We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely apartments perfect accomodation close to beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Megali Luxuries

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Megali Luxuries
Ranked #18 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Sidari
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely apartments perfect accomodation close to beach”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Well me and my girlfriend stayed at megali luxuries from 12th to 19th Oct 2012...we arrived in corfu for our first time during a storm on friday night. got to the apartments, luckily we had read reviews on here that said to check the board to see what apartment you are staying in, although 2 lovely ladies were on their patio and told us we were in apartment 1. The key was in the door, which was good as we didnt have t stand around in the rain or walk far. to our rooms. We decided to go self catering for once as we always go all inclusive, but as I am a fussy eater, we thought it would be nice to eat out with the option of cooking facilities. Well the apartment we stayed in, apartment 1, was lovely. The living room kitchen was nicely decorated, modern style, with a flat screen tv (excellent for films on laptop, as the tv channels are limited to news unless you are german or indian.) the kitchen was well equipped, microwave combi oven, sandwich toaster, hobs, fridge freezer, etc...and a 1.5 litre bottle of water, which was excellent due to late arrival, and lack of open shops. The living room had a sofabed and table and chairs, and sliding doors onto a walled patio area with table and chairs. There is also a communal outside barbecue, although it was far too cheap too eat out over there, so didnt need to use this. we also had our bedroom up a quirky spiral staircase, where we had a twin put together as a double bed, plus large wardrobe, and free safe. there is a lovely swimming pool with some sunbeds, due to there being only a few apartments, there is always a free sunbed. Sidari is also full of stray cats and dogs, we seemed to have attracted 3 or 4 kittens for the week (we are cat people) theywould come to our patio all the time for food or milk or water, but I did have an altercation with an english couple as he thought he could kick the cat from their patio,literally kick!!I was disgusted, and was close to kicking him. I was disgusted...!!! Fanis the owner is a really nice guy, on one of the stormy days, when we lost power, he was out in the rain wiring up a generator to the mains to ensure we had some sort of power.Also due to our late departure on the last day, we asked for a late checkout, Fanis told us to pay the cleaner a few Euros (15) and we can stay as long as we wanted on that day,meaning no issue of lugging baggage around (as there is no luggage room at Megali Luxuries) Excellent place to go if you dont want all the hecticness of a busy complex.Fanis is also good friends with Jim the owner of Jims mopeds, somewhere you have to visit for a good price on quad hire...Fanis also owns a bar in sidari plus the gift shop opposite...when we first met him he offered us a free drink in his bar, although as we were so busy enjoying ourselves all week, we didnt take the offer of the drink. Sidari is lovely, and a really good place to visit for a small town. The canal d'armour is a definite to visit for a lovely little cove. The boat hire on the beach is also very reasonable. We spent most of our time in the One for the road bar just off the main strip. That place is brilliant, a really good place to go and Napoleon is a star, and got us sooo hammered each night the amount of free drinks he gave us...we have never seen anything like it. At one point we had a bottle of tequila put in front of us and told to drink!!! Will definitely be going back to corfu again, if we stay in sidari, Megali luxuries will be the place we stay again. For a recommendation for the best steak in sidari, visit Dorotheas just off the crossroads, towards Megali beach. This lovely greek restaurant were excellent, check out their reviews. see pics on this review for the steak Dorotheas served me.!!!.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

booked here for 2 weeks in Oct we had never booked anywhere that didnt have a reception/mgt on site before so wasnt sure how it would work but when we did encounter a slight problem with the safe (our fault not theres) we mentioned it to the cleaner and the owner arrived within half an hour to sort it out he and the cleaner were always popping over to make sure everything was ok which was great. the apartment was amazing we loved the mezzanine level it made it feel like a little house it was spotlessly clean, fully furnished and the best equipped self catering we have ever had we made good use of the toastie maker! as there are only 12 apartments you get to know everyone else staying there and it is really friendly the pool are and terrace was great for sun bathing. The apartments are situated about 10min walk from the strip but on that 10min walk you have the beach and about 5 or 6 restaurants. We would definately book here again and have already recommended these apartments to a number of people

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pryore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

returned on 1st october after spending two great weeks at the megali luxuries these are the best studios we have ever stayed in .They are very clean and well equipped,bed linen and towels were changed 5 times during our stay which is more than adequate ,the cleaner is lovely she is very polite and helpful as is Fanis the owner.99% of the time it is very peaceful at night but on two occasions a complex a few yards up the road had dico music blaring out ,on the first occasion it carried on untill 3am we were unable to sleep as it really was deafening .The following week it only carried on untill 1.30am .Be prepared take ear plugs ,i bought some in sidari never used them though.cant see why someone said the megali beach was not very nice it is very clean,sand some shingle the sea is wonderful so clear you can see the bottom .went in a pedalo to see the fantastic rock formationswhich are to the left of sidari main beach ,this has to be the best way to see them ,plenty of places to eat our favourite was the Elysee on megali beach did not rate Dorotheas ,it was the worst food we have ever eaten on any of the Greek islands we have been to ,needless to say we did not return there.all in all we had a lovely holiday many thanks to the Megali luxuries for making our first stay with you a very happy one we will most certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linzandick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just returned from a week at the megali luxuries apartments, we had an apartment with a mezzanine level and it was fantastic. The apartment was clean, modern, more than basic ammenities. Kitchen more than adequate for self catering (not that we cooked much due to all the mazing restaurants). Bathroom had full shower cubicle, which was modern and clean and a full size hair dryer which was fantastic. We had our sheets and towels changed twice during our visit which was more than enough. Our apartment looked out onto the pool which was lovely. The apartments are about 100 yards from megali beach and about 5-10 minute walk to the main strip. Loads of amazing restaurants would recomend Cappricios! No reception but there are contact numbers but we did not require them, if you want a nice quiet holiday to do as you please and explore these apartments are prefect. There is a small board with all information needed near the first block of apartments when you enter, which tells you your room number and your key is in the door. The canal d'amour is about a 15-20 minute walk down the beach or the main strip and is beautiful sight. we are a 25 year old couple but there where a great mix of ages during our stay which was lovely. we had a lovley relaxing week trying the greek specialties in the local restaurants and lots of local wine! we did not feel the need to venture to the strip apart from for gifts and breakfast would recomend the sea brezze restaurant for that. all in all a wonderful week in a great place with great acccomadation, even if we did have a storm the first bit of rain in 4 and half months. I would highly recomend megali luxuries am positiive we will be back again.

Room Tip: there are studios and mezzanies, we had a mezzanine apartment and enjoyed the extra space. also apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staceyann87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

A clean, modern and well equipped studio including: a fridge with good size freezer; a toaster; a microwave; a two ring hob and a good selection of cutlery and crockery. The ensuite has a walk in shower with proper cubicle, a wash basin with storage cupboard, a hair dryer and a toilet. Modern clean and of a high standard. All the windows and the patio doors have mosquito nets. The air conditioning is a must in the summer months and good value at 5 euros a day. The studio was cleaned 3 times in the week with clean towels also.
The fresh water pool was magnificent, so clean and peaceful. No bar or restaurant just a quiet pool with sun loungers and umbrellas. Enough for all guests so no need to worry about not getting one. The Megali Luxuries does not have a reception but the owner or his son or both visit everyday to make sure you are enjoying your stay. If you encounter any problems you can call the owner on the number provided.
For me the free wifi was a definite bonus perfect for sending emails home.
At this time of the year the mosquitoes are rampant so do get an anti mosquito plug in. It worked really well and we were not bitten again.
Although the Megali is quiet it is less than a 10 minute stroll to the Sidari strip where you will find a good selection of Tavernas, bars, shops, supermarkets etc. Here you will also find a doctors and chemist. But there are also a quieter selection of Tavernas only 4 mins walk away which run adjacent to the sandy beach. The sea remains shallow and slopes gently which is great for children.
There are a selection of water sports available at the main beach including pedaloes, water skiing, boat hire, para gliding and riding the waves on a inflatable.
It is possible for two people to eat out for about 20 euros per evening meal (A main dish and a drink each).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dollhousekitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I normally take a holiday to one of the Greek Islands every year, and I have to say this is the cleanest, tidiest and most USEFUL apartment we have every stayed in. We stayed in a maisonette, which has the bedroom on a mezzanine up a spiral staircase. We arrived in the middle of the night (luckily had read tripadvisor reviews) and you have to just take a walk around to find a room with the key in the door. The place was absolutely spotless, and in such good condition. Can't believe the kitchen was actually fully functional (microwave, fridge/freezer, toaster,toastie maker!) and with crockery, pots and pans that meant you could actually SELF CATER. This is very rare in Greece to have all these amenities. Air con 35 euro/week which was well spent as temps were in the high 30's. Use of the safe is free, which again is rare in Greece. As stated in previous reviews there are shutters on the patio doors which give extra peace of mind. Pool area clean and quiet, with plenty of sunbeds for everyone. It is a short walk onto the main strip of Sidari which is (be warned) VERY BRITISH, which we were a bit disappointed with, beautiful walk along the Megali Beach Road. There is a small strip of beach a long here, albeit not a very nice one, we preferred to walk the length of the strip and relax on and beaches around the Canal D'Amour where the waters are so clear and warm. Some people recommended El Greco (a greek restaurant on the beach road) but my husband and I weren't that impressed. The food was 'fine' but that's all I have to say, there was nothing special about it. We ate at The Family Restaurant at the far end of the strip, whch was LOVELY we ate pork and lamb off the spit, and much preferred this traditional greek taverna to a lot of places on the strip which are a little spoilt by the loud music from all the bars (just so you know my husband and I are only 25 so it's not just me being age biased).

One thing that we were disappointed with was Fanis (the owner.) We went into his bar 2 days before our departure to ask that as our flight wasn't until 2am in the morning, and check out is 12 midday, was there anyway we could pay extra to either a)keep our room a little longer or b)use another room just to have a shower. He said that although we couldn't keep our room, that ofcourse we could use another, just to give the cleaner some extra money for having to clean it again. We thought this was a fair deal, and he said he would see us on the morning of departure to let us know which room we could use. So Monday morning comes, no sign of Fanis, instead he sends his cleaner to tell us that we need to vacate at 12 as planned and no sorry that there weren't any other rooms we could use (GREAT!) So 12 midday we were shipped out, and spent the day by the poolside, which is not such a bad thing, but bear in mind there is no poolside toilet etc.... And not being able to have a shower after spending 10hrs in the sun sat by the pool we felt a little bit grotty and annoyed, especially when we noticed that at least one or more of the apartments was still empty. Late flights in Greece are very common in the summer months, and at other islands we have stayed we have at least been offered a room to use to shower in.

Overall though, I would fully recommend these apartments, I can't fault them. Sidari, well lets just say if you are looking for tradiational Greece, then don't come, but there is plenty to do, plnety of places to eat, and yes it is cheap. For a week chilling in the sun doing not a lot (which is what we intended) it is absolutely fine :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have been self catering in the Greek Islands many times, but these studios and apartments are by far the best we have stayed in. The location is peaceful without being remote and they are modern and well equipped. We have never had a fridge freezer or a microwave before and only occasionally a toaster and these are the first to offer a hairdryer too! It is not one of those Hotel-type hairdryers that are fixed on the wall in the bathroon either! It made me annoyed that I brought my travel hairdryer, as it was a full sized Babyliss one, similar to the one I use at home!! Ladies please note - you could pack another pair of shoes instead!! The swimming pool was just a stone's throw from our studio and there were plenty of sunbeds for everyone. We particularly liked the security at these apartments as there was a safe and shutters to secure the front patio doors. We were delighted with our stay at the Megali Luxuries and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VodkaCola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidari hotels
1.4 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Sidari
249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Sidari
452 reviews
1.0 mi away
Olga Apartments
Olga Apartments
#12 of 41 in Sidari
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Smartline Mimosa Hotel
Smartline Mimosa Hotel
#10 of 41 in Sidari
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stema
Stema
#5 of 41 in Sidari
298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megali Luxuries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megali Luxuries

Property: Megali Luxuries
Address: Megali Beach area, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Megali Luxuries 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Megali Luxuries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megali Luxuries Hotel Sidari
Megali Luxuries Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing