We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very clean, lovely staff - great holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summertime Hotel Apartments
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, very clean, lovely staff - great holiday!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We returned from Summertime yesterday and I will be completely honest with my review.
Location was great; near the beach and strip but far enough not to be disturbed by noise from bars/clubs etc. The beaches were a 5-7 minute walk and were clean and sandy, the water was crystal clear. The road that the hotel was on could be quite busy with various types of vehicles so an eye must be kept on young children who may wander.

Staff were extremely friendly, Maria in particular who has near perfect English who is happy to provide information about best beaches/places to go. Kostas the owner was always nearby keeping an eye on his staff and ensuring that there was always enough food at mealtimes and drinks were kept topped up. I booked the hotel directly which was similar price to online websites but Maria explained that booking directly ensured a one bed room apartment; the 'family room' description on online sites are actually a one room studio. E-mail Maria with any questions, she responds quickly and nothing is any trouble to her. Our flight was 4.40am so we were not leaving the hotel until 1am but had to check out at 12pm the previous day, Maria was great and let us keep our room until 1am for 20 euros; this was a godsend and highly unusual from previous late check out arrangements.

Food was tasty. Some days better than others but something for everyone apart from if you are vegetarian. In general there were 2 meat dishes, chips, roast potatoes, vegetable, rice and a very nice Greek salad bar. Baguettes were plentiful as was the food. Breakfast was bacon, egg, meat, cheese, tomatoes, toast, cereal and tea/coffee; it was sufficient and again plentiful. The restaurants nearby were reasonably priced with most meals advertised at 5-7 euros however we were satisfied with the food at the hotel so did not venture out to eat. The bar and ice cream was self service which was brilliant, the kids could help themselves and the ice cream was lovely and not cheap rubbish. Banana, pisachio, chocolate, strawberry and vanilla...mmmm.

As previously mentioned, we had a one bedroom apartment which was quite big; the bathroom was very small. We also had two balconies, one from each room. Summertime used to be self catering and rooms still have a fridge and kitchette which was no problem as the room was big. The rooms were cleaned daily by lovely cleaners who were pleasant and greeted you with a 'kalimera'. The bathroom was more like a wetroom as the tiny shower cubicle flooded the whole bathroom which was a little annoying. The rooms overall had seen better days but they were kept spotlessly clean.

The pool was continually being cleaned and was awash with inflatables and kids; not a problem for us but this was really a family hotel and not very quiet during the day! There was no problem getting a sunbed and Maria introduced a 'half hour rule' as a result of a suggestion we made; towels are taken off sunbeds if they are not occupied within half an hour to prevent people claiming their sunbed then going off to the beach for the day. Maria and Kostas are very keen to develop the hotel and are open to comments and suggestions. The pool area was slippy and there were two accidents during our one week stay, both involving serious head injuries and a stay in hospital for both of them so drum it in to the kids (and adults!) not to run around the pool. There was a very small baby pool which was fine for very little ones but the larger pool was quite deep at the shallow end; the deep end was approx 2.5m.

I will mention that a few guests complained as they had been miss sold this hotel by Thomson and they had paid £1000 more than we did for family of four. They were advised that there were kids clubs which there are not, and that there was daily entertainment which there is not. There was a Greek night on the Saturday night and a karaoke mid week but nothing else. The same guests were also unhappy that they had been given a studio which had been described as a family room; no privacy for the parents.

Nearly forgot, free air conditioning too!

Tips -
Book directly with the hotel; this guarantees you get what you want and costs no more. We paid £1400 for the week for 4 of us, Thomson had sold the same holiday to others for £2400 (we had Thomson flights and booked directly with Maria; we also had a taxi transfer).

If you go on a boat trip, choose Odysseus BBQ cruise; it is brilliant and the beach that you cruise to is like the Carribean. The beach is really clean and the sea is clear and shallow so very safe for kids. The BBQ food was gorgeous and the drink was unlimited, a fantastic day was had by all.

I would stay at the Summertime again but we never go to the same place twice as a rule.

I hope this review helps to decide where you want to stay for your holiday.

Room Tip: Can't emphasize enough - BOOK DIRECTLY!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Grantawish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    100
    72
    68
    120
See reviews for
156
150
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I went with my husbund and my 13 year old twin boys. The rooms were cleaned everyday and towels replaced. I often left a small amount of money lying around (5-10) euros and it was never touched. Every time we returned to the room it was spotless.
The food was very repetative but there was always something to east, no one returned looking like they have been on diet.
The pools were clean and war, If i could say anything negative I could only say they could be bigger to accomodate the amount of people. We loved 80's music around the pool area. The kids loved the unlimited ice cream. The staff Pannayota, Mira, Alberto are great they work so many long hours - we really admire them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Arijana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

From the moment my 2 teenage kids and i arrived we were made very welcome, i had seen reveiws on this site and was a little worried as it turned out it was really good holiday and when you pay for 3 star expect that.
costas and all of the smiling staff are the best,
breakfast,lunch,dinner and singing and dancing in the late bar nothing was a problem.
The pool area was very clean and tidy at all times during the day then sunbeds cleared and pool lights on for the evenings entertainment.
The food was 3 star but thats what i paid for so there was not a problem, the drinks were 5 star you help yourself to whatever you want no silly waiting for bar people etc.
The rooms are clean a very good shower and superb air con with a lovely balcony.
We had a superb family holiday and would go back and wish i could tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

After being transferred from one hotel as they were over booked we was sent to the Summertime Hotel Apartments where i couldnt of asked for a better welcome after a stressful day we were quickly shown our rooms by the hotel owner who was very friendly, the room was lovely for me and my friend. The hotel was fully aware that it was our first holiday alone without our parents and looked after us well and made us feel safe by giving us advice and ensuring we were ok every time we passed them. A very friendly, peiceful, clean hotel in a beautiful area inwhich i would love to visit again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MandoFruitbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel for the price paid. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Exactly what I was expecting for Greece. The food left a bit to be desired. But ate out on the money we saved booking the holiday. Had a sun bed each day. Pool a bit small. Over all I would recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family and i stayed at Summertime from the 26th of July to the 2nd of August. After reading some negative reviews on Tripadvisor we were hesitant however we tried to ignore the reviews and enjoy our holiday, making the most of what we could afford. We were told by our travel agent that this hotel was 4 stars, however it has to be said that it was not the 4 star hotel we were assured it would be. Talking to some other holiday makers who stayed at other hotels and hearing how awful their experience was we were indeed in one of the best hotels in the area.
One woman's review stated that the bus transfer from the airport to the hotel was 2 hours which we thought was nonsense given that our travel agent told us it would take 1 hour; It took us 2 and a half hours travelling up mountains most of the time. The small Greek roads left us all feeling extremely sick so the first thing we did when we arrived at the hotel was source out a pharamcy- which there were plenty of- for travel sickness pills for the bus journey home, so if you are not a good traveller i'd advise you to take plenty of travel sickness pills with you.
The bus dropped us off at the front of a bar, as we walked up the long driveway to the hotel we were welcomed by a lovely friendly woman called Maria, she showed us to our room and always asked how we were throughout our week in Sidari, she is indeed an asset to this hotel and she should be very proud of having such a great influence on so many peoples holidays. We were upgraded to a larger room because it was a special occasion, which was a lovely surprise after the long journey to get to the hotel. The room was spacious and very basic. Unfortunately the shower head was not secured onto the wall so we had to hold the shower head whilst showering, this left water everywhere- all over the small bathroom floor which was very dangerous and slippery-not ideal if you have young children. The maids cleaned the room everyday and even laid out our pajamas on our beds, neaty folded ,which i thought was a very nice touch!
The food at the hotel was also very basic and for fussy eaters like my Father and i, we decided to eat out most nights at nearby restaurants even though we payed for an all inclusive holiday; our stomachs just didnt agree with the food on offer. The hotel restaurant was basic also serving toast, eggs, ham and cheese at breakfast, toasties and ice cream for snacks throughout the day and a meat, fish and vegetarian option for dinner. If you have very small childern there is no childrens menu. It would have been helpful to have had a daily menu displayed near the hotel restaurant.
The pool was small and busy during our stay with children jumping into the pool and soaking you everywhere you turned. The sun loungers were spaced very close together resulting in the occasional bump and bash from the people at the side of you.
Our travel agent told us there was a sauna by the pool and even a kids club, unfortunately there was neither and the pictures in the brochure did not resemble what we saw on our visit.
All staff were very welcoming and very friendly, even Lisa the white dog would come and welcome you at lunch time. Being an animal lover i was heartbroken to hear that Lisa was abandoned by a visitor but luckily she is being cared for by the hotel staff. So be sure to give her all the love, food and affection a little abandoned dog needs.
Nearby the hotel there was a strip of market like shops selling the fake designer bags, watches and sunglasses- a must have for a teenager like me to spend my euros on ! The beaches were beautiful and very picturesque and only a short walk away. Staying for only a week we decided not to go to Aqualand as we were not prepared for another long bus journey.
There was no wifi or service for me during my stay so it was a relief to know that two computers where at the reception for my daily dose of facebook and twitter.
Overall it was a great holiday- ideal for a week away with children -no doubt about that! but the long journey to get to the hotel and the food on offer in the hotel restaurant did disappoint us a little.
Thank you to all the staff at Summertime for making our stay memorable
The Smiths

Room Tip: We had a very basic ground floor room with a small patio. We were delighted to know that Air Conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Summertime 11th July for 2 weeks. Had a perfect holiday. A lovely little hotel with friendly, helpful staff and in an excellent location.
FOOD
Breakfast consisted of cheeses, ham, hard boiled eggs, and a selection of 4 dishes - either bacon, sausages, fried eggs, omelettes, other various dishes. Also, tea, coffee, juice, toast, biscuits and a cake! Everything you needed really, there was even a roll of tin foil if you wanted to take biscuits etc for mid-morning!
Lunch was PERFECT. Always beautiful dishes and the best greek salad!
Dinner - there was always salad, pasta and sauce and soup, then 2-3 mains to choose from. The food was always beautifully cooked and delicious! We enjoyed every meal we had.
Snacks were toasties in the afternoon and ice-cream in all different flavours yum yum!
BAR
Self-service! There was coke, fanta orange, fanta lemon, seven up, water, local rum, vodka, red wine, white wine, ouzo, greek Metaxa and beer. Who could ask for more?! It was great!
POOL
Lovely pool area, always plenty of sunbeds whilst we were there. It was the first place we've stayed where we didn't need to be up first thing reserving beds with towels! A variety of music playing throughout the day, not too loud, just right!
ROOMS
Basic but fine. We had a TV, hairdryer in the bathroom and a fridge in the room which was very handy.
LOCATION
Perfect! In Canal D'Amour, a few minutes walk from amazing cove beaches. 5-10 minutes walk into Sidari.
STAFF
We met some of the friendliest, most helpful staff ever! Maria on reception will tell you all about the local buses and places to go, does everything she can to make your stay the best. Alberto from the bar/waiter is BRILLIANT. Enjoyed our chats and made our stay memorable. Told us where to go in our hire car...excellent advice! Martin, the ladies in the restaurant, the friendly cleaning lady round the pool in the morning and Costas the owner. You were all brilliant! We'll be back!
If you get the chance, go to the Summertime and ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dawnie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
18.8 mi away
Alexandros
Alexandros
#8 of 9 in Perama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.8 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#8 of 39 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sidari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Benitses Bay View
Benitses Bay View
#1 of 3 in Gastouri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Eleni Family Apartments
Eleni Family Apartments
#28 of 39 in Sidari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summertime Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summertime Hotel Apartments

Property: Summertime Hotel Apartments
Address: Sidari, Canal d'Amour, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summertime Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summertime Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summertime Hotel Sidari
Summertime Hotel Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing