We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complacency sets in for the Camino's favourite eater”
Review of Pulperia Ezequiel

Pulperia Ezequiel
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Melide
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Complacency sets in for the Camino's favourite eater”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you walk the Camino, everyone says you must go to Ezequiel's for the wonderful octopus. So me and two fellow pilgrims did and we were rather disappointed.

The octopus was ok without being spectacular - certainly eaten as good in other parts of Spain and elsewhere. The rest of the food (mainly seafood) was also fine without being memorable. But what let the place down was the 'take it or leave' service attitude. Our waitress walked away half way through us delivering the order meaning that we had to ask several times to enable us to complete the order. For desert we ordered two cheesecakes and one cheese. She chose to interpret that as three cheeses and refused to change when this was pointed out.

So not a disaster but certainly a big let down. Maybe we were unlucky but equally perhaps with the increasing numbers walking the Camino and with an outdated reputation, they have just got complacent. There are several other places in Melide serving octopus and I suggest you migh t want to try one of these.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pugly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    230
    87
    43
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pulperia, Melide, Spain”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

excellent food......the octopus dish..a specialty in the Galician region is a must.....the staff were efficient as they were warm and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent octopus for lunch on the Camino”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We travelled through Melide on our longest day on the Camino de Santiago (19km from Palas de Rei to Arzua) and I was really struggling with my knee. It was pouring of rain and we came and we came across this little gem. I had really been wanting to try Octopus, a Galician speciality, and thankfully they were giving away samples.

We went in and the place was full of locals, and plenty of pilgrims, the majority of whom were eating the Octopus. If you are going to stop here I would definitely give it a shot, served with some oil and a sprinkle of paprika it was delicious and had a rally meaty texture.

Great little find along the Camino!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurajporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turgi, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Pulperia acc Travel Guide DuMont/ Galicia”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We came to this place following the advice of the DuMont Travel Guide for Galicia and it was really worth to travel to Melide.
It was the first time we ate Pulpo the "Galician way" and it was a real taste. The interieur of the restaurant is quite spanish, sitting on wooden benches and eat from raw wooden tables. The bread is roughly cut into pieces and tasted very good as well as the served pulpo.

Service very fast and effective and the waitress could also manage in between a bunch of guys (maybe one of them married the very next day) who started getting really loud and nasty.

In a nutshell: Must taste !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steffen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Come to see how to cook pulpo”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We came to this place after reading reviews from tripadvisor. Worthy - great to see how to cook pulpos in large pots and cut it for eating. We had wanderful food and wine.
However, be ready tht the atmosphere is a bit rush as there was many guests and the service was rushing around to manage.
Overall - go and see !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulperia Ezequiel also viewed

Melide, Province of A Coruna
Melide, Province of A Coruna
 
Melide, Province of A Coruna
Melide, Province of A Coruna
 
Palas de Rei, Province of Lugo
Melide, Province of A Coruna
 

Been to Pulperia Ezequiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing