We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly all inclusive package deal hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summertime Hotel Apartments
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly all inclusive package deal hotel.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My partner and I booked a relatively last minute holiday through Thomas Cook and the hotel was the Summertime Hotel/ Apartments in Sidari, Corfu. Straight away we reached for the Trip Advisor reviews and were not really sure what to expect as they differed quite a lot, so I hope this review will be helpful for those of you in the same situation.

Location: The hotel is in Sidari Village, which is just around the corner from the main drag. The main part of Sidari is only 5-10 minutes walk if you're looking for more of a 'Fish & Chips with sunshine' holiday but we weren't so stayed mainly around the village.

Beaches: The main Sidari beach (Canal d'amour) is about 8-10 minutes walk from the hotel. It has excellent swimming and sunbathing potential but was completely usurped by the beautiful little 'Apotripiti' beach which was 2 minutes walk (literally opposite down a little path) from the hotel. We walked along the main Sidari beach when we first got there but always returned to swim and sunbathe at Apotripiti beach. It's quite small and there were never more than 20 people there, in August!! If you like a quiet, small sandy beach with excellent swimming then this is the place for you. Sunbeds are around 7.50 Euros with a parasol at Apotripti, slightly cheaper at the main beach (as there are hundreds more!).

Food: The all inclusive food was good, it wasn't Michelin star cuisine but what do you expect for the money...I had read some terrible reviews about the food but found no reason to dislike anything. The area where the buffet food was served was really clean and the staff kept the tables cleared and clean at all times.

All food was served as a help yourself buffet.There was the option of a salad with all meals which included the obvious plus olives, feta cheese, stuffed fig leaves and really nice oils and vinegars with fresh bread. Soup was normally an option for evening meal too and the main meals for lunch and dinner were usually pork in a wine sauce with an additional chicken, lamb, Moussaka, meatball or turkey option depending on the day of the week. There was usually noodle, pasta or rice and vegetables to accompany with the English favourite chips for the fussy or unimaginative. Breakfast was good too, eggs in a variety of different guises with either sausage or Greek bacon (sadly not as good as ours!). Cold meats and cheeses were on offer with fresh bread as were cereals, toast, fruit, tea and coffee. The coffee was the only thing that needs addressing, it was cheap and not very nice but that was the only thing that we could fault. Ice cream was available all day and cake/toasties are served in the afternoon. There is a pudding available with each meal, it was usually a chocolate or strawberry mousse with peaches and yogurt most days. In short, if you survive solely on Mcdonalds nuggets then you will not enjoy the food on offer, other than the chips. Otherwise, you will not be able to complain about the range of food available and the fact that we never had to wait more than a minute to queue up for food at the peak of the holiday season was impressive and something of a relief.

All inclusive bar: Draught beer (that never runs out!), rum, vodka, gin and ouzo, coffee, tea and a range of soft drinks and water. Only piece of advice - go and buy or take with you a large plastic cup as the cups provided are a little inadequate if you like more than 3 or 4 sips to 1 beer! Pool bar is from 10am to 21.30when the all inclusive bar switches to the front bar until 23.00. Make sure you have a good strategy for stock piling your drinks as 11pm seems to come around very quickly!!

Pool: Pool area is nice with good sunlougers and parasols. There are toilets and changing areas too at the poolside area near the bar. There is the age-old debate of whether or not it is fair to reserve a sun-lounger simply by placing a towel on it..........the other European guests were obvious exponents of this strategy and by the end of the week, so were we! If you place your towel at breakfast you can normally get a good spot!

Rooms: Our twin room had two twin beds (we thought we could use this a double bed but there was a very Catholic wooden bar down the middle of the bed which could curtail the less amorous amongst us!) a fridge, TV with Sky News and a shower room. The room also had AC which was much needed in he 40 degree plus temperatures.

All-in-all the Summertime Hotel/Apartments were good value, clean and had all of the necessary things you want on holiday (except good coffee)! What more would anyone expect for a cheap sun holiday?

We had a good time and although Sidari and Corfu showed the occasional signs of suffering major economic declines (such as overflowing bins and closed bars) we would certainly go back. We didn't spend all week at the hotel, we opted to go on several of the many boat trips and more cultural excursions and found the Corfu island to be a place of immense beauty and history.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jonathan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    104
    73
    71
    121
See reviews for
162
154
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having read previous reviews of Summertime before i went on holiday end of July this year i have to say i was concerned, however i was pleasantly surprised. On arrival we were greeted by Maria who took us to our room which was plenty big enough for the 3 of us.. There was a balcony on which you could sit , the bathroom was much the same as any other ive been to in Greece, basic... overall the apartment was clean . The food was typical Greek food and i have to say it wasnt too bad, in fact some of it was rather nice. Yes people were moaning about lack of choice but i found something good to eat each time, i do wonder why some people go on holiday and moan about having to eat the local food, surely thats part of the experience. The only dessert on offer was icecream and tinned peaches ( it was like having dinner at my ma in laws lol ) some fresh fruit and sometimes cake.... alcohol was your basic spirits and local soft drink, plenty of tea and coffee though. The Greek night was fun especially if you joined in. The pool was nice , although the sunbeds soon went in the morning, we went to the beach came back at lunch time and had to wait for beds..plenty of places to sit though. Areas were kept clean.All the staff were great. Went out a couple of evenings because we like to try different stuff and food is very cheap in most places. Went to Il Strata ? excellent food and good service and very cheap...went to three little pigs, expensive and food average. Im glad i didnt pay the Thomas Cook price for this holiday it was over a £1000 more than what it cost us....for what we paid it was a bargain. ... This is the second time ive visited Sidari and i cant believe how run down and empty it is now, the failing Greek economy has hit them hard. We had a good time, not the best hotel but certainly not the worst, . I say go have fun, enjoy the sunshine and relax ....

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room e-mail Maria beforehand she is very helpful, we were in block E. room was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hi, We have just returned from our holiday at summertime hotel in Sidari. We had a great time however it was spoiled because we stayed at this all inclusive rip off establishment.
We arrived late at night and were greeted by a friendly night watchman, he gave us our keys and invited us to the restaurant for a soft drink and a snack (toasted sandwich) a welcome treat after our long journey,
We were then shown to our rooms (we had 2) they were clean, had air con and a fridge so in this respect were ok. The downside was that the rooms were very small, the bathroom in particular in one of the rooms was so small that you had to walk backwards to get out!! Neverthe less we all slept comfortably throughout our stay.
The pool area was nice, adequate sunbeds. clean pool although quite deep and the staff were always on the go keeping the area tidy.
Food..................... Seriously the all inclusive is a complete joke and a rip off, we only ate here twice as the food was so bad. It wasn't because we didn't like Greek food, I seriously doubt that Greeks would have found it appetising!! There was very little choice and the meats were the cheapest cuts available, tasteless and just horrible. The breakfast was bowls of cereals that were stale. There was absolutely nothing for children to eat except maybe the chips.
Drinks................ no tonic for my gin!!! had to have it with sprite (not the same). Soft drinks, beer and wine were all self service but the quality was poor.
Snacks............... Toasties or stale cakes, that was your lot.
Entertainment................. There was a Greek night which was enjoyable, apart from that, there was absolutely nothing else, even for the kids..
To sum up, this complex was ok if it was room only. They are making a very half hearted attempt to be all inclusive, giving you the feeling that you have been severely ripped off (which ofcourse you have been). They are doing everything on the cheap .Sidari is nice and it is reasonably cheap to eat out with a good choice of restaurants within easy walking distance.
Take my advice, if you want to go to Sidari then go on a self catering basis and all will be great,
STAYING AT THIS PLACE WILL SERIOUSLY DAMAGE YOUR WEALTH as you will have to eat elsewhere, so disappointing because it could be a fantastic holiday experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sidari hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Overall.. Bad!!! We went in July for 9 nights (me, my husband, 7 year old and 7 months old). First room given was disaster!! When we were taken to it, I felt like I will cry.. 4 beds in the tiny room plus they brought in baby cot and left in the middle of the room, as there were nowhere else to put it. Bathroom.. like 20 years ago.. small, water from the shower runs everywhere, even on the loo.. Ok, I did ask for other room and the very next day was given something more less livable in.. Food.. that was nothing you would expect.. no fruits, watermelon once a day.. no deserts, once a day jelly, some cake with jam on top (hard to eat) or same peach from the can with some strange cream.. Lunches and dinners.. chopped chicken with different bones, dry pasta, messy meat and so on and on.. no yogurt for breakfast, very poor cereal, no fresh bread!!!.. one day, I was making sandwich and waitress (she was cleaning tables) has noticed mouldy bread in front of me.. took it away very quickly.. has taken one by one slice to check behind the bar(with her hands and reminder.. she was cleaning tables with some cloth), sorted out and brought it back to a snack table for further use..
Staff.. friendly, but not all of them!
Entertainment- Bingo, karaoke and some poor Greek dancing.. Nothing for kids!!
I have read a lot good comments.. so I would say.. probably none of them people have been to a better place for a holiday..
We've spent over 1350 and that was the most disappointing holiday.. not as the hotel, but as a food and entertainment..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karolina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Honeymooned there, we were made to feel welcome and it was truly the best holiday will go back year after year for sure. Hotel was geeat. Staff were akways helpful. Sidari was amazing. . Everything is a short stroll away. Food was tops... no different from expensive tavernas over in England. .. fantastic salads and fresh local produce. Roll on next year..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 5 July for 1week. Couldn't fault anything for the money we paid (450 euros for two all inclusive, booked direct) room was basic but spacious with large balcony and fridge, cleaned every day except Sunday. Food was good never went hungry and was satisfying to see the owner eating the same food as us most evenings. Self serve bar was good during the day which included soft drinks, spirits, wine and beer. The pool area was spotless and had no problems getting a sun lounger. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. The Greek night was good fun and got everyone involved in the fun, apart from this there was not really any other entertainment but plenty of bars etc within walking distance if you get bored.

Had a great holiday and would definately go back!!

Tips- book direct its cheaper, if you don't like your room ask to be moved as they will try and accommodate you and take plenty of insect repellent for the Mosquitos!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCfalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

First off, I've read several very negative reviews of Summertime on here all of which seem to suffer from one simple flaw; they appear to have been written by people who don't live in the real world. I'll start with the food. Yes, it's basic and there's not an extensive menu but there's lots of it, it's mainly fresh local produce well prepared and cooked and we quickly got the hang of creating our own variations using what was available. By the end of the week I felt I had eaten really well. Second, the drinks. It's an all inclusive so the drinks are free. Some people seem surprised that doesn't mean they can have whatever cocktail they want at all hours of the day. The beer was light and refreshing - not premium full strength lager. There was plentiful vodka and rum but we stuck to the giant bottle of Metaxa which tasted fine and seemed relatively harmless even in large quantities! I strongly recommend making yourself a Metaxa Float, i.e. Metaxa, cola and a large blob of ice cream. Yes the free drinks stop at 11.00p.m. - to be frank, if you haven't had enough by then you're staying in the wrong place.
We stayed in the middle of July and there was a strong family atmosphere, lots of young children around. There's a substantial East European presence these days, which we discovered is common throughout Corfu - indeed Greece as a whole - not just Summertime. It's the new way of the world. The Greek economy is in ruins and this was obviously reflected throughout Sidari with shut-down bars, half-finished buildings and a general air of a country in trouble but there's new money coming in from Eastern Europe so the adaptable Greeks (and the Brit ex-pats working over there!) are all going to knuckle down and learn Russian now!
Third, the staff; they were simply excellent, we could not have felt more welcome and they could not have been more helpful.
Fourth, the room, It was basic but clean and tidy and the facilities worked.
Fifth, entertainment onsite; the Greek dancing night was great and really encouraged people to get to know each other more. There wasn't much else besides a bit of late night bingo and half-hearted karaoke but if you want night life then the Sidari Strip is only a 20 minutes walk away. We were glad of the peace and quiet and a good night's sleep every night.
Outside of the complex there are endless travel agencies flogging boat trips, horse riding, coach tours, etc etc. You can get down to the beach and hire pedaloes, go paragliding, scuba diving, hire bikes, motorbikes, quad bikes or cars; or just walk around the spectacular cliffs. There's no excuse to be bored, other than lack of imagination.
We had a late booking so we got what we considered a real bargain. We did not expect the earth and accordingly our expectations were low. They were more than exceeded and we would certainly recommend this place to anyone. We're seriously thinking of going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
0.5 mi away
Cyprotel Corfu Panorama
Cyprotel Corfu Panorama
#21 of 39 in Sidari
980 reviews
18.8 mi away
Alexandros
Alexandros
#8 of 9 in Perama
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#9 of 39 in Sidari
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sidari
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olga Apartments
Olga Apartments
#16 of 39 in Sidari
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summertime Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summertime Hotel Apartments

Property: Summertime Hotel Apartments
Address: Sidari, Canal d'Amour, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summertime Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summertime Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summertime Hotel Sidari
Summertime Hotel Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing