We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely complex with great pool, but some faults”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Damia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Damia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely complex with great pool, but some faults”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

My wife & I have just returned from a fortnights stay at Damias Apartments. I must say firstly that the complex is very nice with great pool and water very warm. The surrounding areas are really nice with lovely flowers, plants bordering the pool which Damia's father takes pride in. We had a studio apartment which was enough for or needs but bathrooms need updating in the near future. It's location is a bit out the way and a 20 min walk which could get a bit tedious, a car is advised.
On the down side we found the bar quite expensive a whilst the beer is 2.5 euro the same applies to a can of coke or sprite which is far too much. Only 80 cents in the supermarket. We enquired about air conditioning but it was €10.00 per night so did without. Couldn't believe air conditioning cost that much and certainly didn't cost that much in other apartments we saw. You can hire fans in Sidari for €10.00 a week which does the job. Overall a nice holiday and Damias pool area must be one of the best in Sidari. The Greeks say it's the quietest it's been for many years, restaurants empty, places closing down. Eating out is still good value and a pint in Sidari cost approx €.2.00 which is cheaper than Britain. Full breakfasts everwhere for €3.50. Sidari is ok but full of loud music at night so beware. Corfu itself is nice but nowhere near as nice as Skiathos. Hope you find the reveiw helpful.

Mr & Mrs Green

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinnyj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    32
    16
    6
    13
See reviews for
94
91
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Basically i went to Damias hotel for a week of relaxiation and that is what i got, the first night when we arrived we werent greeted properly due to our flight being delayed another fault from our airline, then the agency we booked with hadnt sent our vouchers therefore there was no record of us staying at the hotel, so damia was rang and she put us into a room and to get something sorted the next day, when we met her we noticed that she wasnt at all grump from what people said in recent reviews she was just wonderful she let us stay there even though she didnt need to and put us into a better room!, after that our stay was great with great food that damia cooked herself and always made us feel welcomed, p.s try the club sandwhichs or chicken salad rolls yum, the prices were reasonable also the drink 2.50 euros for a pint of beer which they freeze their glasses to make it even colder, the pool is excellent and also very very clean! it was quite cool at night though damia also gave my girlfriend a light cardigan to keep her warm LOL dimitri damias soon was a gentleman and would always have a chat with you while sitting at the bar and was always working hard to provide great service to us and i just wish to give some credit to him, overall i loved my stay at the hotel and would most definitly return sometime.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish_Boy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed at the Damia Hotel in end June 2010. We were warmly greeted by Damia and her oldest son, she also has 2 twin boys, and a 3 yr old in all a lovely family, plus lidea the cutest dog.
The Pool must be one of the best in Sidari, spotlessly clean, no towels on sunbeds, it was warm, not too busy at times. There is a small childrens pool which is about a 1 foot deep our 2 year old enjoyed this and he was the only baby in the pool so didnt get splashed too much. There is a small separate playground which consists of a few swings and slide, seesaw and a roundabout.
The apartments were spacious and clean, probably 4 * by Greek standards and were cleaned regularly.
I would definitely recommend the hotel, it is small and friendly, we were given 5 star service by the whole family, the grampa is very funny and kind.
We ate a couple of snacks at the hotel, the pizza was lovely,
nothing was too much trouble, we even ate in the bar
One night our two year old was walking by the pool with our 15 year old son, when he slipped in and sank down, our son pulled im out, the barman and Damia's family friend came rushing over to see he was ok, and brought him a drink for free.
There was greek dancing one night which was enjoyable, the walk into town is 20 mins, we used walk down and taxi back for an evening meal. I recommend Sea Breeze in Sidari.
Damia saw us back on the bus and waved us goodbye which was very nice. The guests were a nice mix, of young couples, old couples and families. Sidari beach is nice, but the resort is very seaside resort full of tacky shops and bars which is a shame, these were quieter than normal due to the recession.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champagneshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

We booked this hotel through jet2.com. Arrived in the early hours of the morning and Damia the owner was there to show us our rooms. The rooms are just right in size and all rooms have balconys over the pool area. They are cleaned everyday and towels changed twice a week. Pool is a good size very clean with plenty of sun beds. No need to place towels on in order to save you place, in fact that did not happen at all on our stay.

The bar area, dinning and lounge areas are all very welcoming, if you want a lazy holiday this is the place to do it everyone is very friendly and chilled out. Food looks good although we did not eat there much only had breakfast once and a snack, but everyone i spoke to enjoyed the food. The milk shakes are the best and you must have at least one whilst your there. Sidari is a bit of a walk we did it a couple of times but decided to hire a car and go see the rest of the island. Plenty to see in the area a car is a good idea if only for a few days. plenty of places to eat and we never had a bad meal.

I would go back if i was to holiday in Corfu again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

We ended up at Damias due to our original booking being altered and the accommodation no longer available. We think now we definitely got the better deal!!

The accommodation is, as others have said about a 20 minute walk to Sidari. When we were looking for the accommodation in our car form the airport I actually looked for signs for Peroulades out of Sidari and you can't go wrong. Also ther is a petrol station if you turn right out of Damia's, right at the junction then immediatley right again a few hundred metres up this road. It was open on Sundays too.

The hotel was very clean. Damia was welcoming and showed us to the room herself. I have stayed in many different self catering places in the Greek Isles and this was defintiely the best, particualry when you consider the price we paid which I think was £115 for a week for 2 of us!!!

Accommodation in Greece does tend to be more basic than other countries and I think people who are used to other places can be disappointed, hence i tend to compare like with like rather than say the Canaries with Greece for example.

The room was ideally sized for two of us. The accommodation had a very good sized fridge as well as kettle, toaster and 2 ring hob. Only comment I could say is that there wasn't a sharp knife to cut bread/melon with etc and another set of glasses would have been handy. Just minor points. We didn't have air con but by the last day we both agreed you couldn't stay any longer without getting it. Mozzies - only saw a couple in the room during the whole week.

The pool area was absolutely spotless with lots of sunbeds and the pool was a really good size. There is a childrens play area and pool.

The bar area has a pool table and you can eat here as well as at the 'restaurant' bit overlookign the pool. We had lunch once and it was very good.....fresh cooked baguette and chicken cooked to order. Drinks were reasonable at 2.5euros for a large draught beer.

We had breakfast once which again was good. Yes you could get it cheaper in Sidari but we only ate out for breakfast once and this was due to us leaving that morning so didn't want any bother!

We found all the staff friendly and approachable. We spent a lot of time away from the hotel as we had a car for the week but did stop off for the odd beer after our day out and in no way found that becasue we weren't spending a lot of money that we were treated indifferently.

There is a car park next to the hotel if yu do have a car and there is a 'library' or book swap available in reception.

The hotel is ideal if you want somewhere that is quiet and away from the business of Sidari.....although Sidari wasn't that busy to be honest. I would defintiely advise getting a car if you can as there are some fantastic places to visit on the Island.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squirrelchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
0.8 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Sidari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#2 of 41 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
36.4 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
13.2 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
20.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damia Hotel

Property: Damia Hotel
Address: Sidari Main, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
#5 Family Hotel in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Damia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a FREE-form pool and restaurant, Hotel Damia is 1 km from a beach in the coastal village of Sidari. It offers self-catered accommodation with FREE Wi-Fi and terrace or balcony overlooking the pool and the forest. Canal d' Amour Beach is 800 metres away. A kitchenette with an electric kettle, fridge and coffee/tea facilities is included in all the air-conditioned studios. The bathroom is stocked with free toiletries and a hairdryer. They offer either a garden, pool or mountain views. A choice of a Continental or a Full English breakfast is offered every morning in the bright dining area. The property includes a poolside snack bar and bar for quick meals and refreshments. Kids can enjoy their own paddling pool and playground. Free BBQ facilities are provided. A bus stop is located 100 metres from the property. Private parking can be found on site at no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damia Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing