We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sellas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sellas Hotel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Have recently returned from a 2 week holiday staying in the Sellas. The apartments are typically Greece (very small) but completely adequate! Our room consisted of twin beds, two bedside cabinets, dressing table, wardrobe, (small) fridge, kettle and TV. Bathroom again was compact! (typically Greek!) – but always hot water and good pressure in the shower.

Rooms were kept very clean as was the rest of the complex. Staff were very helpful, particularly Lauren (during the day) and Mimosa (during the evening). Swimming pool is a good size, kept clean with plenty of sunbeds. Free wi-fi available (around bar area) and two TV screens. Food available – we only ate here during the day –excellent and good value for money,

Perfect location, central to Canal D'Amour and ‘the strip’. Located down a dirt driveway – but still well light even in the middle of the night! If you are looking for a basic, reasonably priced well maintained stay in Sidari I would recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana2Spike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    92
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
59
136
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in July-August 2012. Staff were friendly, rooms were large, big fridge in our room, beds were comfy, nice patio/seating area, cleaned regulalrly, fresh towels, washing line for clothes. Really great location as well. Close to the beach and just off of the strip (away from the noise). So many bars, restaurants, shops and entertainment in Sidari. Would go back again for sure!! Such good value for money at Sellas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haydon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Spent the last week in June at the Sellas Hotel, firstly the good things. The hotel is clean and friendly, the pool area is relaxing and comfortable and the bar area as previously mentioned usually occupied by locals in the evening but that's better than the rowdy bars along the strip. The location is great away from the noise and close to the Restaurants of the Canal d'mour area.
The only down side to the holiday was the room, the dark wood furniture and general fittings are well over due for up grading and whilst you don't spend a lot of time in your room when on holiday it's nice to go back to a comfortable relaxing room and our room was neither add to that the problem with moscitoes (all guests were covered in bites) sleeping was difficult, improved slightly by paying for air con. It would have been nice to relax on the balcony in the evening but we needed to fumigate the room every night and shut all the doors before going out to eat to make sure we weren't eaten alive at night.
It's true you get what you pay for and this was a relatively cheap break and good value for money.
Sidari has become a very busy resort and would not stay there again, there are some lovely places around the island and recommend hiring a car to explore the out of the way places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malone21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just traveled to Corfu for my friends 50th birthday bash. The staff at the Sellas could not do enough for us and we would all recommend this hotel. The hotel is set back from the main strip and therefore it was really quiet ( apart from the barking dog first thing on a morning!!) Most of the restaurants we ate at were very good and not expensive (avoid the Three Little Pigs) The beaches are lovely and clean and very safe for children too. Mimosa is fabulous xx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JILL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Sellas Hotel for 2 weeks on a room only basis. We arrived mid evening and were greeted with a 'Yammas' from a distance as the hotel is one of 2 in a quiet location down a dirt track, but does not have a name sign.
We were shown to our room (No;401) and to say the least, it was very dark and in need of redecoration, not only the walls and furniture but also the bathroom fitments.
The beds are very low to the floor and not very comfortable but the linen is clean and changed every other day as are the towels, with the rooms cleaned daily, 100% for that.
As for the wardrobe, it was like something out of the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe! It had been put behind the door to the room but the light was behind it in the middle of the room, so to find anything was an event in itself.
It was a fair sized balcony that over looked a lawned area at the back of the Hotel, nice and peaceful but nothing special to look at.
There are two pools, one for the kiddies, both of which are okay and the surrounding area is very well maintained and extremely clean.
However, we did find it a little disconcerting that outsiders with dogs, both large and small, were allowed to use the pool area and after 2 days of this and a full grown Alsation joining the melee we decided to use elsewhere.
The food was fine, although we only had one breakfast there, only because, as has been said previously 'George and Mimosa' only chat to certain people, and yes the drinks area is used quite a lot by George and his friends and family. Lauren the waitress/barmaid was always cheerful and hapy to help, so again 100% for her.
We have stayed in many Greek family Hotels over the years, but we have to say, did not feel as though this is a family run place.This Hotel could not find it's first aid box, not a good sign!
We would not return to this Hotel, but would definately go back to Sidari, it's great for both couples and families with lovely beaches and lots of watersports and boat trips.Not a bad place for wheelchair users as it is fairly flat.
The location of the Hotel is ideal, just off the main drag and to the right, offers plenty of Bars and Taverna's, all very competative, and offering all sorts of entertainment from Lady GaGa (just brilliant) to Madness or simply Lady Jayne drag artist, something for everyone or just a quiet little bar. To the left and straight over into Canal D'Amour area is the more reserved and anyone staying in the area MUST visit Konaki Traditional Greek Taverna.
A good day out to San Stefanos costs around 1.60 each, each way. It has a lovely beach and great Taverna's and a sunset to die for. Roda and Achravi are well worth a couple of hours, you may find it just as easy to book the bus from one of the kiosk's.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacksum_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have just returned from 2 weeks at the Sellas and was impressed.

First, as my review title says the location is excellent within Sidari. For those who know Sidari then the Sellas is 50 meters back on the dirt track opposite the Mediterraneo restaurant (by the 3 Little pigs bus stop). For those unfamilar with Sidari, this is situation halfway between the main "strip" in Sidari with the clubs and bars and the Canal D'Amour area. You can walk to either in around 5 minutes, similarly to the main beach which is the other side of the tennis courts next to the Mediterraneo restaurant.

The staff at Sellas were excellent, George the owner was laid back and helpful. Mimosa who ran the bar at night was also very friendly and helpful as was Lauren who ran the bar during the day.

The general areas were kept clean and tidy. The pool was well maintained and there was always enough sunbeds to go around, although there were not that many umbrellas available. The rooms were made up every day (except Wednesdays) and towels changed every other day.

The bar was well stocked and had a pretty good choice of drinks available. The food was also very good. The cooked breakfast (for about 3 Euros) was good value, lunchtime snacks were also good value (I can recommend the chicken club sandwich with chips!). There was also a selection for evening meals (served 7-9pm) but as I did not eat here in the evening I cannot comment as to the quality/quantity of these.

The only small issue I had with Sellas was that we had gone there self catering but the rooms did not have any kitchen facilities. Our room had an electric kettle, 2 mugs, 2 small glasses, 2 spoons and 1 knife. There was also a small fridge, and I mean small. The only way to fit a 1.5litre bottle of coke in was on the bottom at a 45 degree angle as it wouldn't fit across or front to back and the door compartments were too narrow (ok for milk/fruit juice cartons or tinned drinks). Having said this we knew we were going to eat out every day so this wasn't a problem, but if you are going there do not expect to be able to prepare your own food.

The rooms were small, enough room for 2 single beds (or 1 double - there didn't seem to be any logic as to what you ended up with) a double wardrobe, small vanity unit and 2 bedside tables. Our room was in the block at the far end of the swimming pool (we were round the back which was extra quiet) and it's worth noting these had shared balconies/patios whereas those around the pool mostly had individual ones. Our daughter and her friend had one of the rooms overlooking the pool and these were slightly larger but still furnished the same. The rooms were clean and whilst some of the bathroom fittings were tired they functioned well, there was always hot water and at a decent pressure for the shower.

Whilst it was hot when we were there we didn't need to use the Air Con, possibly because both our rooms were on the ground floor, but for info it would have cost 40 Euros a week which when I compare to what I have paid in Sidari 2 and 3 years ago was pretty reasonable.

I would definately go back to the Sellas in future. It is a basic hotel but unless you want to prepare food it ticks all the right boxes.

Room Tip: Note rooms in block furthest from the bar have shared balconies/patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We would stay here again. I recommend this hotel.

Please be careful when you first arrive at the hotel as I had my sunglasses on when I first arrived and I feel into the hotel reception after walking from the terraced area. There was a rug right next to the edge of the step, rather than a yellow line. The hotel staff were very helpful when I fell and I was soon helped up and offered a seat etc. Thankfully I was ok.

We stayed in room 301 which was on the ground-floor. We had a terraced area which was next to a small garden which was lovely. The terraced area has no barrier to the other 3 rooms on the same floor so there isn't much privacy if you are using the terraced area and your neighbours are too.

I found the double bed lumpy and difficult to sleep on but my husband (who is heavier than me) thought it was fine.
The rooms were generally clean but I found a long black hair in the draw of my bedside cabinet. It did put me off from putting any of my items in there.
The shower is very small but does the job.
Location-wise it was really good as it was only a 5minute walk to the beach and was 5mins away from the main street of bars and restaurants but you don't hear any noise from them at Sellas Hotel.

Breakfast is very basic and consists of crusty sliced bread, ham, cheese, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, several choices of fruit from a bowl as well as the usual orange juice, marmelade and butter for your toast or sandwich.

If you would like to go on an excersion I would suggest Vlaseros Travel which has two bases, one on the main strip and the closest to the hotel is on the same road as the Three Little Pigs restaurant. This company is much cheaper than you pay a rep for the same excersion and their vehicles are 5star! Luxury Limo coaches that are better quality than any I have used in the UK!
I would recommend the Paleocastrisa/Bella Vista excersion which is 12 euros per adult through Vlaseros Travel.

Overall a fantastic holiday but the main rating was based on the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PARADlSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.2 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Sidari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.0 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olga Apartments
Olga Apartments
#12 of 41 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Smartline Mimosa Hotel
Smartline Mimosa Hotel
#10 of 41 in Sidari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Stema
Stema
#6 of 41 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sellas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sellas Hotel

Property: Sellas Hotel
Address: Sidari 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
#15 Family Hotel in Sidari
Hotel Class:2 star — Sellas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sellas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sellas Hotel Corfu
Sellas Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing