We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID!!!!!”
Review of Alexes Family Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Alexes Family Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AVOID!!!!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We visited Alexes on the basis of its excellent reviews but were very disappointed. The food was nothing special- gigantes were straight from the tin and the moussaka was very bland and came with no accompaniment. The house red was thin compared with that we have had in other tavernas, and if you do decide to have the house wine, check that the carafe is full before the waiter fills your glasses for the first time. Also, it is worth checking for discrepancies between the prices on your bill and those given in the menu. There are several tavernas in canal d amour to choose from, and we would suggest you try one of the others, such as blue sky or athenas, if you are looking for good taverna cuisine and value for money. we were told it was a traditional eating place but we found it was more for the tourist than local, everything came with chips and not that well cooked….avoid!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nikki27rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    8
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Well where to start......this place is amazing! Its true what there say the best places are stumbled upon, this amazing restaurant was just round the corner from our hotel and im sooooooo glad me and my partner found it. The food is beautiful you wont find a better kleftiko in the whole of Corfu in my eyes, and the homemade apple pie WOW! Also me and my partner came here every morning from when we found it to have the amazing breakfast even though we were B&B at our hotel. Not only was the food amazing but Alex and Eric are the nicest people we met, always making you feel welcome and we had some funny conversations :-) Not only that, they have a Parrot which is sooooooo funny (Charlie) and the cutest dog (Prince) i dont usually visit the same destination twice, but im telling you now this restaurant, the people that come with it and the amazing food mark my words im coming back next year to this beautiful place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JORDANBLAINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Sidari!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have just come back from spending 2 weeks in Sidari, we ate out everyday in lots of different restaurants and found Alexes to be our favourite by far. The food is amazing, its all very fresh and home cooked by Alexes wife. Being a fussy eater and vegetarian i usually find it quite hard to find something on the menu that i like, and here i had no problems atall as the menu is so varied. My partner enjoyed his meat dishes and felt the meat was lovely and tender, and i enjoyed my pasta dishes, and thought it was great that when i ordered pesto the basil was picked from the garden there and then and made fresh, it was the best pesto ive ever tasted! The home made puddings including apple pies and cheescakes are to die for and the restaurant also makes delicious well priced breakfasts, we found ourselves going back everyday to eat breakfast here as they serve proper english sausages and bacon. Now asides from the amazing food there is also something else that made us want to keep coming back to this restaurant, and that has to be the staff. Alex and Eric are the most lovely, friendly people we met on our holiday, they have lots of time for their customers and make you feel so welcome and at home, and they really are genuinelly interested and happy to talk you. Not only are the staff lovely but to add to this they also have a very intelligent and funny african grey parrot Charlie who sits in the garden amoung the beautiful flowers, he really is a character and will keep you entertained throughout your meal by saying some of his favourite quotes "give us a kiss!" "chocolate?!" "where alex?!" and he will also call the little dog "prince!" who is very cute and stays in the back garden. I dont normally write reviews but i really do want to recommend this restaurant to people as it is really worth a visit, its not like all the other places you find on the main strip this is proper home cooked food with quality service, try it once and you wont be able to stay away! Alexes restaurant is easy to find its just a short walk away from Canal D Amour. We will definately return again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1989kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely restaurant”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We visited in June a few time at lunch time and in the evening. Food and service excellent. Would recommend pizza, probably the best I've ever tasted! Will definitely return next time we visit Sidari.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was our third trip to sidari in six years and Alex and Eric were part of the reason for returning. They are the most wonderful hosts and so much fun. The food is always wonderful and feshly cooked by Alex's wife. Nothing is too much trouble for Alex and Eric and going to other restaurants always seems almost like a betrayal! We mentioned that we liked a certain singer and the next night when we sat down Alex turned the Greek music off and put our favourite on. If you don't visit this lovely taverner when you go to Sidari you will have missed a real treat. We can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexes Family Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing