We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Park Alandia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Alandia Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Mariehamn
Reviewed July 3, 2013

From the ferry it's easy walk to the hotel (well, you can take the mini train if you like). It's not a five star hotel but to expect 3 star it's easily that, and something more.

We travelled with kids and we had a room with two extra beds. There was enough space even then. Bathroom was basic, with bathtub. Breakfast was basic, excellent bread. Staff was friendly and thanks to the reception. What we really liked was sauna and pool. We booked in advance and whole family took a swim after the day. Pool was not crowded, we were actually the only ones there - private pool. Great service. Centre is right behind the corner and easy walking distance to everywhere in the city.

There was no air-conditioning, but a big window to open. It was ok.

Room Tip: I guess a room away from the bar is good if you want to sleep well. Enough space for extra beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buda2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 118 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here two nights in June 2013, early in the season. Hotel is in good condition, certainly rates its 3-star status. Clean, quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is in the center of town, just about across the street from the Tourist Bureau, a couple of blocks from the interestingly designed church, and about 3 minutes from the Viking Line terminal.

I am a bicycle tourist and they had a great place behind the building in a courtyard for my bicycle.

Room Tip: I had a room on the west wing, away from the restuarant, bar and street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cykelturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

One fine thing was that you could leave your key at the reception as in "good" old days. To small space for clouths and some dificulties to charge the mobile. Had to crawl on the floor to get the connection.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majbritterika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was the second time I visited Mariehamn and Aland. It really seemed like nothing was changed in 25 years. Everything was just like forgotten, worn out and outdated.

Just like the Hotel, which probably was renovated last time quarter of a century ago. Of course normal upkeep and maintenance was made in between, but the overall look was stale and worn out. The rooms are small, there is no A/C temperature control for the rooms. You can pop open a window but view is usually to some parking lot or back alley. The bathroom was outdated and the worst part of the room. Bed and linen were comfy enough for good sleep.

When looking at the other hotels it surely looked like tourists and visitors were only the necessary evil - not really the most welcoming tourist site.

The hotel is just a walk from the Lilla Holmen park which is a nice place to spend time and relax. Kids will love the animals.

Mariebad Swimming pools and Spa is located some 1,6 km from the hotel. Actually all the hotels are quite closely to each other so there are no major differences.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deadpixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Me and my friends have stayed here two years in a row for our annual golf trip to Marienhamn. Everything in the hotel has been perfect. Rooms have been clean and spacious. Location is also very good for hanging out at the city centre or at the beach. Each year the hotel has arranged a early breakfest to us because our early tee times.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had a business trip to Mariehamn and stayed at Park Alandia. I really enjoyed. The room was ok, the staff was very kind and the food in the downstair restaurant exellent! I had a dinner and a lunch in the restaurant, both were tasty. The breakfast was the usual good finnish level. They let me keep my room tol

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nackax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were a group of 12 people staying one night at the hotel. We arrived at 2 am and checked out 10 am the next morning. The rooms were decent size and tidy. Excellent location.

Breakfast was ok. Not the biggest selection, but the breads were delicious!

The downstair's pub was cozy in the evening with a good live performer. The food was recommended by everyone.

No one of us were familiar with the city, but we got great service and advises at the reception. A special thank you for the lady at the desk the last evening as we were waiting for the midnight ferry. Of course we didn't have our rooms anymore, but we got a key to the sauna department to freshen up :) That saved the evening!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariehamn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pommern
Hotel Pommern
#1 of 7 in Mariehamn
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Mariehamn
Hotel Savoy Mariehamn
#2 of 7 in Mariehamn
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotell Arkipelag
Hotell Arkipelag
#5 of 7 in Mariehamn
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Adlon
Hotel Adlon
#3 of 7 in Mariehamn
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cikada
Hotel Cikada
#7 of 7 in Mariehamn
96 reviews
22.3 mi away
HavsVidden, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Alandia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Alandia Hotel

Address: Norra Esplanadgatan 3, Mariehamn, Aland Island 22100, Finland
Location: Finland > Aland > Aland Island > Mariehamn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Mariehamn
Price Range: $104 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Alandia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Park Alandia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Alandia Hotel Mariehamn, Aland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing