We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was awful”
Review of Pousada Chiquitin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melide
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pousada Chiquitin
Ranked #3 of 5 Melide B&B and Inns
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This was awful”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were recently booked in this hotel by Walks in Spain. The staff was rude both in the hotel and restaurant. Our meals were included, but the food was so horrible we could not eat it. The rooms were very small. The rooms on both the street side and the patio side were extremely noisy at night and the early morning, so getting any sleep was impossible. Stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    19
    9
    11
See reviews for
10
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very similar experience to agnesofdog. We had booked in advance and had the included meal in the back room. Everything tasted like it had been made at least a day before and just warmed up in the microwave. And apart from one sweet waitress the staff were very unfriendly. On the positive side though, whilst small, the room was clean and the hotel itself is situated in a good location in the old town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planes_need_leg_room
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melide hotels

Halifax NS
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

we interrupted staff--they were less than happy to check us in. four floors, no lift, food was awful--we booked in advance so had to take meal plan--they ushered us "meal plan" people into a back dining room--supper was pasta soup--which was noodles in water that may have had a chicken feather dipped into it at one point. Rest food and service was no better--bkfst was not much better while they served a good breakfast in front, we were again put in back room--it's very hard to find and frankly, dont look for it.==worst hotel of our time on the camino.

Room Tip: the only reason to look hard to find it is to avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agnesofdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed in 7 hotels/pensions along the camino. In comparison to the others whatever their rating this was the most expensive and the staff were impatient and brusque.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyandTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Great price of only 30 euros for a solo traveler. Nice rooms, good bathrooms, very comfortable. Nice part of old town to stay in. The hostal has a wonderful rooftop dining area along with a very nice lounge area to relax in. They have a nice cafe and breakfast is available too - all very reasonable. A very nice reprieve from the pilgrim hostals for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seekingmoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melide
0.7 mi away
Hotel Carlos 96
Hotel Carlos 96
#1 of 3 in Melide
260 reviews
8.5 mi away
La Cabana
La Cabana
#1 of 1 in Palas de Rei
219 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Suiza
Hotel Suiza
#3 of 3 in Arzua
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
A Lua do Camino
A Lua do Camino
#1 of 5 in Melide
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Molino
El Molino
#11 of 15 in Melide
22 reviews
10.0 mi away
Casa Brandariz
Casa Brandariz
#1 of 1 in Dombodan
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Chiquitin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Chiquitin

Property: Pousada Chiquitin
Address: Rua San Anton n 0 18, 15809 Melide, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Melide
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Melide
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing