take in the views. A fish pond also creates a meditative spot to unwind. The property also has a large kitchen for guests to use along with two dining areas and a living room.

Our room was so luxurious and romantic. My sister and I had double wardrobes and a claw foot tub with sea views. We felt like princesses! The decor was country chic with our own seating lounge. All the furniture is vintage and we even found binoculars in one of the drawers to watch the ships passing by from our window.

I love Quinta do Cabouco for its history and charm. The classic construction with its tiled floors and traditional kitchen along with serene views of the mountains and sea help to create a vibe that is truly Madeiran. Although a car is recommended, the bus passes near by and for those who live to travel on foot, a step and fun series of old roads will lead you into the main town. The walk is steep. Not for the faint of heart.

Every evening, we'd rush back to Cabouco to take in the surreal sunsets that would soon turn into the most amazing moonlit starry night sky. The smell of burning leaves traveling in the wind from the mountains is so unique to Madeira and at Cabouco as well. My sister and I had such a comfortable stay we look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: The suite has a romantic claw foot tub. There is also ample storage for your luggage, clothes and ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SartellStudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Difficult to find with the car, but at the end it was certainly worth the effort. The views are incredible, the place is quiet and the house is clean and lovely. I definitely recommend order a dinner there. The owner suprised us with a menu done with ingredients taken from a conversation we had the day before (just asking about the plants in the garden and the biological diversity of the island... it was a great surprise that she cooked some dishes with those plants)

Room Tip: any room looking west or south-west, for the sunset. (I think there are no rooms to rent looking eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fonnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ribeira Brava
0.8 mi away
Hotel Do Campo
Hotel Do Campo
#1 of 5 in Ribeira Brava
124 reviews
8 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
4.4 mi away
Vila Alfonso
Vila Alfonso
#2 of 2 in Estreito de Camara de Lobos
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
2.9 mi away
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
546 reviews
7.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Cabouco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Cabouco

Address: Caminho do Cabouco, Ribeira Brava, Madeira 9350-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ribeira Brava
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ribeira Brava
Price Range: $86 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Cabouco is one of the best B&B houses of Madeira IslandIt's a real home from home, with all its particular attention to detail and comfort. Located on a hill, overlooking the widespread of the blue ocean, where sunsets are incomparable.Quinta do Cabouco is one of the sunniest places to live, in terms of weather condition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quinta do Cabouco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Cabouco Madeira/Ribeira Brava, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing