We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel position”
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great hotel position”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This family owned and run hotel was in a prime location, even though the bedrooms of this hotel are dated, the hotel was excelent. The food was very good, the bar staff were excelent,The cleanliness was second to none. The two waiters from the poolside restarurant were brillient.The Hotel was a short stroll from the main drag so far away from the noise. On talking to quest i found alot of quest were returning quest which says a lot for this hotel, The only reason i wont be returning is that i have not seen enough of the world yet to return to the same place

Room Tip: second floor side family room nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mojoCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    167
    57
    17
    8
See reviews for
155
244
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south shields
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from this hotel and must say I was very impressed with the location and the
cleanliness of it.The meals were excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.The hotel was
only a very short walk from the centre of the town. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

After a bad experience with another hotel in Sadari last year we were a bit dubious over returning. But what a difference: Hotel Alkyon was everything that we wished for. Situated a short stroll from all the bars & restaurants (no late noise) The rooms were basic but spotlessly clean, many thanks to Maria, we were allocated room 206 and it was huge and had a bath and overhead shower, a hairdrier was also in the room a large corner balcony which got the sun in the afternoon. The staff and management were very happy& friendly. Mario, Spiro and espesially Dino who waited on us at meal times and during the evening (Dino you are a star) were so friendly that within 2 days they were calling us by our names and knew what drinks we wanted. Good entertaiment every evening. All a total credit to the Hotel. The food was buffet service and each evening there were a good selection of different meats, fish, salad etc. I am a fussy eater but always found something delicious to eat. We will certainly return to this fab Hotel and are looking forward to a quick dash in Aug/Sept, which is very unusual for us to return to the same place twice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pollymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location: Our first time in this resort so we were a little apprehensive as our transfer coach took us along "The Strip" full of bars and our first thoughts were that we were booked into a resort that would be noisy at night. We could not have been more wrong !! We had a second floor room in a wing at the rear facing the main road but hardly heard a sound at night despite usually having the balcony doors open.

The Hotel: Spotlessly clean with very friendly, helpful staff. Our room, 311, was a little on the small side but certainly large enough as we spent very little time there, that isn't what we go on holiday for !! We had one minor problem with the air con but this was resolved very quickly and without fuss.

Hotel Food: We booked in as half board with the usual expectatioin of having to eat out to get some decent food. Wrong again !! Always a good selection of local and international dishes available for dinner from the regularly tended buffet servery. Breakfast was the usual continental style with an option of full English for a additional 2 Euros, can't comment on that as neither of us took the option.

Hotel entertainment: Varied from not so good to excellent. Bingo, karaoke ( neither of them our style), quiz night and a very good caberet on our last night there.

Hotel bar; Again spotlessly clean with very good attentive staff. One big snag though. Beware the cocktails and spirits with mixers. These were so weak we could hardly detect any alcohol !! Straight spirits were fine but more expensive that bars in town as is the norm for hotels bars everywhere.

Food costs outside the hotel: We had snack lunches at a number of differnt taverna / bars in the area and all were very good at very reasonable prices. A very generous traditional Greek main course can be had for less than 8 Euros. A "pint" of local beer can be had in most placed for 2 Euros. Spirits and wine varied enormously depending on whether we had local or imported brands.

Canale d'amoure; Never has there been a less appropriate name for a green, stinking stretch of stagnant water !! Turn of the main road by the 3 Little Pigs Taverna, follow the road, and the smell, over the bridge and turn right. You will come across some wonderful bars with fabulous views across the bay and without the evening noise from the strip.

Day trips; We chose a local firm for 3 trips around the island in preference to the tour company we had booked the holiday with. A tour round the northern half of the island taking in Corfu Town, Kanoni with our main stop at Paleokastritsa. A day trip to Corfu Town and a day across the water to Sarande in Albania with a guided coach tour around the area a long but very enjoyable day. All of these trips are highly recommended, very professionally run and much cheaper than the same trips run by the tour comapnies.

Overall: A great pace to stay, great food, great views and a great hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the swimming pool will be noisy until the bart closes at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just had two weeks here on a last minute bargain. Negatives bedroom very basic bit spotless, air condition and fridge had to be paid for separately which we have never come across before. But apart from that we had a great holiday. Food was excellent always lots of choice, the staff are very helpful and kind. There is free wifi around the pool and in the bar. There is entertainment on every night and it had a great swimming pool with lots of sun beds . It was just off the Main Street too. All in all we would recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank posthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I have been here 6 times now and everytime it has been perfect. The hotel os lovely and the staff are welcoming and friendly. There is a good choice of food everyday. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are ok, could do with abit of an update. The pool area is good and the location is perfect with shops, bars and the beach just a stone through away. Corfu town is worth a trip to see.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Booked this holiday only 2 weeks before we went, very good deal price wise. Always a little bit wary when booking late deals, but no need to worry with this one. Helpful, friendly staff. Buffet style meals, continental breakfast, evening meals were nothing fancy but have to say every one I had was well cooked, tasty and hot. Rooms and hotel spotless, only gripe was basc bathroom facilities, but no different to the standard in many Greek hotels and apartments - but always a good and plentiful supply of hot water. Quiet location, but within easy walk of four lovely beaches and the night life is there if you want it. Top tip, don't forget insect repellant (if only mosquitoes sucked fat, not blood!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
0.8 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#8 of 39 in Sidari
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#4 of 39 in Sidari
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smartline Mimosa
Smartline Mimosa
#10 of 39 in Sidari
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
0.2 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Property: Alkyon Hotel
Address: Alkyon A.E., Sidari 491 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
#10 Family Hotel in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alkyon Hotel is considered one of the finest in the locality. Once you have experienced its excellent facilities, friendly atmosphere and great location, you will agree that the Alkyon Hotel is a superb choice for a memorable holiday.For those who enjoy a family atmosphere in a lively resort, whether you are ‘Couples’ after that quiet break away, ‘Families’ looking to spend some special time together or ‘Friends’ after that fun filled holiday, the Alkyon Hotel is the place to be.The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Sidari yet only a stones throw away from all the essential holiday amenities. You will find Sidaris beautiful stretch of sandy beach barely 150m away, and the resorts center, occupied with its many shops, bars and restaurants barely 250m away.Our luxurious ‘Jacuzzi’,‘Wi-Fi Access’,‘Daily Entertainment’ and fun filled ‘Children’s Play Area’ are only a few of the excellent facilities that we have on site; guaranteeing that the Alkyon Hotel has something to satisfy everyone’s needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing