We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rooms but great staff”
Review of Hotel Carlos 96

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Carlos 96
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melide
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent rooms but great staff”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a bit off the Camino but not bad. The rooms were small and the bathrooms weren't the best but they did have a bathtub! We were here on a bad night for noise but it's not really the hotel's fault. They had an entire tour bus of kids that were on a Camino field trip.

The owners of the hotel were a pair of brothers that were great. Very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bdmac97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    104
    33
    7
    1
See reviews for
54
70
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Clean comfortable rooms, excellent food with a very good choice for both evening meal and breakfast. The owners and all the staff were friendly and really helpful and made us feel very welcome. We were treated to a speciality of the region, made just for us; a kind of flamed witches brew complete with a spell ....delicious!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugil87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed in this Hotel last week. Very comfortable rooms with en suite. Had an excellent breakfast for €5 the following a.m. Ham, cheese,bread, cereal, fruit,crossants, and cakes with tea,coffee or orange juice. The owner had excellent English and could not have been more helpful with information etc. This hotel was easily found at the entrance to Melide on the Camino. Lots of dogs howling very close by, but they were not the hotel owners dogs, he pretended he did not know anything about them. However, they went to sleep at the same time as ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UniverseIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Agree with everything said so far. This hotel was half way on our Camino journey and was a real haven on a wet day! Duvets on the bed and laundry facilities just added to our delight! One of the owners is very knowledgeable and enthusiatic about local wines which we were only to happy to sample - fabulous wines at a fraction of what we pay in the UK. Food the best we ate the whole week we were in Spain. Yes, there is room for a bit of updating in the decor but the overall experience was so pleasant this could not detract fom it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janeymac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

we stayed at Hotel Carlos '96 based on recommendation from hotel in Palais de Rais. While we had to backtrack slightly on our hike, it was well worth the trip. The proprietors (two brothers)treated us wonderfully...very welcoming with excellent service. Sangria on tap was great! Breakfast (extra cost) was very good. Rooms were nice & very clean. We were very puzzled as to why this was only rated 1 star. I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoppyBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Well located, nice pub and restaurant. Rooms are clean and quite lovely. Not sure why this hotel only got one star but it is a well kept secret and is excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donid1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Clean bright rooms with everything you need. Owner went out of his way to give us an amazing meal at night for almost no money, including extra home-made crepes to finish. Breakfast also excellent. The dining room could do with a bit of love and decoration, and the strong smell of cooking fat drove us out of there in the end, but otherwise an excellent place to stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuffyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melide
0.4 mi away
Hotel Xaneiro Melide
Hotel Xaneiro Melide
#3 of 3 in Melide
82 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pazo Santa Maria
Pazo Santa Maria
#1 of 3 in Arzua
228 reviews
7.8 mi away
La Cabana
La Cabana
#1 of 1 in Palas de Rei
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Casa da Igrexa
Casa da Igrexa
#2 of 3 in Arzua
86 reviews
5.0 mi away
Oca Balneario Rio Pambre
0.3 mi away
A Lua do Camino
A Lua do Camino
#1 of 5 in Melide
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlos 96? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlos 96

Property: Hotel Carlos 96
Address: Avenida Lugo 119, 15809 Melide, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Melide
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Carlos 96 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel en el Camino de Santiago (Saint James walk) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Carlos 96 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing