We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOLIDAY NO:4”
Review of Megali Luxuries

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Megali Luxuries
Ranked #11 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Sidari
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We ended our first review (May 2009), by saying we will be back.
Well, we have been every year since!!!!!!!!

We visited this year 14th May to 28th May, and stand by everything in our first review.
Fanis the owner is still the nicest guy you could hope to meet!!!!
We are missing him already!!!
Megali Luxuries are still the best.

We spent many evenings in his bar, Seriani, which attracts a great mix of locals and tourists from the Priest to us!
Sokrates the friendly barman has some good jokes!!!

Happy Holidays is the biggest and best gift shop.

Sunset, Venezia and Alecos are great places to eat.

Lookout for Terrapins in the ditches.

Only downer was poorer weather this year, but we still swam in the pool most days.

WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Only 10 rooms, all have pool view, you can request double or twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shell5Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 100 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

Visited Megali Luxuries early October for 7 nights after much discussion and research.
We were looking for somewhere just outside of the resort centre which would be quiet, and comfortable. Megali ticked all the boxes.
There was a small amount of confusion when we arrived at the complex as there is no reception desk so we weren't sure which room was ours however one of the other guests directed us to a sheet of check in-s which is updated daily and directs you to your room. Easy.
We were completely chuffed with our studio apartment, it was immaculately clean, spacious, all mod cons, a very nice little terrace which looked onto the hills and the pool area. Many a evening was spent chilling on the terrace playing cards getting bitten by the mosquitos.
I was a little dissapointed with the selection of channels on the flat screen tv, we could only receive cnn, shopping channels and bbc news. It would be nice if this could be slighly updated. However, when we wanted to watch something on tv we didn't have to venture too far, there is a hotel 3 minites up the road which had a massive screen and very cheap drinks. Although the property doesn't have bar or restaurant facilities we found it to be very comfortable and because of what is nearby, it isn't a problem at all.
Overall, we found Megali Luxuries to be good value for money, comfortable, relaxing and a little gem of Sidari.

Room Tip: Studio's are perfectly adequate size for couples but some are larger than others so if you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chefgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

just back after 1 week at these apartments, just wish i had booked 2 weeks instead! Lovely apartments, nice and clean, cleaner came every other day, as there are only 9 apartments on the complex, you will often find you have the use of the pool all to yourself. Only a 5 min stroll to the nearest bar, and i must recomend the Dorothea restaurant for the nicest food, but ALL the restaurants were lovely. Am looking to book again for next year, i liked it so much.
The owner has a bar in town and is really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kmg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

There was my wife and I ( mature!!) and our 2 sons (16 and 18) We had one apartment, they had another and it was spot on. The accommodation is clean, really well maintained, modern with a fab maid service every 2 days. Free WIFI made the boys' holiday. The pool area was also well maintained and for the most part very quiet.
As a base it was perfect. Sidari town centre is a 10 min slow walk and has everything you need. Good food, well stocked supermarkets and after midnight, when the clubs get going, Megali is far enough out not to be disturbed but close enough for the lads to stagger home when they have had enough fun. And it's very family friendly.
The beach is less than three minutes away but the pool was our preferred option.

Things to be aware of:
The Cosmos customer service was truly awful with people being off-loaded in the early hours being told "It's down there....." at which point the coach drove off leaving them to figure things out for themselves. Very upsetting for those with young children. The rep is clearly completely over-whelmed - no doubt the result of Cosmos cutting costs and staff numbers.
There are mosquitoes in the evening. Spray well!
Don't get into a disagreement with the owners of Jim's Mopeds. They are not very nice people.

Would we go back? Absolutely without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here for two weeks from 23/07/11 to 06/08/11.
The apartments are very clean and kept to a very high standard, with most home comforts, e.g. kettle, toaster, microwave, two ring hob, TV, and hairdryer.
Swimming Pool and surrounding area are also well maintained with regular maintenance and cleaning of the pool. There are plenty of sun loungers around the pool with parasols. It was also nice to see that no-one bagged a sun lounger with their towels early in the morning!
There was a good community spirit with fellow guests which created a nice atmosphere.
The restaurants we found to be the best were El Greco which is a 5 minute walk from the apartments, and the Three Little Pigs on the main strip (this was great for Greek Fire Dancing, etc).
Our little boy has talked about nothing else since coming home and misses the pool.
We recommend these apartments for couples, and families for a relaxing and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thompsons29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Just returned from 2 weeks in Sidari. Megali Luxuries are in a great location, very quiet where they are but only 10 minute walk to the lively part of Sidari. There are plenty of quieter bars & restaurants without lively entertainment a few minutes walk away & several supermarkets. The apartments are very clean and the cleaner comes in every couple of days. The pool is lovely, also nice & clean & there are plenty of loungers. You will be charged extra for air conditioning - 5 euros per night unless you enlist the help of a stool & a coat hanger ....... Try 'El Greco' restaurant near by, very good food & local wine at reasonable prices. Their homemade chocolate cake is lovely!! I didn't give it a 5 purely because they could make the grounds more appealing - it's a bit lacking in plants but I'm being a bit picky! Would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank katep35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Had a relaxing holiday at the Megali Luxuries. We had a maisonette apartment with mezzanine bedroom. Very clean- cleaner came in every other day. Cotton sheets and towels provided. Complimentary tea/coffee/water on arrival. Air conditioning was extra 5 euro per day-worth it. Found bed quite hard but that's personal choice. Flat screen TV with satellite. All windows had fly-screens and french window had electronic shutters. nice seating & table outside. Washing line handy for drying out swimming gear. The swimming pool was great. There were 2 loungers and an umbrella for each of the 10 apartments. Very quiet area but only a 5 minute walk from the main street. Got bitten terribly by mosquitoes even with plug-in/wrist bands/sprays. Keep the screens closed all day and especially at dusk. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireKitty45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.8 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#1 of 39 in Sidari
550 reviews
1 mi away
Olga Apartments
Olga Apartments
#19 of 39 in Sidari
261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Star Hotel
Beach Star Hotel
#18 of 39 in Sidari
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stemma Hotel
Stemma Hotel
#7 of 39 in Sidari
333 reviews
1.5 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megali Luxuries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megali Luxuries

Address: Sidari 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Sidari
Price Range: $27 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Megali Luxuries 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Megali Luxuries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megali Luxuries Hotel Sidari
Megali Luxuries Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing