We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price-quality ratio, friendly service”
Review of Hotel Cikada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cikada
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Mariehamn
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good price-quality ratio, friendly service”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here with my family (husband and a teenager) for two nights during a biking tour in the Åland islands in July. The location was good, close to the ferry terminal. Our room had a balcony and a view to the sea and the museum ship Pommern.

The building itself is not pretty, it brings the 70s to ones mind. Our room was big enough for the three of us and the extra bed was good, but the furniture is a bit outdated and the bathroom is very basic. However, the room was very clean, wifi was fast and free, the staff friendly and the outdoor pool great. Breakfast was sufficient but nothing special.

All in all we had a very good stay and I would recommend this hotel for my friends.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and a view to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reissaaja100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    44
    4
    8
See reviews for
23
40
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed one night at Hotel Cikada, the room was comfortable although a Little bit to warm, and the staff was really helpful. They have a pool and the scenery is OK. The food is average and the breakfast is plentiful. For Aland standards the price is low which gives the hotel a 4.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bengt_fjallborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

In the context of a small Finnish resort town, Hotel Cikada is a good hotel. It is very close to the water, near the ferry terminal, but also walking distance from the center of town. It has a nice outdoor deck and pool. Our room looked out on the harbour and the museum ship Pommern.

The hotel itself reminded me of a cross between Ibis and an American Motel 8. Our room had wooden furniture, twin beads, very simple bathrooms, soap/shampoo dispensers rather than little bottles lined up on the sink. It was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff very friendly and accommodating. We had to cancel our third night and they refunded the prepaid cost.

Breakfast was minimal but adequate: Juices, coffee, cereal, eggs, sausage, sliced cheese, breads. The breakfast area, long tables reminiscent of a camp settng, becomes a restaurant and bar in the evening. There are a few steps to the entrance, but a ramp that was not assembled yet when we were ther in mid April. Free, fast wi. This is a pretty reasonably priced choice in a fairly pricy little town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eclipsegroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This rather dull but functional and cheap hotel offers OK rooms and breakfast without charm and lack of more than the most necessary comfort. The location is also OK. Advantages are the outdoor and indoor swimming pools. I would say that you may find it OK for one or two nights if your demands are modest but hardly more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the pool and restaurant area and avoid the rear of the hotel where rooms had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Fairly clean rooms, a nice view from the balcony and a very short walking distance to both the ferry and the museo ship Pommern. Everything's from the 70's, but the prices are also very reasonable. The breakfast was just enough, not too grand, and we had to ask for the rolls twice to have some, but all in all for a one night's stay it was alright. I enjoyed the laid-back atmosphere and found the staff friendly and helpful. Not a three-star hotel, but easily a three-star hostel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _m78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakobstad
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days last summer with my family. The rooms were simple and the furniture and decoration was old and cheap. The hotel had a nice pool which made or stay great. Nice patio area to have a beer or two if it is warm. The location was good, very close to the ferry and a walking distance to the center of the city.
For me this Cicada is more like the motels in the USA than a hotel. If you are fine with that, this is a good choce.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. My room had twin beds and a balcony. The furniture, as well as, the bed linen and covers wer dated but the room was clean. The hotel lacks air conditioning so it can be quite hot in the summer.

The hotel has an outside pool and terrace. Also, the location of the hotel is ok. The breakfast buffet has a very limited selection.

If you're looking for a basic and inexpensive hotel, this is the one for you.

Room Tip: Noisy rooms on the courtyard side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mariehamn hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mariehamn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pommern
Hotel Pommern
#1 of 7 in Mariehamn
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Savoy Mariehamn
Hotel Savoy Mariehamn
#2 of 7 in Mariehamn
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adlon
Hotel Adlon
#3 of 7 in Mariehamn
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Strandnas Hotel
Strandnas Hotel
#4 of 7 in Mariehamn
60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotell Arkipelag
Hotell Arkipelag
#5 of 7 in Mariehamn
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Alandia Hotel
Park Alandia Hotel
#6 of 7 in Mariehamn
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cikada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cikada

Property: Hotel Cikada
Address: Hamngatan 1, Mariehamn, Aland Island 22100, Finland
Location: Finland > Aland > Aland Island > Mariehamn
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Mariehamn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cikada 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Cikada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cikada Mariehamn, Aland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing