We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never tray this one.”
Review of Polyxeni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Polyxeni Hotel
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well in the pictures posted on the Internet the hotel looks reasonable but in reality is a 1 star hotel.
I was for one week there with other 8 friends, and we had 4 rooms in total, the agency that sold the voucher Delta Best Tourism ( never trust them) sad that it will be a very good hotel and we will have lots of quality time there, but it wasn't like that.
We arrived late at night, the hotel seams OK on outside but when we entered the room a power full smell hit us, that we couldn't stay in the rooms,we had to open the windows and for 30 min we stay outside waiting for the smell to go away, in all the rooms the smell was the same, the balcony door was broken,someone came fixed for the moment but when we try to close the door in the morning did't work ,the rust was every where were metal was present, all the rooms have in a small part of the room a kitchen but you can't touch anything there if you want to remain healthy, the microwave was dirty, the pans same think, the cabinets all smelly, I open the closet to put some shirts there there was no way to do that, the TV has 4-5 channels only Greece and very small TV, you need glasses to see from the bed, the towels were dirty, in the bathroom you don't receive nothing only a toilet paper for a week, the come to "clean " the room every 2 days and that includes making the bed and sweep the floor.
Very far from the beach and from the center .
I don't recommend this hotel to any one and also for the Romanian people don't trust Delta Best Tourism.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mihai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Whilst on first appearances (in the dark) the accommodation appeared to represent reasonable value for the 3* promised, there were many problems which led us to feel it should not be rated thus, if offered at all:

The holiday was advertised as self catering and, as such, one would expect to be able to prepare one’s own meals within the accommodation. However, the kitchen equipment supplied consisted of just one very large saucepan and one frying pan scratched so badly as to be unfit for use. When requesting an alternative we were offered a frying pan (from the owner's own kitchen) in even worse condition. No tin opener was provided. Other utensils and crockery were extremely limited. This made it virtually impossible to prepare our own food and led to us having to buy meals out for which we had not budgeted.

Levels of cleanliness here were DISGUSTING, as shown in my photos:

The bathroom had extensive mildew on the walls and ceiling.
All kitchen equipment had to be cleaned before use.
We found the skin of a dead lizard beneath one of the beds.
The dish drainer was crawling with small worm-like wriggling creatures.
There were smears of other people’s blood on the walls and light shades where mosquitoes had been splattered and never cleaned – not attractive above your bed!
The fridge was in a revolting condition with rancid water in the egg box, extensive mould and dirt stains and rusted areas. The freezer compartment door was missing and the interior door box was broken. When we complained about this to the proprietor, he promised to supply a new fridge the following day. This never materialised.
The pillows were heavily stained with mildew.
The state of the cleaner’s mop was so disgusting that we asked him not to use it in our room. Each day when the cleaner had finished his rounds I would go to find his cleaning materials and clean the room myself. At least that way, we knew it was clean.
The bath was so stained that we didn’t want to use it but had little choice. The filler mechanism for the bath was broken and therefore the bath had to be filled with the shower hose.
The balcony was not cleaned at all during our 2 week stay (except by me). Unfortunately a resident kitten was suffering from diarrhoea which was soon all over our table, chairs and floor. As you can imagine, this wasn't somewhere you'd want to relax with an evening glass of wine!

Security was also an issue:
On arrival having travelled all day we found that the sliding double glazed door to the balcony from the room would not lock and asked for this to be immediately remedied since we were waiting to go out to eat. Having waited in vain for 2 hours we made a second request and the fault was eventually rectified after a further 2 hours.

We were supplied with just one key for the room. Since my partner and myself do not always go out together, we requested a second key, which we were promised would be supplied the following day. This was never provided despite several further requests.

On at least 4 occasions during our 14 night stay, no hot water was available for an evening shower. When we complained on one occasion to the proprietor, we were told that he would turn on the hot water and we could expect it ready after 20 minutes. Having waited for over an hour and a half we returned to speak to the proprietor, only to be told that he had difficulty in affording the petrol necessary to heat the water. We have travelled extensively in the past and can understand perfectly well if there is a power cut causing lack of supply. However, it seems nothing less than negligent to allow a generator to run out of petrol. We were then told by Crock'o'Pis in a threatening manner to stop speaking about it and did not feel able to discuss the matter further. As a result, we were made to feel uncomfortable for our remaining stay at the hotel.

Our over-riding feeling was that the owners couldn't care less about the standards of their accommodation. We've stayed at many 1* properties around Europe which beat the Poxyleni hands down. Wouldn't dream of returning there.

In terms of location, be prepared to do plenty of walking. The town and beach are a good twenty minutes' walk away and the nearest shop 7-8 minutes' walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 82EmmaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have just had a lovely chilled out holiday at the polyxeni. Lovely pool that's never too busy with people booking beds at silly o'clock! The food at the bar is fantastic. It's brought to the bar from Face taverna, which serves gorgeous Greek food and you must try the ouzo that's made by the owner.
The rooms are basic but clean, the cleaners are lovely and friendly. The staff are always friendly and helpful.
If you want a peaceful holiday away from the rabble of the town this is where to come, the only noise is the cockerel early morning.
We've all had a fantastic holiday, thanks Tula and Co!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mini1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

don't be fooled by the pictures you see of the reception/pool area of this place because behind this is the cell block. the only difference though is cell blocks are cleaner.how they have the nerve to call this a hotel we will never know ? at best its a hostel. we have been visiting Greece and corfu over the last 12 years and we just know not to expect to much. what we have allways found are clean appartments and nice people. not here the cleaning is dire the place is in dire need of a major overhaul and so is the owner .even the pool area which looks nice is in need of work, the steps are coming away the safety rails around the childrens pool had gaffer tape holding them. in a two week stay our sheets were changed once and that was after we had pestered the owner to do something. the rooms were not cleaned every day. we spent most of our time as did some other families at the Amadeus pool and bar where their was a decent pool and food and nice staff on hand. other guests from poxyeni told us of their encounters with pmt toula and the state of the appartments and thought it best not to complain and just sleep and shower at the place.in my daughters room. the smoke alarm started bleeping we asked if it could be looked at as it kept the children awake. they took it away but it never came back. in the same apartment the toilet started leaking and failed to flush. they silicone it messed with it and from the second day until we left it still didn't work. the window locks were brokenholes in doors mould in every room, then my mobile phone went missing. no fuss or accusations were made and it was mentioned to peggy Mitchel(toula) after she came upafter I had contacted the holiday company about the state of the place.she went of like a mad woman and said im going to report it to the police in which I replied fine as I had records showing I had contacted the phone provider to have it blocked. the police never did show.they don't do food here or icecream. if you or your kids want anything then its 400 metres down the road to the Amadeus. as in Greece your not allowed to bring anything in to the pool area, so as they don't provide anything you have no choice but to treck down the road to the Amadeus which I must say are far superior. take a look at the photos. after we complained about no linen change we stripped the beds and piled the sheets outside this is when we found the horror of mouldy pillows and mattresses.nothing was done about these. all in all a run down prison is how best to describe this place with a controlling owner. the people who have put the review and excellent holiday destination and I think I know who you are as you spent most of the time sitting with the owner(sad). well we have come to our own conclusion as to why your review is so good. please don't waste your money on this place their is nothing their spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clive b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I am writing this due to reading the previous review. I am appalled with their review which is totally incorrect as we were there at the same time and there grievance seems to be based on being told not to bring their own beer to the pool area. Which is normal for any accommodation.
We have stopped at Polyxeni for 3years and as always the hospitality is excellent and the team can not do enough for you. They make you feel part of the family. The rooms are very spacious,cleaned daily and maintained.
We have been to Greece for 30 years and polyexni is one of best apartments we have stayed in.

Look forward to seeing you soon

Your extended family

The Pavitt's

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polyexnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

was treated as part of the family and had some great laughs !!..thankyou prokopis tulla and your lovely family for taking care of us xx..tulla your tuna salata was to die for... yummy....sad to leave but will see you all again..thanks again xx

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debs169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great people and a great pool. Yes, the rooms are basic, but you are made to feel like family and that's worth more than a room that you don't spend any time in. The resort is perfect for both families and teenagers; the main Sidari strip is about 15 mins walk away, but the hotel is quietly situated.

There are some excellent hotels and restaurants very close by; namely: First Choice - Sunshine (not to be confused with the Sunshine Resort) and the Corfu Parmar. The people here will make you feel just as welcome, but my family has grown up at Polyxeni and they keep asking to go back. As long as the kids are happy, so am I!

PS: Kids are 22, 19,17, 14 and 12 and we've been there for the last 4 years.

You are assured of a kind welcome by Tula, Tasos and Prokopis.

Room Tip: Rooms are basis and not great if you want to cook family meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
297 reviews
0 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0 mi away
Panorama Sidari
Panorama Sidari
#16 of 39 in Sidari
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
0 mi away
Eleni Family Apartments
Eleni Family Apartments
#28 of 39 in Sidari
25 reviews
0 mi away
Christakis Hotel
Christakis Hotel
#5 of 72 in Sidari
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polyxeni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polyxeni Hotel

Address: | Melitsa, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Price Range: $35 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Polyxeni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polyxeni Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing