We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our stay at hotel polyxeni sadari”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Polyxeni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Polyxeni Hotel
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Sidari
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“our stay at hotel polyxeni sadari”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

we ll go again next year.our stay there was brilliant.we stayed there from 16th september until the 24th september 2011.very friendly staff and toula works very hard .they go out there way to make sure you enjoy your stay.always clean rooms fresh towels.emptied room bins every day.pool was nice and clean what more could you ask for.hotel night bar was good well stocked .idealy situated you had quiet when you wanted and a short walk away was the beach and bars and shops,and restuants.hpoe to see all the staff next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryand julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
19
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We arrived at the hotel at lunchtime. We got off teh bus and there was no-one there to greet us so we had to ask holidaymakers around the pool where to go. we found reception and the lady was not very welcoming at all. we were shown our rooms and they only offered to help with the cases when my son fell over....

the studio looked ok on first glance. Two beds upstairs and two downstairs which was a bit odd a sofa bed would have been more appropriate as you had no where to sit. On further inspection the toilet didnt work and the hole in the floor was filthy and very smelly. No propere shower u had to hold it over your head.

The oven was disgusting and we (a family of 4) had 3 cups, glasses, plates knives and forks (and even pation chairs.)... and no saucepan to cook in!!! when we asked for these we got them but the woman wasnt happy about it. The mattresses were stained and filthy. The sheets were never changed to my knowledge as my son cut his arm and they never replaced the sheet instead turning it round so the blood stain was at the bottom of the bed!!! .I even asked for a clean sheet and was met with verbal abuse from the woman in front of everyone by the pool including my children!! On the rare occasion that they made the beds they did the ones downstairs and didnt venture upstairs. Not impressed at all. The bins were not emptied and I ended up taking our rubbish down to reception as the room stank and asking them where the rubbish had to go to be told i should take it over the road to the communal bin ..... do you think I did that ....NO... I left it in reception.

The cockerals woke us up very early each day and on our last night two guests were allowed to continue an enormous row, through the night and when we tried to get help as we were concerned by this all staff were in bed.

We would NEVER stay here again and would definetly not recommend it to anyone... I have been to Greece masny times and have nefver been mande to feel more unwelcome ever, extremely disappointing.

anyone who says this is a good hotel is wrong.

Room Tip: No sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samd246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sidari hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

stayed here from the 12th to 20th aug got there at 6.30 in morning was shown to our rooms what a disappointment. Had a few hours sleep only to be woken up by the cockerals crowing. Pool looks quite big on the photos we thought it was very small so walked to the beaches there was two very small ones and one bigger one the sea was like blackpools sea very dirty. got back to hotel to have shower what a joke we found it better to wash your hair over the bath first then stand in the bath with the hand held shower which only reached your waist to wash your body. the floor was drenched when you got out the bath and smelt dirty. towels was changed once in a weeks stay bins emptied every day sheets on the bed was not changed once. my husband was bitten by what we thought was mosquitos but when he pulled the sheet of the bed we was shocked to see the state of the mattress stains and dirt and it stunk of urine we think it was more bed bugs that bit him. since we have returned home they have cleared up. Paid good money to stay here will not be returning.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChanelleLiane_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We arrived at the Polyxeni at 5am on a saturday morning and were greeted and given our room keys, no mention of air conditioning or controls etc. It turns out Thomas Cook didn't tell us that we had to pay extra for air conditioning, so we were not very happy but it was all sorted out in the end. Watch out for the amount that is being charged, as after asking 3 times in 2 days about the charges they changed amount and varied considerably in price!
The rooms were adequate, fairly spacious up and down, though there was a bedroom upstairs and the kitchen diner also had 2 beds in it! Would have preferred a sofa or somewhere to sit!
The rooms were not particularly clean to begin with and after our 2 week stay, they still were not cleaned so the floors were a bit minging! The toilet was leaking some sort of slime and after 2 weeks had some sort of worms living in it...which was not nice! It was noted that the cleaning equipment consisted of a well used, manky mop and bucket and a spray bottle.Thankfully the waste bin in the bathroom was emptied daily, however when we ran out of toilet roll (3 times) it was not replaced, even though whoever emptied the bin must have seen it as it was about 3 inches above the bin. I had to go down to reception and ask for toilet roll to be put into the room and even then it was not done, so I had to ask again.
The clean sheets were put onto the floor out side the rooms, so how clean they were when they reached the beds was debatable!
We did mention to the lady owner and the holiday rep that neither of the patio doors locked, they said they would fix them but after numerous requests they still were not sorted, we had to take to wedging the doors shut with a chair and with a four year old and 2 balconies it was a worry to say the least!
You will receive a complementary bottle of water in your fridge when you arrive, make sure its not already been opened with some missing as ours was!
The hot water was infrequent and the shower was not great, it was at waist height and if you tried to get under it in the bath (which there was no plug!) you would never fit! I am a small size and had problems fitting in the bath!!
It states that the hotel is 10 mins walk from the centre, if you walk fairly fast it probably is but it took us a good 20mins. Some lovely bars and restaurants not far from the hotel, hawaii restaurant and planet bar are great! If you want to book trips vlasseros with the big red coaches are the best by far, air conditioned coaches and great trips and guides!

It is in a rural location so be wary of the cockerels crowing fairly early in the morning and the dogs barking at varying hours day and night!

For the amount of money we spent to go on holiday we would have expected a higher standard, even slightly higher would have been good!

Room Tip: There is no pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doyley17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Family run hotel, very friendly and helpful. Good size pool and bar/eating area. 5 min walk to fantastic beaches,bars and restaurants.Not in the main strip but only a short walk. Ideal for those who dont want to be in the middle of the nightclubs. Have stayed at the Polyxeni 5 times. A big thank you to Prokopis, Tula, Tassos and all the family for another great holiday. see you all in August.
Dave(scouse) and Julie OD

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff ( 5am ) and shown to our appartement ,which was clean and more than expected.set over two floors 2 balconies well equipped.

Maid service very good , regular supply of clean towels, bins emptied every day,

Clean tidy pool area , large inviting pool, plenty of sun loungers and parasols, bar area open 9am till late, food served daily, with good selection of meals on offer,

The staff were lovely , this is a famliy run business and provide a warm friendly atmostphere at all times. Nothing is to much trouble.

we would definately stay again and will be returning to the Polyxeni Hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My sister & I were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Polyxeni Hotel. For a two star rated hotel the accommodation was spacious & well equipped. Situated about ten - fifteen minutes walk from the main strip of Sidari it was close enough to the busier areas of the town, yet far enough away to enjoy a good nights sleep (if you don't mind the crowing of cockerels)!
The staff were friendly & welcoming. The pool area was well kept & clean, & food was available from the bar. The only fault with the accommodation was the shower, which had to be held by hand, however that was a minor inconvenience in an otherwise well equipped maisonette.
The town itself has a variety of restaurants to suit most people. Look for one set off the main strip for a more authentic Greek experience.
There are lots of small supermarkets that are well stocked. Make sure you buy /bring some mosquito repellent spray (DEET) for an evening as they can be a menace if you are susceptible.
There is a bus service that is fairly reliable, it will take you to most places on the island at a very reasonable price.
Overall I think the Polyxeni offers great value & deserves a higher star rating.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
0.6 mi away
Sidari Beach Hotel
Sidari Beach Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Ioannis
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domenico Hotel
Domenico Hotel
#16 of 41 in Sidari
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Sidari
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Potamos Apartments
Potamos Apartments
#31 of 41 in Sidari
19 reviews
1.4 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#3 of 41 in Sidari
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smartline Mimosa Hotel
Smartline Mimosa Hotel
#10 of 41 in Sidari
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polyxeni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polyxeni Hotel

Property: Polyxeni Hotel
Address: Peroulades, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Polyxeni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polyxeni Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing