We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last decorated when Gary Glitter was no 1 !!!!!”
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I wouldn't ever stay here again. In fact, we moved out after two days and went and stayed elsewhere (at our cost).
The rooms are all off corridors with heavy wooden doors which bang closed at all hours - early morning and late night - it's impossible to sleep through it. The rooms are decorated from the 70"s. Picture this, oranges, browns, high ceilings and 25 watt light bulbs. Absolutely horrendous and dingy. If you have mozzy's in your room, they're perfectly disguised and you have no chance of spotting them.
The reception area, pool and bar are great. The food is good and reasonably priced.
But the rooms let the hotel down enormously. The cleaning is good. No complaints. Fresh towels and toilet roll changes.
All in all, I think this note is vastly overrated. I'll never go back. Never.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnandAnn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 550 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for 2 week at the beginning of September. Get the negatives out of the way first. The rooms are a bit small and dated and the shower is tiny, don't know how some of the chubbys fit in. However very clean and the maid service good. The hotel is situated in the perfect location, The pool area is superb. sunbeds a plenty and it was quiet enough to grab 40 winks. The staff are excellent, will do anything to help and are the friendliest people I have ever met on holiday. The food, I can't understand why people are complaining, some say it is repetative, hey if I was getting a choice of beef, chicken, pork or lamb with the occasional fish thrown in from the missues I would be overjoyed. Its always hot and well cooked. The entertainment is not fabulous but on a par with everything else in Sidari. Looking at the other hotels in the area, this one had one of the best locations, best pool areas and best staff. On Sidari it's self I was a little disappointed, I could only describe it as a poor mans Benidorm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thefoxhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Pleasant staff. Spacious rooms. Fresh towels and great location. Away from busy strip in sidari, but just a 5 min walk. Beach is just across road and bus stop outside entrance. Close to 2 supermarkets.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Sept 3rd to 10th Spent a great week at The Alkyon Hotel, large room with 3 beds for two of us , Staff lovely ,food great for a 3 star ( and i m fussy ! ) Found a beach bar called "Seamonkeys" run by a couple from Doncaster ,with free sunbeds if you could get there early .If you are broad minded dont miss Lady Jane a brilliant drag artist ,who does 3 different shows a week down " The Strip ". Would definatly recommend Alkyon Hotel .

Room Tip: We asked for a Quiet room and got one overlooking the forest, ideal .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

First time at this hotel and we were not disappointed. very friendly and hard working staff, cleaners never stop, good food with plenty of variety freshly cooked throughout the day.drinks very reasonably priced. entertainment most nights if you like that sort of thing, Will be booking again for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singingintherain50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just returned from a last minute weeks holiday at the Alkyon and we really enjoyed out stay there, the hotel was clean the staff very friendly the food was good, breakfast was the the normal toast boiled eggs ham or cheese, jams etc which was enough for me as I don't eat much in a morning, but you could pay 2 euros for bacon, sausage, eggs and beans which my husband had twice and enjoyed. Our room was 118 which was on the ground floor at the back which got the sun all afternoon so made the room very hot at night so next time I would pay extra for the air con, bathroom was big enough with shower which was good. Beds were very basic and mattress hard but we slept ok. Food at the snack bar was good and also food at night. Pool was nice and great to cool down in!! Entertainment wasn't bad but to be fair we don't bother much with it. The hotel is at the top end of what they call the "strip" which was good as you where only 5 mins walk to it so far away for it to be quiet enough at night, would not have liked to be in the centre as it gets loud at night but it was good taking a stroll after evening meal but you do get pestered from bars and restaurants to go in for food and drink. We are not beach people but we did take a walk along it one morning and it looked clean with water sports and pederoles. We went with Thomsons and booked a trip to Corfu by night only to find the same trip alot cheaper round the corner near 3 little pigs restaurant so we dedcided to cancel it so DON'T book trips with Thomsons! All in all we had a lovely week at the Alkyon and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room(118) at the back so we were away from the bar area which could get quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phester56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Visited hotel for a week in August, a very well run, clean, friendly hotel with a lift unusual for Greece & great for coping with heavy cases. As mentioned by previous reviewers extra payments required for air conditioning, fridge & safe. Safes positioned by 24 hour reception, so quite safe! Room on first floor adequate, but in need of update. Good sized balcony, bathroom just a shower (Jet 2 brochure & Thomson shop advisor indicated shower over bath) maybe just larger rooms. Beware - shower a hazard as cold water tended to stop at times, leaving very hot water running thro on its own, other half nearly scalded.

Very noisy at night & early hours with people coming & going, shouting, banging doors, lots of complaints, hotel management did put up notices requesting people to be quiet, felt exhausted some mornings as just could not sleep. Entertainment okay, felt sorry for hard working entertainers as they kept three huge televisions on, showing football, thought this very bad practice & noticed entertainers upset as more folk seemed to be watching the football!

The pool was lovely, large enough to accommodate all & a pleasant seating area surrounding with good snacks available throughout the day.

Breakfast plenty of choice, but disappointed as no fresh fruit & first morning spent ages looking for honey in dispenser, found it second day in sachets with jam & marmalade, strange for Greece! Half Board seemed only option via package companies, restaurant very canteeny with food dolloped on plate. Surely a veggie, fish & meat option would have been better or better still a buffet, but it was meat, meat, meat!! Soup very very salty. Puddings seemed aimed at kids eg Jelly, icecream. On more positive side food hot & well cooked just too boring & like being in some Butlins like place in UK. Fortunately enjoyed some good authentic Greek food whilst on night trips out.

Lots of fantastic boat trips available with Vlaseros Travel (cheaper than Thomsons), especially Corfu at night - English lady at travel agency by Three Pigs was lovely & very helpful. Jennys Cafe near hotel was excellent, great sandwiches & lovely cakes, went to lot of trouble packing us sandwiches for journey home.

Sidari very shabby, with sidewalks & roads absolute nightmare, pavements uneven & broken - not safe for elderly, children or inebriated visitors especially at nightime. Couple of young girls on return flight with legs in plaster - ensure take crepe bandages & witch hazel... The Canal D'Amour side of Sidari lot prettier & not so noisy, main area not relaxing with each bar trying to outdo each other with loud music.

This was last minute deal, enjoyed the holiday but would not return to either this hotel or Sidari as apart from the sunshine was too much like home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhiannon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
0.2 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olga Apartments
Olga Apartments
#19 of 39 in Sidari
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beach Star Hotel
Beach Star Hotel
#18 of 39 in Sidari
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Sidari
Panorama Sidari
#17 of 39 in Sidari
1,052 reviews
20.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Address: Alkyon A.E., Sidari 491 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
#5 Family Hotel in Sidari
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
Price Range: $47 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alkyon Hotel is considered one of the finest in the locality. Once you have experienced its excellent facilities, friendly atmosphere and great location, you will agree that the Alkyon Hotel is a superb choice for a memorable holiday.For those who enjoy a family atmosphere in a lively resort, whether you are ‘Couples’ after that quiet break away, ‘Families’ looking to spend some special time together or ‘Friends’ after that fun filled holiday, the Alkyon Hotel is the place to be.The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Sidari yet only a stones throw away from all the essential holiday amenities. You will find Sidaris beautiful stretch of sandy beach barely 150m away, and the resorts center, occupied with its many shops, bars and restaurants barely 250m away.Our luxurious ‘Jacuzzi’,‘Wi-Fi Access’,‘Daily Entertainment’ and fun filled ‘Children’s Play Area’ are only a few of the excellent facilities that we have on site; guaranteeing that the Alkyon Hotel has something to satisfy everyone’s needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing