We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful break away from the hustle and bustle”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zeerust
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mbewa Cabins B & B and Self Catering
Ranked #1 of 8 Zeerust B&B and Inns
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful break away from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The short drive on the dirt road triggers your interest until it opens into the beautiful courtyard of Mbewa Cabins. What a refreshing welcome after a full day driving. Canopied by indigenous trees and the play of thunder and lightning as we arrived made it spectacular.
Large spacious rooms, comfy beds and kitchen with stocked fridge and coffee station with rusks, what more could a traveler ask? Relaxing with a glass of sherry next to the sparkling pool was indeed all we needed… and then after a short walk to the nearby dam, a retreat to all birds in the area, we got the best surprise…. BUSHBABIES! Curious and fly they gave us entertainment until it got too dark to see them and they moved off for their nightly hunt.
Dinner and Breakfast was scrumptious and readied us for our next adventure.
We will definitely stay over here again on a trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciska O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

First off we got lost using the google map - which is incorrect so do not use it! - there is a dirt road for a few km, and as such arrived quite late. Annalien was very welcoming on arrival and we dived straight into an AMAZING 3 course home cooked meal! It was relaxing, delicious, and for +- R150 - SO worth it!! There are only 4 cabins, so it is tranquil and quaint! The rooms are excellent, squeeky clean, tastefully decorated, and have a plunger, coffee and rusks!! Luxury in the heart of the North West province. Wake up to tweating birds and feel utterly refreshed after driving massive lengths through Namibia and Botswana. Highly recommended! We will from now on only stay here when travelling on the N4! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KirstinWindhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

What a delightful find - we experienced very efficient and friendly service, a smiling reception and excellent value ! The stone chalets are set in a forest environment with a lapa and pool and facilities for a braai. The chalet was well designed with kitchen, lounge,bedroom and bathroom facilities well beyond the 3 star rating . The setting, service, atmosphere and birdlife and walk will certainly bring us back for another stay !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trompies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Mbewa is the perfect place to stay en-route to Botswana. What a gem! Beautifully rustic but very comfortable accomodation with attention to the finest detail. Linen is soft and luxurious, beds are comfy and towels fluffy and fresh. The large Chalet we stayed in was equipped with everything your heart desires in terms of self-catering. Everything clean, fresh and ready to use. Our chalet overlooked the brilliantly clean and sparkling pool and braai/bbq area. The lapa/bush kitchen is equipped for entertainment of 2 - 20 people depending on your needs. What a lovely place!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rainbowsend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mbewa Cabins B & B and Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbewa Cabins B & B and Self Catering

Property: Mbewa Cabins B & B and Self Catering
Address: 1-7 Nooitgedacht Farm ZS | JP 100 (ZS 1-7), Zeerust 2865, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Zeerust
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Zeerust
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mbewa Cabins B & B and self catering is situated just off the N4 Platinum Highway, approximately 14km from Zeerust town in the heart of the Marico bush veld. It is a convenient stop over for travellers, tourists and families en-route to the Okavango Delta in Botswana and the fishing waters of Namibia. It is also excellent for a quiet breakaway from city life for a relaxing weekend.We are TGCSA officially graded (3 stars) and our accommodation consists of two fully equipped self catering units, one with two bed rooms (sleeping up to 5 people) and the other with three bedrooms (sleeping up to 6 people). We also have three twin chalets sleeping two each with en-suite bathrooms, coffee/tea station and bar fridge.The chalets are also equipped with heaters, electric blankets and fans.Accommodation units are located around the swimming pool and private braai/lapa area under lush shady trees. Meals and picnic lunches are available by prior arrangement.We are located on a private farm with walking trails, game viewing and bird watching available on site. A tranquil bush veld environment with the most beautiful sunsets and with total privacy guaranteed. Major attractions such as Sun City, Pilansberg National Park, the Madikwe Game Reserve and the well known Marico with its vibrant history (Herman Charles Bosman) are conveniently located with in a 130km radius. The Botswana border is approximately 100km away.Affordable rates available for businessmen who prefer a nature experience rather than staying in town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing