We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location”
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at the Alkion near the beginning of May, the second week of holiday season. The weather was OK, hot enough just to sit around pool but we also had some heavy rain for 2 days. The hotel is situated in a great location, close to nearby bars and restaurants and about 10 minutes from the main drag, where it's full of shops, more bars, entertainment, restaurants etc. Our only disappointment is that is was so early in the season the beach wasn't really ready for use - there was no furniture put out (I need a parasol) and it was covered in palm tree fronds and seaweed. I gather they clear it regularly in main season. Which was a shame as it was a lovely beach!

The Hotel was great, again it was fairly empty which was great for getting a bed at the pool and getting served but it did have a very quiet atmosphere (think there were around 14 of us there). The staff are extremely helpful and will do anything to help you. The pool is nice and clean and you can have your snacks and drinks served to you there. Dinner is very good value but do try eating out as well, the local feta cheese is wonderful. They did try and have entertainment every night but we never stayed in for it - there was too much going on down the street!

There are lots of bars all competing with blaring music and entertainers every night. If you look down a side road you'll find the '1 for the road' bar, where Napoleon the owner is a wonderful host with lots of fun and music. We did have a couple of early morning finishes in there!

A trip to Corfu Town is a must, it is very cosmopolitan and again had a wonderful meal at the very chic Rex Restaurant. We would have loved a boat trip but the weather wasn't good enough. I would say shop around for your trip prices though - there are lots of local trip operators and they're all much cheaper than the big tour reps!

All in all, we would recommend the Alkion hotel and Sidari to everyone but maybe a little later in the season, unless you like it fairly quiet!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lulu66Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    176
    61
    17
    8
See reviews for
163
254
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Having read the reviews we were not disappointed. The hotel is spotless, the rooms are clean well maintained and freshly painted. The furniture is solid wood and very heavy, okay so its not modern contemporary stuff that looks good in photos, but who wants that cheap garbage anyway. Its small friendly and traditional, good on the owners.
The food was good and always a nice choice, the breakfasts are a bit limited a variation for the continental side would have been a bit better, but the 2€ for a cooked breakfast was very good value and great for those a bit hungrier.
The staff are marvellous, I have never met such friendly people, they are polite and will do their best whatever you need. Fridge hire was only 8€ a week, and they are good not cheap things that barely get chilled.
The hotel is in the best position just away from the noise, but with fantastic views. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: The location means all rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank UKvisitorsNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This is unbeatable for the friendliness of staff and owners. although we usually have buffet service, in the Alkion it is waiter service breakfast and dinner. We never had to wait long for our meal, even when the hotel got busier in our second week. Our only problem with the food was the fact that the meals were too large for our small appetites. In the end we solved the problem by omitting starters which were almost a meal on their own. We only had one meal that we could not eat and that was lamb chops, We could not even cut them. The waiter did offer to bring us something else instead though. We usually had a glass of wine with the meal which was reasonable at 2 euro. Although at the end of the first week, this went up to 2.5 euro a glass.
There was always plenty of sunbeds to go round at all times during our stay.
The resort is as quiet or as lively as you wish, the main strip being very noist in the evenings with the bars all competing with each other decibel wise, but in the area round the part where the hotel is situated it is a lot quieter.
We can rccommend a nice little bar come crepes and icecream called the Ice House run and ownd by a young lady by the name of Kelly where you are made most welcome.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor, they look to be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2particular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angus
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

The first thing you feel as soon as you arrive is that every one is so friendly - the staff are friendly and this transfers to other holiday makers - no glum faces here!
This hotel offers excellent value for money - rooms are basic - we had three single beds, two big double fitted wardrobes,dressing-table and mirror with hairdryer fitted beside mirror, Bedside cabinets and plenty of sockets. We had a bath with shower. Everthing spotless. Whole Hotel Spotless- clean tablecloths changed for every new diner.
Breakfast - 2 slice toast each, butter and jam + fruit juice + tea or coffee - in a POT no horrible machines. The a choice of big bowl for fruit salad(tinned but nice) OR Corn Flakes OR homemade yogurt OR Croissant . For 2Euro you can get full English - 2 eggs, british style bacon, british style sausage, baked beans etc. All served hot straight from the kitchen.
Dinner was excellent choice of 3 starters - soup or a Greek starter and maybe a salad or pasta dish (different every day) 3 Main courses- a Greek dish, Chicken, beef, pork, lamb or fish - again different every day. Finally - Jelly or icecream or creme caramel or a lovely cake ( one day it was orange cake, then pineapple, then banana , chocolate cake, blackforest gateaux etc) maybe cheesecake and ALL served to you at your table - all hot food is HOT and all cold food is Cold. perfect! 9.50Euro for a nice bottle of wine.
Entertainment is very good - usual Bingo and Quize nights but also very professional cabaret style tribute acts all performed by a team of very talented young british performers -living their dream - so WHEN you are at the Alkion support the entertainment as they are good. Freddie Mercury was very good.
The area is very flat and makes for enjoyable strolls and the tavernas are all as friendly and welcoming. ENJOY!!
Didn't go on any trips - we enjoyed walking in the area and relaxing by the pool. Friends we made did go on trips booked locally and all good reports and cheaper than tour operators.
So book with ease and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank clioAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This was the best holiday ever! Hotel rooms aren't amazing but the night life is fabulous! Hotel is really clean, bar staff were really friendly and hotel bar itself was good value for money! Food at the hotel was also really nice slightly changed every day but was really nice didn't really eat breakfast as wasn't up in time! Overal would defo go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayLover951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Just returned from a really enjoyable fortnights holiday at the Alkyon.
The hotel is in a superb location, there are two beaches that are less than a 5 minute stroll away, and the shops and entertainment are not much more.
We found the hotel it's self ideal. All elements of the hotel were very good, there was always plenty of loungers available round a very clean pool area.The receptionists
were always very pleasent and very helpful, and the maid service was very good albeit only six out of seven days. The resturaunt was first class both for quality of food and also service. Whilst the breakfast was only simple it was more than adequate, if you prefered a full english breakfast this could be purchased for 2 euro's. The Menu for dinner was always varied and of a very high standard. There was always a choice of four starters, four main courses and at least four desserts. The service in the resturaunt was excellent, in all the time we were there we never had to wait for a table, and once seated we never waited more than five minutes to be served. All the waiter's/waitresses were very pleasent, but Andrea in particular was superb, within no time at all she knew everybody.
This was our first visit to the Alkyon but it wont be our last.

Sheila and Keith Fleetwood

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keith025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We moved to Alkyon Hotel halfway through our holiday. We booked the hotel based on the reviews on trip advisor and were coming from a nightmare hotel in Kavos so we were praying that Alkyon was going to be our saving grace. And it really was. The hotel is in the perfect location. The Sidari strip is perfect - great bars and clubs, and the people are so friendly everywhere. The hotel room was lovely, clean and had everything you needed. The general facilities in the hotel were good too. Food choice for vegetarians was a little restricted but we expected this - and there were plenty of other places to eaton the strip. Overall a great holiday and Alkyon Hotel saved us from a ruined holiday. I would reccomend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MidlandsMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
0.8 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#4 of 39 in Sidari
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smartline Mimosa
Smartline Mimosa
#9 of 39 in Sidari
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
20.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Property: Alkyon Hotel
Address: Alkyon A.E., Sidari 491 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sidari
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
#10 Family Hotel in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alkyon Hotel is considered one of the finest in the locality. Once you have experienced its excellent facilities, friendly atmosphere and great location, you will agree that the Alkyon Hotel is a superb choice for a memorable holiday.For those who enjoy a family atmosphere in a lively resort, whether you are ‘Couples’ after that quiet break away, ‘Families’ looking to spend some special time together or ‘Friends’ after that fun filled holiday, the Alkyon Hotel is the place to be.The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Sidari yet only a stones throw away from all the essential holiday amenities. You will find Sidaris beautiful stretch of sandy beach barely 150m away, and the resorts center, occupied with its many shops, bars and restaurants barely 250m away.Our luxurious ‘Jacuzzi’,‘Wi-Fi Access’,‘Daily Entertainment’ and fun filled ‘Children’s Play Area’ are only a few of the excellent facilities that we have on site; guaranteeing that the Alkyon Hotel has something to satisfy everyone’s needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing