We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab fab fab !”
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
West Bromwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fab fab fab !”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our first time to Corfu and the Alkion but it certainly wont be our last.From the minute we arrived we felt completely at home at this lovely friendly family run hotel.Our room was basic and a little dated but spotlessly clean.It was cleaned every day except Sunday and the towels changed daily except Sunday.There is no kettle but we took our own and teabags.we didn't have to pay for the fridge,it is small but big enough for water etc.We did however pay for the air con as the room was stifling .The breakfast is continental buffet but you can have a cooked breakfast for 2 euros or scrambled egg on toast for 1.50 euro.Evening meals are much better with more choice and they will cook something different for the kids if you ask.My hubby is a really fussy eater and he always found something to eat.There are plenty of sunbeds so we never had a problem getting one. The entertainment is very basic ..quizzes,bingo etc but a short walk away is Sidari where almost every bar has entertainment.Where ever we went in Corfu people were so friendly and we weren't hassled at all.This was one of our best holidays and we cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: take insect repellent with you and make sure it contains DEET The transfer can take 2 hours so ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annyfanackerpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    171
    57
    17
    8
See reviews for
158
251
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I write this review sitting by the pool only a few days left what can I say this is a 3 star hotel and some people want 5 star (then go and pay for it) it's clean the staff work hard anything you want they will get it for you. The breakfast is nice evening meal is nice I just could not fault the food at all. It's my first time to Corfu found sidari good something for everyone but expensive vodka and coke most bars €4 can soon go though your
Money good idea to hire a car to get about I paid €80 for 3 days driving is a bit of a challenge the road signs aren't great just take your time. All in all if you don't like this hotel then your hard to please. It's good value, clean, nice pool sunbeds are plentiful very good food and hard working and polite staff. If I were to come back to Sidari then I would stay here. Thank you Alkion hotel for a loverly holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DegseyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

On arrival in the middle of the night we went to our room. Rooms are very basic but when you're on holiday all you need it for is a shower and to sleep in. We didn't pay extra for the aircon but despite the temperature in the day being over 40degrees it was fine to sleep in at night. Breakfast was basic but you could upgrade to a full English for 2 euros which was the cheapest on the strip. Perfect location right at the end of the strip...close enough to have a stroll but quiet with no noise from drunk people or bars. The hotel itself had evening entertainment which was nothing special but a laugh and entertaining and no different to what else was on down the strip. The hotel workers also made it fun and really tried to get you joining in. All staff at the hotel were very friendly and get to know you quickly so as to personalise conversation to you...Round the pool, lunch, dinner (which was a very nice buffet every day), in the evening! Happy hour in the day and evening also proved to compete with the bars along the strip. Everything very clean. Totally impressed considering some of the reviews written. Would definitely go back and have recommended it to others. We went as a group of four...a 50 year old, a 26year old and 2 16year olds who were happy to make friends and go along the strip in the evening. Something for everyone and a lovely family run place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cerys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned again from Sidari staying at the Alkion hotel and what can I say. It was fantastic!!! We travelled as a group of 4 aged between 54 and 62 and we like a lively area we are not the sort to go to bed at 12!!

Our rooms were spotless 328 329 bedding and towels changed everyday except Sundays. Yes you do have to pay for aircon and it cost us £55 for the fortnight and £15 for a fridge if you want one we didnt. The safety deposit boxes are £35 for a fortnight. I would recommend you take a kettle for your room as there are no tea coffee making facilities in the room they do not mind you doing this.

There appears to be a problem with the hot water for showers at the moment it is very hit or miss as to whether you get hot water but we only struggled twice I learnt to let it run for a good 5 mins before i got in!!

Last year it was waiter service for evening meal this year its Buffett and still the food is as good if not better far more choice. But make sure you get there before 8.45 as you may have a greatly reduced choice.

Breakfast is a little less inspiring with the usual cereals, fruit juices, ham, cheese, bread, tinned fruit salad and delicious greek yoghurt tea and coffee.

The pool snack bar with Mario and Spiros served very good meals and snacks at reasonable prices.

The pool area kept very clean as was the family from the hotel use it themselves and are very friendly. There is a hot tub which you can use situated at the bottom half of the pool garden.

We booked a couple of excursions from Valesseros tours Just down from the hotel on the left hand side towards the Canal D'amour their coaches have working air conditioning and are a lot cheaper than booking through the rep in hotel. DO NOT do the Erikousis island trip tho as there is nothing there what so ever!! I can reccomend the Corfu by night trip tho it is very good but tiring after all the walking round the shops!!!

There is plenty of sunbeds around the pool and on most days you can get them although on 2 or 3 occassions we did have to go and save them early. Normally you can go down to brekky and save your bed then but people were saving them before and going shopping ect. Still a good alternativeif all the beds have gone Take a walk along the beach go into one of the bars advertising free sunbeds to customers buy a couple bottles of water and you can have a sunbed on the beach we use to walk down to the Calypso bar and have a drink then use their beds a lovely spot and quiet just down by the Yellow boat company stand.

Places too eat and drink are numerous. Babylon as a good assortment of entertainment normally tribute acts like Bob Marley Madness these were very good I can recommend the Bob Marley act in the Three brothers hotel he was funny as well. If you want a crazy night then The one for the road is the place to go they put on Cabaret acts and shows you get free cocktail bowl and shots and if you stay all night you get free rounds of drinks as well. One bar not too miss although last year we walked past it everyday is Mojitos on the left handside. Please dont be put off past its appearance in the daytime by night it is a very chilled cocktail bar where you can sit on decking looking over the beach. They serve beers too. Another bar to visit is the Aquarius bar over near the Canal D'amour they have a good rock band there on a Wednesday night if you like Dire Straits Eric Clapton Queen Pink Floyd Guns and Roses then you will like this place Get there early tho because it gets busy.

To places I can recommend to eat at is the chinese restaurant just down from the hotel on right hand side very reasonable prices and the food is very good. Th Pancha Villa Mexican restaurant is also a very good place to go but make sure your hungry as the portions are huge!!

Kellys Ice Cream bar is another must they do the most fantastic milkshakes and ice creams no good if you are on a diet lol!! You can find these down the alley signposted to the port.

Once again our holiday was fantastic we cant go back next year but we will be returning to the Alkion again hopefully in 2 years time.

Last but not least make sure you take insect repellent sprays as Mozzies are terrible out there and you get bitten quite often mainly night times after 9pm.

Mario, Spiros, Dino, Spiros, Kosta, Spiros, Christos, and Thomas oh and not forgetting the night porter Leo Thank you for making our holiday great see you all again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

just got back from spending a week at this hotel which I was worried about due to reading some reviews but can honestly say it was lovely. my husband, 16 year old daughter and I had a triple room with a garden view and yes the room was basic, but it was tidy, spacious and kept clean by the lovely staff. I found all the staff at the hotel to be friendly and approachable. we were half board and the continental breakfast was fine and some days we payed the extra 2 euros and had a English breakfast. the evening meals were always tasty and varied and im missing them already. the pool was clean and not overcrowded and we always found sunbeds. really cant fault the place and would use again.

Room Tip: you can email the hotel directly and ask for a specific room such as pool view - they always try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1happymum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

this was our second holiday to the resort of sidari and sixth holiday to the wonderful island that is corfu we found the alkyon hotel very pleasant and enjoyed our one week holiday very much our room was quite spacious cleaned daily with clean towels . if needed the food was satisfactory with plenty of choice the pool was nice with plenty of beds and brollies needed as was really hot the week we were there the staff are all friendly .if ihad to complain would be having to pay 35 euro for air con and having to pay for use of fridge other than that a very nice time was had by my husband and I .

Room Tip: we had room 229 which was overlooking the pool very spacious although a little nosiey of an evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craftygill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Alkyon Hotel is very centrally situated in Central Sidari, it has very basic , very clean rooms , the staff are friendly amd helpful .
The pool area is very good with new sunloungers around the pool and there are plenty of them, we were able to get one at any time of day , the pool is clean and very nice.
breakfast did not appeal to us , top tip buy a pint of milk from the supermarket across the road and take it down to breakfast with you as the milk provided is long life milk which i don't like the taste of . Dinner in the evening was a complete contrast the food was very nice with a good range of dishes served every evening ,it is buffet style and can become busy at peak times.
There is entertainment on in the hotel every evening and the bar prices are not expensive ,
I would recommend this hotel and i would return for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
0.8 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#9 of 39 in Sidari
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#4 of 39 in Sidari
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smartline Mimosa
Smartline Mimosa
#10 of 39 in Sidari
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
20.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Property: Alkyon Hotel
Address: Alkyon A.E., Sidari 491 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
#10 Family Hotel in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alkyon Hotel is considered one of the finest in the locality. Once you have experienced its excellent facilities, friendly atmosphere and great location, you will agree that the Alkyon Hotel is a superb choice for a memorable holiday.For those who enjoy a family atmosphere in a lively resort, whether you are ‘Couples’ after that quiet break away, ‘Families’ looking to spend some special time together or ‘Friends’ after that fun filled holiday, the Alkyon Hotel is the place to be.The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Sidari yet only a stones throw away from all the essential holiday amenities. You will find Sidaris beautiful stretch of sandy beach barely 150m away, and the resorts center, occupied with its many shops, bars and restaurants barely 250m away.Our luxurious ‘Jacuzzi’,‘Wi-Fi Access’,‘Daily Entertainment’ and fun filled ‘Children’s Play Area’ are only a few of the excellent facilities that we have on site; guaranteeing that the Alkyon Hotel has something to satisfy everyone’s needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing