We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious and delightful meal by the sea...”

Restaurant & Grill Muralha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: O Restaurante Muralha Esta Localizado Na Zona Nobre Da Vila Da Ribeira Brava, Mais Especificamente Junto A Praia Por De Cima Do Parque De Estacionamento. A Nossa Especialidade E Cozinha Tradicional Portuguesa A Base De Grelhados.
South Pacific
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A delicious and delightful meal by the sea...”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Dinner at Muralha was our first dinner out after arriving a few days ago in Madeira for a 75 day stay. As world travelers dining out two to three times a week, we've learned to keep our expectations low for an often mediocre meal. Tonight, we were pleasantly surprised at not only the delicious meal and ambiance but, also the fine service.

The salmon steak that I ordered was not only the largest piece of salmon I ever ordered, but, its succulent taste, seasonings and preparation was pure perfection. My husband had the mixed grill and was able to swap out the lamb for more steak, also cooked and seasoned to perfection. The included side salads and steamed vegetables were equally delicious.

We also enjoyed the parakeets in the cage outdoors and the aquariam loaded with fish as a nice touch. With our months of remaining time in Madeira, we'll most certainly return to Muralha, sooner than later. With a large bottled water, one large beer, a siide of garlic bread our bill with graturity was EU$45, not bad for a memorable dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank worldwidewaftage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    130
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madeira, Portugal
1 review
“Optimo !”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Muito bom ! Já comi ai muitas vezes, e não me arrependo de nada !
It is a very good restaurant. I eat there all the time, and i have no regrets !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElvioSargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very good service, decent food”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We received a warm welcome at the Muralha. Unfortunately no fresh fish was available. We decided to order Portugese Cheese and Olives as a starter. This turned out to be tasteful but not very special, combined with the Red Wine (our hosts choice) it was a positive experience. The (not freshly made) grilled fillet of salmon was (no more than) good, the beef steak was great! The same wine combined very well. Passion fruit pudding for dessert was absolutely great! All throughout our visit we received attentive service, the rythm of presenting the various courses was perfect. Even though we did not have the very best food, 4 stars out of 5 is well earned! Please note: Muralha has a fine terrace with shady spots (in case you're there during high season). Inside the restaurant it seemed less cosy but nevertheless clean and bright. All in all we paid € 60 for a 3 course meal inclusing 1 bottle of red wine and a bottleof still water. Worth visiting!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marvelous late lunch at Muralha”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have visited this restaurant on Dec, 29 night before we left Madeira after X-mas vacation. It was marvelous late afternoon lunch with bright sky, calm sea and sun. We had typical madeiran cheese plate, very fine wine and local fish. The service was very professional, frankly - this was the first-to-be all-5-star restaurant during our stay. Many thanks!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon snack turned into a full meal”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We planned to go to another place nearby after a nice long walk along one of the levadas. The other place was closed so we looked on trip advisor and found this place instead. And we were very happily surprised. Nice bright clean and modern building overlooking the sea. Great views and with ample sun shades to keep us from burning.

We only planned to have a little bite to eat but after a long walk we decided to make it our main meal for the day. We ordered the grilled Octopus (Polvo) for 2 people. We also ordered side orders of vegetables and salad to go with it. The Octopus was perfectly cooked, simple, good quality, fresh food. Served with potatoes and I cant remember what else.

It wasnt cheap at 32 euros for the 2 of us. plus extra for the salad, vegetables and drinks it came to 50 euros.. But it was good quality, tasty, nicely cooked and the service was great. plus they had nice high speed wifi that we could use for free..

The next time we're in Madeira we'll take a trip to this place.

Very good :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JasonEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant & Grill Muralha also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Restaurant & Grill Muralha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing