We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Lovely pool, Helpful staff”
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here for a week July 2014. The location was excellent. Just far enough away from the strip to avoid all the noise, but not far to walk. Close to bars, beach and shops and bars.
The pool area is lovely, plenty of sun loungers - never had to wait for one. Spa tub was lovely too, but only opened later in the afternoon. The room was a good size and cleaned every day except Sunday. Towels and bedding changed regularly. The staff were lovely and although they worked long hours, they were always smiling, happy and joining in with the entertainment. They are a credit to the hotel. The food was reasonable. Plenty of choice for the main course at dinner time, but always the same choice of chips, boiled rice and tinned/frozen veg. Breakfast was continental or an extra 2.50 euros. Air conditioning cost 35 euros for 7 nights and the fridge was locked and cost 10 euros to get it unlocked for the week. The hotel will do you a packed lunch for trips or airport for 5 euros, but you can also buy sandwiches at the local supermarkets for about 2 euros each. The only negative I would comment on is the TV which is a small old fashioned set. With the cost of TV's today, the hotel would do well to replace them with flat screens.
The entertainment was karaoke or tribute acts which were okay but there was plenty of other entertainment close by if you preferred. I would recommend this hotel for any age group.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the woods at the back of the hotel and there was no noise at all. Good size ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BrendaJK005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 550 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

First time in Sidari. The hotel was in an excellent spot. All the staff were friendly and spoke good English. The food was good and also a very good choice. the entertainment wasnt great but we didnt stay in the hotel on an evening. The small fault was the shower which was very claustraphobic. 2hrs transfer from airport.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back 232/233 which friends stayed in overlooked the kitchen. These was a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank leeds2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

First time at this hotel and what a delight it was.Every aspect, the room, the food, the staff, were second to none. Nothing was too much trouble. There was entertainment every night or there was plenty more nightlife just a few 100yds down the road. The guests were all ages, as I said before Something for Everybody. Already rebooked for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sueophthalmic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have just returned from 10 days at this hotel. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.The staff were friendly and helpful and joined in the evening entertainment. The rooms were cleaned almost every day and we had clean towels each time. The food was delicious and varied especially at dinner witha choice of hot dishes and salad and there was a good variety of english and greek dishes. My daughter is quite fussy and found something to eat every night. There was always sunbeds available and the lunchtime menu was varied and excellent value for money. There was entertainment every night and it was also only a short walk to the beach and the bars and restaurants. The rooms are basic but clean and spacious with balconies. I would go again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Petra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We booked a late deal (literally the day before!) and found ourselves at the Alkyon Hotel. What great surprise...fabulous pool area, friendly helpful staff (Delano, Mario and Louisa, also lovely lady with very short fair hair, sorry didn't get the name!) that really made our stay. Half board and food was very good. Rooms are basic, typical Greece standard but fine. Location wise excellent half way between Canal de l amour and Sidari main street. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank CaroleMorganSlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Alkion for the 2nd time and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves again.
Our room was spotless and cleaned everyday except Sundays by the very hard working cleaners, towels are changed when you like by simply leaving them in the shower. Beds were also changed regularly.
The food is very good, breakfast is quite basic but adequate, cooked breakfast can be bought for 2.50 or you could get a breakfast on the strip for around 3 euros.
Dinner, in our opinion, was very good. Plenty of choice and always hot. My husband is a fussy eater and always found something to eat and filled up completely. Desserts were available if you wanted and we did not witness the 'handing out one each' approach as other reviews have stated - many people had more than one! The same applied to the meal - if you wanted to go up more than once then you could.
Lunchtime meals are great value for money and of excellent quality. Specials are always available for under 4 euros including a soft drink.
All of the hotel staff are great - Mario & Maria at breakfast and lunchtimes and Deano, Christos etc in the evening - everyone so, so friendly and hardworking, right through to Spiros who keeps the hotel safe at night, we had many a chat and laugh with him.
The whole hotel is kept immaculately clean, the pool area is great and always enough sun beds to go around, no litter anywhere.
The hotel is in a perfect area, just a short walk to the main strip and nightlife (close enough but far enough away to be unaffected by any noise), and again, just a short walk to the beach & Canal d'Amour.
There is entertainment every evening, tribute acts, Greek night, bingo - we stayed for some of these but normally went down to the strip - Madisons recommended (Take Two are well worth a watch!) and huge recommendation of Siesta Bar, we spent time here every evening.
All in all, we had a fantastic holiday and highly recommend the Alkion. We cannot wait til next time!

Room Tip: If you like the quiet, ask for a room away from the pool as these rooms are over the bar, if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Em-Bob789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent hotel, staff are fantastic, rooms are spacious and nice and clean and the food does not disappoint. This is my third time and I will defiantly be back. we took our 4 year old daughter with us and she was treat like a princess which I thought was absolutely fantastic

Room Tip: rooms at the back away from pool area are quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.2 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olga Apartments
Olga Apartments
#18 of 39 in Sidari
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beach Star Hotel
Beach Star Hotel
#19 of 39 in Sidari
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Sidari
Panorama Sidari
#16 of 39 in Sidari
1,052 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Address: Alkyon A.E., Sidari 491 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
#10 Family Hotel in Sidari
Price Range: $46 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alkyon Hotel is considered one of the finest in the locality. Once you have experienced its excellent facilities, friendly atmosphere and great location, you will agree that the Alkyon Hotel is a superb choice for a memorable holiday.For those who enjoy a family atmosphere in a lively resort, whether you are ‘Couples’ after that quiet break away, ‘Families’ looking to spend some special time together or ‘Friends’ after that fun filled holiday, the Alkyon Hotel is the place to be.The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Sidari yet only a stones throw away from all the essential holiday amenities. You will find Sidaris beautiful stretch of sandy beach barely 150m away, and the resorts center, occupied with its many shops, bars and restaurants barely 250m away.Our luxurious ‘Jacuzzi’,‘Wi-Fi Access’,‘Daily Entertainment’ and fun filled ‘Children’s Play Area’ are only a few of the excellent facilities that we have on site; guaranteeing that the Alkyon Hotel has something to satisfy everyone’s needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing