We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Holiday”
Review of Yiannis Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yiannis Village
Ranked #9 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We've just had the most fantastic week here. Myself & my 2 friends were made so welcome by Telis, Emma, Alda & all of the staff. The apartment was great, the bar was even greater, and the pool was beautiful. But it really is the staff at Yiannis Village who make the difference. We would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone.
Andy (41), Stuart (59) & Marc (39)
Swindon, Wilts

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidarier, Manager at Yiannis Village, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments

We are very glad you had a fantastic holiday at our complex. We are happy that you felt very welcome, liked your apartment, enjoyed our facilities and appreciate our lovely staff.

Thank you for saying you would recommend our complex to others and hope you come back next year for another fantastic holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    41
    10
    6
    11
See reviews for
144
121
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh,Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Firstly, this is NOT a 2*resort as described in some brochures. 'Star' ratings are based on services, just because the Yiannis doesn't have room or concierge service doesn't mean this isn't worthy of a much deserved 4/5* rating.
We booked a 2 bed apartment(located in block 4), it had everything we needed, to be honest we only slept or showered in it but it was nice to have access to 2 large veranda's that offered a bit privacy if required.
The complex itself was very clean and sparkly new looking, Emma told us there had been various extensions/upgrades the previous years but it is hard to tell as the whole place looks very new.
I mentioned Emma, she is a genial lass from Manchester, she practically runs the place from first thing to dark o'clock, ably assisted by Alda and off course there's the much maligned Tellis. Personally, I thought Tellis was fantastic, he can be found sometimes trudging about the place mumbling and complaining to himself but the guy is absolutely hilarious and a classic Greek! The staff work tirelessly to make sure everyone is satisfied and enjoying themselves.
Food and drink was not what I'd consider to be expensive, the food was fantastic and proportions were belly bursting! We did eat out a few times as it's only fair to try other places, we did find some that were cheaper but I can honestly say we didn't find anywhere better. My only issue, neither a gripe nor a complaint, is that the eating area doesn't have that classic Greek taverna feel that I crave when on the Greek islands.
Most nights there was some form of entertainment, my 9 year old daughter was entertained so that means I was happy, one less thing to worry about!
The walk into town can seem longer than it is but I put this down to the heat. It's about 10 minutes to the crossroads where there are 2 supermarkets/ATM/Restaurants and it's another 10 minutes from there into the centre of town/Sidari beach.
Although I didn't see anything in Sidari that would have us racing back there next year, we would definitely like to return to Yiannis Village, for the staff if nothing else.
Thanks again guys,
John, Pam & Auryn x

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayEff74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidarier, Manager at Yiannis Village, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we are very glad you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the food we serve, as you mentioned we give good size portions and make fresh homemade greek dishes

We are glad you enjoyed the entertainment, which this summer included cabaret nights-live singing and dancers, quiz nights, family bingo and a comedy hypnotist show

Thank you and we would welcome you back anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent a week in the Yiannis Village, Sidari. This was our first trip back to the island since 1992 - but this time, we took our kids (13 and 11).

We had a WHALE of a time.

We arrived at night (approx half past ten at night); were met by the AMAZING Emma; taken to our holiday home (which was absolutely beautiful - clean, well appointed); dropped the bags off and sat down spending time sampling the beer (Mythos - rather nice brew; best served from frozen glass) while the kids made new friends around the pool table and sitting area.

This is where we first encountered Telis. With one of the driest senses of humor I have ever seen in anyone. He works hard and parties hard as well - ((scream - yammas!))

We had several beers and met some of the locals (Val and Trev) and had a lovely time chatting with them, Telis and Emma as well as chatting with the other holidaymakers.

Crawling out of bed at late o'clock, we ventured out to the poolside and got hold of some sunbeds (there were LOADS free!) had a lovely time in the very clean and well kept pool. It was almost as refreshing as the beer :-)

The weather was so hot! We decided to have some breakfast (ok, it was technically lunchtime under the large outdoor eating area) which was really lovely - proper crispy bacon (mmmmmmmm) and returned to the sunbeds.

We then were introduced to Alda, a young lady working there who along with Emma and Telis were very attentive and kept us very well fed and watered.

We ate our evening meals there almost every night (delicious! - Stamna, Stifado + Sofrito - beautiful!).

You have to try this place out - its truly wonderful.

A MASSIVE thankyou to Telis, Emma, Alda, Kiki (the maid) my Greek Mama (Telis' Mum - in the shop) and the crazy chef for making our time there memorable for all the right reasons and made us very happy holiday makers.

xx

Room Tip: Take cash and some extra for the air conditioning - set it to 22 or 21 degrees for a lovely nights s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyfieldhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed as a family of four for a week in August 2012. Emma, Alda and Telis are extremely welcoming with nothing too much trouble. You can order food exactly as you want it and Emma will have thought about what you will need even before you get there in terms of accomodation! We stayed in two ground floor studios opposite the pool. The rooms would benefit from refurbishment but they are clean and comfortable. Air con is availble at a reasonable price and the safety deposit boxes in the reception area serve the purpose conveniently and safely. The place is small and friendly with an excellent bar and restaurant area, a super pool with varying depths and a jacuzzi and small kids pool. Sunbeds are plentiful even at peak times, you won't need to be putting your towels down!

Yiannis Village is quite a walk from the Sidari strip but there are some restaurants and bars nearby. You will need to walk single file down the road and it can get very dark so bear this in mind if you are travelling with very small children.

The bar is stocked with every drink you can think of and the food both greek and english is excellent. The service is outstanding. You feel like you are staying with friends but are served with the efficiency and effort or a 4 star hotel.

It would be hard to not go back here as the team are so welcoming. Thanks Telis, Emma & Alda.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendano78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Amazingly friendly people 24/7, couldn't do enough to help and make you feel welcome. Would recommend this resort to anyone thinking of booking a holiday to Greece. Telis, Emma, and Alda were friendly and accommodating from first till last and there was a happy, chilled atmosphere throughout our entire stay. Met some great people and wouldn't hesitate to go back

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imgreat34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 week Holiday in the sunshine. What a truly fantastic experience,fantastic hosts and made some real friends. Emma met us on the first night after we arrived late and after showing us to our room she made sure that the restaurant catered for us which was greatly appreciated. Alda introduced herself to us and we found the whole team very welcoming. Telis is a star and made us feel welcome throughout our entire holiday. The other guests at the complex who took the time to integrate and experience the facilities on site added to the holiday and we have made some real friends. Emma really looked after our son together with Telis and Alda and we had the best holiday ever.......Forget any negative comments about this place as it is real value for money and the team and the Brits living over there ( Trev & Val ) really make this place. I wouldn't hesitate in booking here and Telis even invented a cocktail in my name. Very sad to leave Yiannis and as I've already said that the guys can't do enough for you ! Just ask... Thanks for a fantastic Holiday..Mr Prizeman's Towel liked it that much it's still there.. Emma you know what I mean

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Philbj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Had a lovely hot 2 weeks in this resort. We had a 3 bed apartment right next to the pool and opposite the bar which was perfect for us as we have 3 small children. We could put them to bed and then sit on the balcony and enjoy the entertainment from a across the pool. We only ate at the restaurant twice as we like exploring different places, but the food was of a very high standard and good sized portions (but a little more expensive than in town). We didn't spend much money at the resort (as they currently don't take plastic), but we were still treated brilliantly and given lots of advice and help. Emma makes everyone feel like a friend and goes out of her way to make you welcome and gave us a lovely note when we left. The small team of staff work extremely hard, and long hours.
The self catering facilities were basic, but adequate and we had a proper fridge freezer with a full size fridge that we filled with drink. Our only criticism of the villas was that the sheets were too small for the bed and came off every night. Also there was music playing all the time, not too loud, but a bit of peace occasionally would have been welcome.
It would have been 90euros a week to use the air conditioning, but we took a large fan (with an eu adaptor plug) and that was fine. There is a small expensive shop on site which is convenient or 10mins walk down the road are 2 larger supermarkets that are cheaper and better stocked (and take plastic) - however they do make you appreciate tescos!

It was a bit of a trek (20-40)mins into town and the beach, but as we had a car for most of the time we were off exploring the island so it wasn't a problem and our children are used to walking reasonable distances. HOwever, a lot of people spent their whole time around the pool! The beach in Sidari is very attractive, but the sand is a bit rubbish and cluttered with sunbeds. However a short drive around the coast you get to some lovely beaches - Ag Stefanos, Ag Arrilas and Ag Geogious are all lovely, sunset beach is worth a visit and for the more energetic at Cape Arrilas you can walk 20mins along a coast path to a headland with a small beach on either side.
Another highlight for us was a boat trip to Erikoussa island.
In conclusion it was a lovely place and perfect to enjoy the wall to wall sunshine, we would have got a bit bored without the car for 2 weeks just in Sidari but it was a good base to explore the north of the island...however we have the rest of the world to explore so unlikely to return. Would definitely recommend to other people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiciFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
1.1 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#8 of 39 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sidari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stema
Stema
#4 of 39 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.3 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#3 of 39 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.6 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yiannis Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yiannis Village

Property: Yiannis Village
Address: Sidari 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Sidari
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yiannis Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yiannis Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yiannis Village Hotel Sidari
Yiannis Village Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing