We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for our needs”
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal for our needs”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Sept 3rd to 10th Spent a great week at The Alkyon Hotel, large room with 3 beds for two of us , Staff lovely ,food great for a 3 star ( and i m fussy ! ) Found a beach bar called "Seamonkeys" run by a couple from Doncaster ,with free sunbeds if you could get there early .If you are broad minded dont miss Lady Jane a brilliant drag artist ,who does 3 different shows a week down " The Strip ". Would definatly recommend Alkyon Hotel .

Room Tip: We asked for a Quiet room and got one overlooking the forest, ideal .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    176
    61
    17
    8
See reviews for
163
254
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

First time at this hotel and we were not disappointed. very friendly and hard working staff, cleaners never stop, good food with plenty of variety freshly cooked throughout the day.drinks very reasonably priced. entertainment most nights if you like that sort of thing, Will be booking again for next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singingintherain50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just returned from a last minute weeks holiday at the Alkyon and we really enjoyed out stay there, the hotel was clean the staff very friendly the food was good, breakfast was the the normal toast boiled eggs ham or cheese, jams etc which was enough for me as I don't eat much in a morning, but you could pay 2 euros for bacon, sausage, eggs and beans which my husband had twice and enjoyed. Our room was 118 which was on the ground floor at the back which got the sun all afternoon so made the room very hot at night so next time I would pay extra for the air con, bathroom was big enough with shower which was good. Beds were very basic and mattress hard but we slept ok. Food at the snack bar was good and also food at night. Pool was nice and great to cool down in!! Entertainment wasn't bad but to be fair we don't bother much with it. The hotel is at the top end of what they call the "strip" which was good as you where only 5 mins walk to it so far away for it to be quiet enough at night, would not have liked to be in the centre as it gets loud at night but it was good taking a stroll after evening meal but you do get pestered from bars and restaurants to go in for food and drink. We are not beach people but we did take a walk along it one morning and it looked clean with water sports and pederoles. We went with Thomsons and booked a trip to Corfu by night only to find the same trip alot cheaper round the corner near 3 little pigs restaurant so we dedcided to cancel it so DON'T book trips with Thomsons! All in all we had a lovely week at the Alkyon and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room(118) at the back so we were away from the bar area which could get quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phester56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Visited hotel for a week in August, a very well run, clean, friendly hotel with a lift unusual for Greece & great for coping with heavy cases. As mentioned by previous reviewers extra payments required for air conditioning, fridge & safe. Safes positioned by 24 hour reception, so quite safe! Room on first floor adequate, but in need of update. Good sized balcony, bathroom just a shower (Jet 2 brochure & Thomson shop advisor indicated shower over bath) maybe just larger rooms. Beware - shower a hazard as cold water tended to stop at times, leaving very hot water running thro on its own, other half nearly scalded.

Very noisy at night & early hours with people coming & going, shouting, banging doors, lots of complaints, hotel management did put up notices requesting people to be quiet, felt exhausted some mornings as just could not sleep. Entertainment okay, felt sorry for hard working entertainers as they kept three huge televisions on, showing football, thought this very bad practice & noticed entertainers upset as more folk seemed to be watching the football!

The pool was lovely, large enough to accommodate all & a pleasant seating area surrounding with good snacks available throughout the day.

Breakfast plenty of choice, but disappointed as no fresh fruit & first morning spent ages looking for honey in dispenser, found it second day in sachets with jam & marmalade, strange for Greece! Half Board seemed only option via package companies, restaurant very canteeny with food dolloped on plate. Surely a veggie, fish & meat option would have been better or better still a buffet, but it was meat, meat, meat!! Soup very very salty. Puddings seemed aimed at kids eg Jelly, icecream. On more positive side food hot & well cooked just too boring & like being in some Butlins like place in UK. Fortunately enjoyed some good authentic Greek food whilst on night trips out.

Lots of fantastic boat trips available with Vlaseros Travel (cheaper than Thomsons), especially Corfu at night - English lady at travel agency by Three Pigs was lovely & very helpful. Jennys Cafe near hotel was excellent, great sandwiches & lovely cakes, went to lot of trouble packing us sandwiches for journey home.

Sidari very shabby, with sidewalks & roads absolute nightmare, pavements uneven & broken - not safe for elderly, children or inebriated visitors especially at nightime. Couple of young girls on return flight with legs in plaster - ensure take crepe bandages & witch hazel... The Canal D'Amour side of Sidari lot prettier & not so noisy, main area not relaxing with each bar trying to outdo each other with loud music.

This was last minute deal, enjoyed the holiday but would not return to either this hotel or Sidari as apart from the sunshine was too much like home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhiannon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel IS a very nice friendly welcoming hotel and the staff could not do enough for you. The maids, receptionists, bar staff, waiters everyone would help you with anything you asked of them or asked for, (one of the waiters made me feel unconfortable daily with his comments) the pool and surrounding area is a lovely place to be able to relax in, even though it is next to the main road leading into Sidari.

Our room... it did indeed have 2 beds along with a fridge, dressing table, stool, chair and table oh and two bedside cabinets I am very unsure HOW (as it stated on our booking) you could possibly of got a cot in there or where in fact it would have been put.. I believe the beds were actually childrens beds as I could touch the end of mine standing at 5.5

The down side... We were on the ground floor (which at the time I thought was good) until the first night and most nights there after actually, when some inconsiderate guests ran past our door to their room (they had heels on) and the noise most definitely woke you up at approximately 2:30 to 3:00am EVERY night they then preceded to unlock their door open it and then lock it AND try the handle twice/three times to make sure it was locked. Also with the floors not being carpeted when someone dropped something on the floor (from the room above us) WE most definitely heard it EVERYTIME or decided to move things around in their bedrooms WE heard it. I went with a friend on this holiday and she wore earplugs every night and still it woke her up as well.

Before our last day I booked what I believed to be a courtesy room....in actual fact it was just the entrance and shower room. By the time we had both had showers got changed and repacked our cases we might as well have not bothered to shower as we were hotter then than we had been all day!!!

I Couldn't believe that WE had to pay for the airconditioner 25 euros per week I know this is not a vast amount of money BUT the fact that we were holidaying in August meant that we would need the aircon on with temperatures (42+ degrees) AND we had to pay for this priviledge.

The evening meals were very repetitve in fact I think it was the same three meat dishes most evenings just called by a different name!!!

This is a holiday that I will remember for a long time BUT unfortunately not for the right reasons.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room facing onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here in August 2011 for a fortnight. Our room was ok, not a bad size and had everything you needed (fridge, hairdryer, tv etc). The room overlooked the gardens at the back of the property. The staff were all friendly and helpful, although some of the waiters made my girlfriend feel uncomfortable with the never ending (really painful) flirting!!

Food was ok but got a bit repetitive. As we were half board we ate at the hotel almost every night and the same options kept coming up night after night. Not a big problem but if you're a fussy eater you may struggle. Drinks were well priced (especially the local beer, which was excellent and half the price of premium beers) and the barstaff were very friendly.

We booked two excursions with the thomas cook rep. My advice would be to book with trip operators in the local area as they are much cheaper. One of the trips was a catamaran trip around the coast which we missed due to hangover! The other was a trip to Corfu town with dinner on a small island just off the coast. This was way over-priced for what you actually got and the food was poor. Chicken thigh and chips with some sort of shredded wheat style desert, not as the details promised a "romantic sunset dinner". The reality was we were all lumped together in a marquee and served ourselves buffet style!

The only real problem we had with the hotel was that you had to pay to turn the AC on in your room. Think it was around 45 euros a week. Felt this was harsh as you definately need aircon in your room. While we were there the temperature hit 47 degrees for three of the days, HOT HOT!

All in all I would recommend this hotel as it is close to the main beach, the "tunnel of love" and the bars and restaurants at the main strip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MondoGenerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

we have just got back from staying at the Alkyon . This is one of the nicest, friendliest hotels we have stayed in. The hotel was very clean, the rooms were cleaned often and were big enough for three of us .The food was lovely and the staff really friendly and helpful and the evening entertainment was good.I would recommend this hotel to anyone we have stayed in sidari before in another hotel and this one is alot better.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and the rooms were big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joannewebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
0.8 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#4 of 39 in Sidari
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smartline Mimosa
Smartline Mimosa
#10 of 39 in Sidari
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
20.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Property: Alkyon Hotel
Address: Alkyon A.E., Sidari 491 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sidari
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
#10 Family Hotel in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alkyon Hotel is considered one of the finest in the locality. Once you have experienced its excellent facilities, friendly atmosphere and great location, you will agree that the Alkyon Hotel is a superb choice for a memorable holiday.For those who enjoy a family atmosphere in a lively resort, whether you are ‘Couples’ after that quiet break away, ‘Families’ looking to spend some special time together or ‘Friends’ after that fun filled holiday, the Alkyon Hotel is the place to be.The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Sidari yet only a stones throw away from all the essential holiday amenities. You will find Sidaris beautiful stretch of sandy beach barely 150m away, and the resorts center, occupied with its many shops, bars and restaurants barely 250m away.Our luxurious ‘Jacuzzi’,‘Wi-Fi Access’,‘Daily Entertainment’ and fun filled ‘Children’s Play Area’ are only a few of the excellent facilities that we have on site; guaranteeing that the Alkyon Hotel has something to satisfy everyone’s needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing