We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second visit”
Review of Damia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Damia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“second visit”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

we went to Damias this time last year and we are due to return 31/8/12 we found Damia friendly helpfull and all the negative reviews are a little unjust as why would we return again? The hotel may be a little out the way but hey the peace is great !! even with our grandaughter running amock!! there are great restuarants just a stroll away and plenty of nightlife for the younguns on the strip all in all a great place !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    32
    16
    7
    13
See reviews for
98
98
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from damias, when we arrived Damia greete us with a big smile and and was very welcoming, & after reading all the awful reviews I was quite surprised, to us she seemed nice, that was te last time we spoke to we throughout the week until the evening before we left, when she drunkenly told us when our transfer was?!? We had a great holiday but that was down to the great restruanta in sidari and our own company,
Yes te hotel has a big pool and lots of sun loungers, but I expect thy of any holiday to be honest, I wasn't overt disappointed with the rooms as, you get what u pay for really, what I will say is that, they need updating, they need real curtains that block the sunlight out so u don't wake up every morning at sunrise, the cupboards where the crockery were was stinking of mould, as we're the plates, the most disappointing thing in the room I goin wa the bathroom...yuk the shower curtain was black at the bottom the shower floor was yellow and the shower only came out of 3 holes probably blocked by mould! Only one light worked in there and all in all was very dirty and in need of a clean and update,
The bar was extortionate, €2.50 for a pint of local beer that I am sure is watered down! €5 for a cocktail, u couldn't take ur own stuff round the pool it had to be from the bar even the water!!!!
The lobby was very nice and very modern and clean which was good, and Damias staff which worked sooo hard and are actually the hotels saving grace, Dimitri (damias son) and Christina were fab!always there to help, and very friendly I don't think I ever seen Christina stop! I hope all the best for Dimitri & Christina!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Another fantastic holiday at Damia's, it was like going back to family. We were looking forward to seeing friends we'd made last year and we weren't disappointed, it felt like we had never been away. Damia and her family were as nice as we remembered and made us feel very welcome. They ensured that we were well looked after and that we had everything we needed. We had some great nights in when she had entertainment laid on, a lot of good laughs but you have to join in to enjoy the fun. On Tuesday nights there were Greek nights and belly dancing, they love getting the audience up to join in with the dancing and the fun. Dimitris, the owners son is the barman and he is a real asset to the hotel, he is great to talk to and have a laugh with. We have only just come back from Damia's and we will definitely be going back again next year, we have already started saving.

If your looking for a good night out then you should definitely try one for the road cocktail bar. This bar has got to be the best bar in sidari, the staff treat you well and make you feel welcome. Maria, is one of the loveliest ladies you will ever meet, magda and napoleon, the owners make you feel welcome and makes it a wonderful place to be. Lisa, the DJ is the best person to give you a laugh and she is an amazing singer. Every time you go there you will get free shots and free fishbowls throughout the night, this year we got a free plate of chips as we stayed there from 9pm til 4am. We will definitely be going back there again next year, just wished we'd have found it last year.

Some of the best restaurants that we went to are the three little pigs, the Greek village, sea breeze, magic wok, Mr chicken, memories, the family, romana's and Damia's. We had lovely meals in these restaurants and we would certainly go to them again next year.

Can't wait to come back next year, looking forward to it already. As soon as we stepped into Damia's, it was like we'd never been away and it was a really good feeling. I can't wait to see Damia and her family again, missing them already.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have recently stayed for 1 week at Damia Hotel with my boyfriend. We had a great holiday and was very happy with the area, in Sidari there is lots to do for couples, families and groups. There are lovely restaurants, our best was 'The Family' and great cocktail bars which have entertainment- Greek nights, karaoke, quiz, drag acts etc. The apartments however were slightly disappointing! When we arrived the reception desk was closed so we were unable to get a safety deposit box straight away or air conditioning meaning we were boiling hot in our room and had to wait until morning. (60euros for air 'con', 10 for safety box) when my boyfriend sat on his bed he almost went to the ground as the bed was broken! In the morning we reported our broken bed to the rep and Damia, but she never offered to fix it and unfortunately throughout the whole holiday it was never fixed. The reception area never had anyone on it so we were unable to complain again. We also have constant bird droppings on our balcony which was not pleasant and although the maids cleaned almost every day, it was still a problem. The pool area however was beautiful! It was cleaned throughly every night and the pool is huge! There are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and we also met return guests. Overall, I would say that we were possibly just unfortunate with our room but there really should be a receptionist available at times. Stay here if you can get it cheap, we still had a great time! If it's pricey, I would say look for another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greecelover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

First of all, the "manager" (damia) was very rude woman. She obviosly has no idea how to make customers welcomed and has no manners. We have stayed in the room above the bar . Music downstairs was so loud that me and my husband couldn't sleep, we even went for a walk, just to kill the time, but when we were back from the walk music still played at the same volume (it was 11pm). We thought it will stop at around 11, but it didn't .I couldn't take it any longer and i went downstairs and politely said to Damia that music is far too loud and its quite late. She just said its friday night and its part of the entertainment for the guests and that Saturday will be the same. Next day I phoned Thomas Cook and asked to be moved to a different room, futher from the bar. But it didn't happen. sad, sad place. Hotel was ok, you can't expect too much from 2* self catering place. Location- on the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank keeper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just got back from a week at Damias, this was our second time there and we had a fantastic time again. Damia and her family are so welcoming and treat you like one of their family. Nothing is too much trouble. Will definately return here again in the very near future. Welldone Damia keep up the good work xx

Room Tip: top floor rooms are by far the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christakisdianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week stay at Damia Hotel and had a brilliant time! We had a 2 bedoom apartment with balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Rooms were clean and very comfortable and the maids came in to tidy nearly every day. Unfortunately wasps and mosquitos are part of a tropical climate but they weren't a problem. Pool was a great size and always enough sunbeds to be had. Damia was very hospitable and helpful. She arranged a wonderful day trip on a boat to 2 islands for us which we thoroughly enjoyed. If you had any questions Damia was always more than willing to help you. Demitri the barman was the perfect host, although he needs to sharpen up on his pool skills (haha). Cristina the barmaid was very pleasant and hard working. There is a restaurant in Damia hotel which provided good quality snacks and meals at reasonable prices. There was entertainment several nights a week - Greek Night, A Hypnotist show which was amazing and karoke. Plenty of excellent places to eat and entertainment in nearby Sidari which is about a 15-20 minute walk on a flat road. If you don't want to walk a taxi costs just 5 euros. Restaurants definatlely worth eating at in Sidari are Memories, Greek Village and The Family Tavern. Damia Hotel has a good repurtation in Sidari because whenever we were asked where we were staying eveyrone would respond by saying it has the best pool in the area and Damia is well known and respected.. Would highly recommend Damia Hotel and we would definately return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
36.4 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
0.3 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#4 of 39 in Sidari
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#3 of 39 in Sidari
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
22.9 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,167 reviews
9.6 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damia Hotel

Property: Damia Hotel
Address: Sidari Main, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
#5 Family Hotel in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Damia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a FREE-form pool and restaurant, Hotel Damia is 1 km from a beach in the coastal village of Sidari. It offers self-catered accommodation with FREE Wi-Fi and terrace or balcony overlooking the pool and the forest. Canal d' Amour Beach is 800 metres away. A kitchenette with an electric kettle, fridge and coffee/tea facilities is included in all the air-conditioned studios. The bathroom is stocked with free toiletries and a hairdryer. They offer either a garden, pool or mountain views. A choice of a Continental or a Full English breakfast is offered every morning in the bright dining area. The property includes a poolside snack bar and bar for quick meals and refreshments. Kids can enjoy their own paddling pool and playground. Free BBQ facilities are provided. A bus stop is located 100 metres from the property. Private parking can be found on site at no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Damia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damia Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing