We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff, hotel a bit tired in places” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zafiris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zafiris Hotel
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
MOLESEY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, hotel a bit tired in places”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We've just returned from two weeks at the Zafiris Hotel, this is the first time we've been to a smaller style hotel and to be honest we didn't know what to expect.

I would recommend organizing a taxi from the airport to the hotel as it reduces the journey considerably, we only had a 40 minute trip as opposed to 90-120 mins by coach.

We stayed in a family room which was over two floors, careful the marble stairs can be lethal when wet, the downstairs was huge which is where our daughters slept and the upstairs was a lovely size as well. Some of the fittings in the bathroom were old and falling apart, the tap was held on barely by sealant only, it worked though so wasn't worth bothering the maintenance people with, however you could only get hot water not cold. The toilet seat didn't fit properly and going by the holes in the wall I think there used to be a shelf at some point. These were minor points as overall we were really pleased with the style of the apartment, we had a view over the front of the restaurant and could see the sea over the top.
No pool towels which is a shame and usually standard in most all inclusives we've been to.
Talking of the pool, the white grids surrounding the pool edge were quite dangerous as they were slightly too small to fit the gap and would frequently collapse when stood on sometimes causing minor cuts to feet. The maintenance guy from around the pool did a good job and was constantly replacing sections and making improvements by painting of an evening when guests had left.

What I would say about this hotel is that the staff were first rate, I believe them to be the best and most attentive of all hotels we have stayed at, and we never go back to the same place twice so have stayed in quite a few.
Trimitrious (excuse the spelling) from the bars and sometimes front of house in the restaurant, was really lovely and very efficient. The restaurant manager was pleasant and attentive. Reception service was superb, one day we mentioned we didn't have enough towels and this was rectified the next day.
The restaurant girls some of whom doubled as bar staff were wonderful, they were pleasant, cheerful and a joy to talk to.

The pool bar due to having a small amount of staff was closed for a couple of hours at lunchtime so you had to go to the restaurant for drinks, annoying if you were in the pool as you would obviously be really wet and have to dry off first. Cocktails had to be paid for, as did tonic water for a gin and tonic which we've haven't had to do before, gin came in the all inclusive package.

It's a shame that there couldn't be a member of staff to open the pool bar in the evening, with just music playing as the Saxophone bar entertainment isn't to everyone's taste, although the soft play area was a major benefit.

A holiday is what you make it and we had a good one, we wouldn't rush back to Sidari as it wasn't our favourite place to visit but this hotel had such good staff it made it a better holiday.

Room Tip: We had family room 408 which was a two storey style and had quite a pleasant view of people coming a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLM68Molesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We would like to thank the customers for their feedback. We do take on board customer comments and wherever possible and address these allowing for budget restrictions.

• Taxis can be booked through First Choice. We understand that a return taxi booked as part of the package or as an amendment to the package will work out less than attempting to do this once in resort.

• We are aware that there are areas of the hotel that require attention. This season a lot of time energy was spent resolving small issues to improve appearance. There is invariably a lot of wear and tear through the season. Despite our best efforts it is not always possible to stay ahead of this.

• We are planning a more serious overhaul of the hotel this winter. This is subject to input from First Choice. This includes the rooms pool area and a revamped bar area. This is a major revamp if it is approved.

• Pool towels add a considerable cost to the seasonal budget and that is why at this time as a 2* hotel we do not provide them. As with everything we keep this under review.

We are pleased to note that overall you had an enjoyable experience at the Zafiris and would thank you from all of the staff for your kind comments.
We hope that one day you return to us. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family

Team Zafiris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    166
    89
    38
    32
See reviews for
368
223
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of May 2013 as a family of 3(myself, partner and 5yr old daughter) and we had a great time. The biggest positive about the Zafiris is without a doubt the staff who are excellent. Dawn was lovely & very helpful on reception as was Martin. The animation team of Danny, Leni(Caitlin misses you), Angi & Larry were excellent and so hard working day & night(I miss darts, archery & even the water polo). Demitris behind the bar was always polite as were George, Aliki, Angela, Katerina(thank you for your help with the bee sting) in the restaurant & Effy and the kitchen staff.
The swimming pool area was really nice and was always clean and never too busy in either the main pool or the kids pool(which is visible from most sunbeds which means you dont have to rush in the mornings to get a sunbed by the kids pool). There are plenty of sunbeds to choose from so never any rush (although there were people who would put towels down as they wanted to have a particular bed!!).
We did not spend much time on the lovely little beach out the back of the hotel as was so nice and relaxed around the pool area but we did spend a bit of time sitting on the sofas overlooking the beach and cliffs. Really nice and the location as a whole is excellent.
The restaurant was always lovely and clean and there was a good selection of food at most meal times, there were a couple of lunches where the choice was not great. The greek night food was excellent as were the theme nights, we also really enjoyed the salads and Tzatsiki (ate so much!!!). We personally would have loved it if it was just greek food every day but we realise this is not possible as there are many brits who just can't live without chicken nuggets and chips for a week or two! The desserts were basic but as long as there was baklava we were happy.
The rooms are fairly basic but this is pretty standard in 2&3 star hotels in Greece from previous experience so no problem. We were in room 303 behind the kitchen which we thought was a great location but have read some reviews of this room which have not been great. Our only problem was the fridge was very loud on the first night so we turned it off as we were not going to use it anyway. We did not have a problem with damp and only occasionly did we have ants in the bathroom but it is a warm country so ants are to be expected (I wonder how many have had ants around their homes in our recent hot weather). There was a crack in the window but it did not seem anything major so we did not complain.The only other thing was the shower curtain could have been a bit bigger to cover all the bath.
We went to the Saxophone bar most nights as our daughter loved the Kid's disco and the soft play but we did not stay late on many nights so we did not experience much of the other entertainment (occasional game of bingo, a bit of the talent night once(nice voice Leni) and one of the men vs women contest nights which was good).
The playground was nice and our daughter used this many times every day and there was a Kid's club which she went to twice in the two weeks(this had nothing to do with the quality of it just that we prefer to spend more time with her on holiday).
As for the alcoholic drinks in the all inclusive that some people are complaining about yes they are local and not the best/strongest but this is common in most places that we have been to before so just get a few extra drinks to make up for it or like anywhere else buy the branded stuff!.
As for negatives and these really are pretty minor the soft drinks do need improving as does the snack selection in the morning(the afternoon one is a bit better) and it would be nice to have ice cream available during the day as part of the all inclusive.
The whole holiday felt like you were part of one big family with all the staff and many of the other guests, never have we met and spoken with so many other nice people at a hotel before on a daily basis whether around the pool, at meal times, in the bar or in the grounds which was really nice and our daughter met and played with lots of really nice kids(particulary Beth, Issy & Lucy).
To summarise I personally was a bit worried that I would want to go home after about 9 or 10 days as this was our first 2 week holiday but after 14 days I was still not ready to go home as we had such a lovely time and we really hope to return in the future.
Thank you to the all the team for making this a great family holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveyboy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We would thank the author for taking the time to write this transparent review.
All feedback is always welcome be it good bad or indifferent.

We always take note of what our customers say and where possible we try to improve.
Since May we have changed the menus in an effort to make them more appealing to a winder group of our guests.

It was a pleasure to meet you and our course you will always be welcome back

With very best regards

Zafiris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasbury-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay with our two sons, daughter in law and three grandchildren and were very impressed with the hotel. Our rooms were clean and spacious and the grounds and pool were excellent. There was plenty of choice of food on offer at all meal times, something for everyone, and you certainly wouldn't go hungry.

All the staff work very hard but still manage to be very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. I hope that this is appreciated by the management who should consider themselves lucky to have such dedicated people working for them.

Pull out driers on the balcony would be nice to dry the towels on but that's only me being picky.

Thanks again for a perfect week

.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue21521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We would like to thank the author for their time and comments.
It's always rewarding for the staff to read that customers had a good holiday.

Nearly all of the staff have a long history with the hotel and owners and their efforts do not go unrecorded.

Again your feedback in appreciated.

Wishing you the very best

The Zafiris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

we stayed at the Zafiris for 1 week in July 2013 with our 2 children aged 17 & 7, and were very impressed.
We normally go 4* but despite this hotel only having an official 2* rating it exceeded all our expectations.
Location: Best position in Sidari on a small hill overlooking the stunning scenery of the Canal D'Amour cliffs & coves.Flight of steps down to the beach. On the edge of town but close enough to all the shops, tavernas, etc.
Hotel: The Saxophone bar is on a main street (max 10 mins walk from main strip) with an ascending drive to the main hotel area with restaurant & pool. It has been described as up hill, but it is barely a hillock. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean, as is the decent sized pool. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool and on the terraces. I never saw any broken ones. The hotel is compact yet feels spacious. And the pool area is just beautiful, with an aspect out to the Albanian mountains.
Food: Our compliments to the Chef (s) !!. Fresh,tasty, well cooked, lots of variety. It is obvious they try so hard to cater for all palates. Personally, I would have liked more Greek dishes. And the poor Restaurant Manager works so hard to keep the buffet tidy & replenished. He has been harshly and unfairly criticised in earlier reviews when he is just trying to ensure a good dining experience for both early & late diners.
Drinks: The only disappointment was no spirits before 2:30 & no tonic for my holiday G & T. But this did not marr the overall holiday experience.
Rooms: We had a 2 bedroom family room in the block next to the Saxaphone bar. Clean & spacious,plenty of storage, powerful hot shower. Yes, I would have liked a room with a balcony & a view, but to be fair we were never in our rooms except to shower & sleep. Reviewers have commented on the window next to the shower where people walk past. Yes, there is - just close the window when in the bathroom - simples
Staff: These are the real stars of the Zafiris. Friendly, efficient, a credit to the hotel.
Animation Team: First Choice watch & learn. The best animation team ever. Encouraging but not forceful. Great with kids. Never laughed so much.
Trips: We went to Aqualand - very clean and suitable for all ages. And we did Corfu Town by boat. Great. Booked through local agent. Much cheaper than First Choice & very prompt.

You wont be disappointed. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
The hotel staff and management would like to thank you for your time in writing this review. It really is encouraging to see that customers can see the effort and energy that goes on both in front of the customer and behind the scenes to give customers a good holiday.

We look forward to one day seeing you return to the hotel.

Wishing you all the best

Zafiris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Having chosen the hotel based on good reveiws we were a bit concerned about a few more recent poor ones. As it turned out the hotel was much better than expected and I would probably grade it 3*. Our room ( 201 ) was clean and spacious with a huge comfy bed and plenty of storage. The bathroom was a really good size and very modern. The room did get a bit humid when doors and windows were closed all day but soon aired with the balcony door open.The block was conveniently located near all facilities. The staff were without exception friendly and helpful and the animation team outstanding. Our daughter enjoyed kids club hugely although it seemed to be under used. The pool area was never overbusy or crowded and despite the usual reserving with towels the sunbeds were never fully occupied. The restaurant again was never overcrowded and the wide selection of food was replenished regularly ( food a bit uninteresting at times but always of a good standard ).
Several comments have been made about keeping the pool bar open into the evening which I think would be a definite advantage particularly given the superb views and sunsets ( it may also attract outside custom from people walking up to admire the view ). It would avoid running up and down the hill between dinner, mini disco, sunset and then Saxaphone bar again for a drink.

We would definitely stay at the Zafiris again and would encourage visitors to try and get out of Sidari and explore Corfu a bit by bus or car because it is a very beautiful island. Anyone looking for a relaxed not too noisy, safe family hotel will love the Zafiris - those more used to a busier rowdy environment with lots of alcohol fuelled fun would be very disappointed !

Room Tip: The 200 block is well located for facilities and fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We thank you for these kind words which are much appreciated.
We take on board the points regarding the bar opening times and tentative plans are in place to resolve this for 2014. This is subject to the budget and local planning permission.

We aim to give a better service each season and the indications are that we have progressed a long way as an all inclusive since last year. We will continue to do more and thank our customers both old and new for their continued support.

A big thank your for your time and review!

The Zafiris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks at the beginning of July 2013 with family for our son's wedding and have to say the staff make the hotel what it is. The staff could not do enough for us from the minute we arrived and if we needed anything Dawn at reception was the one to ask. All in all a superb holiday with good choice of food for both adults and kids, entertainment was all day and night and have no idea how the entertainment team keep going.

We would definately stay again and have no problem recommending the Zafiris to family and friends.

A big thanks to all at the Zafiris the Bell family room 205 (what a view).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
A big thank you for your feedback. It was great to be part of your special day.
A thank you from all the staff for your kind comments.

We wish you all well and maybe look forward to seeing you again in the future.

The Zafiris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Zafiris 15th-26th June, and are so glad that we chose this hotel.

Our room was clean and comfortable, perfectly adequate for our stay. There was enough storage, plenty of clothes hangers, and the room stayed nice and cool throughout the day.

We were very impressed by the food in the restaurant. As we are both vegetarian, we were concerned that there would be little choice, but every day there were a variety of vegetarian options available at both lunch and dinner. Examples of vegetarian options included stuffed vegetables, spring rolls, cheese and spinach pies, pasta gratin, grilled veg etc. On barbeque night they also did a special vegetarian dish on order.There were always options for fussy eaters - plain pasta with optional sauce, bread, salad, chips at lunch, potatoes etc. The ice cream after dinner was delicious in 4 different flavours, and it was nice that it was self service. Food was always hot, kept topped up, and the restaurant manager was helpful at answering any questions. The only suggestion I can make here is that we'd have liked to hear more greek music playing in the restaurant instead of english music!

I don't drink alcohol, so can't comment on the alcoholic drinks, but the soft drinks were absolutely fine, and we were able to fill up water bottles with chilled water any time.

The animation team - as so many people have said - are brilliant. We had most to do with Angie because of the activities we enjoy, and she was always very friendly and full of energy. She made an effort to introduce herself on our first day and remembered people's names. I took part in the yoga, zumba, pool games etc, which were all great fun and run very well. People were encouraged to get involved, but not pestered at all.

The pool always seemed clean, and was never too busy. We never had a problem getting sunbeds, and the sunbeds were nicely spread out so people could chose to be next to the pool, or a little further away on the grass or near the sea.

We must say something about the location of the hotel - it is spectacular. The view from the balcony area is beautiful - looking down onto the sea, beach and cliffs. The sunset is just stunning - probably the best we have ever seen. Yet for some reason we seemed to be the only zafiris guests enjoying it! The sunset is a real selling point of the hotel, and should be advertised so more people can appreciate it! We watched it nearly every night, and it was amazing to have it right there on the hotel grounds.

Finally to reiterate on what other people have said - the staff are all smiley and helpful. This isn't usually something that is important to us, but they all do such a good job and always put effort and energy in. Dawn on reception was very friendly, and gave great advice on directions, places to see - and mosquito bites! The restaurant staff and bar staff were also lovely, and Martin was always around to say hello and make sure that everything was ok for us.

I was very upset to leave, and wish we could have stayed longer. So a massive thank you to all of the staff of Zafiris for a thoroughly fun and relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ell24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We would all like to thank you for this balanced review. It provides a lot of useful information that is not always covered.

Its great to read that you had an amazing holiday. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope that perhaps one day you will return to the Zafiris.

Wishing you all the very best

Team Zafiris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
8.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
0.9 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
12.4 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Sidari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
19.4 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#4 of 41 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiris Hotel

Property: Zafiris Hotel
Address: Canal D'Amor, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sidari
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiris Hotel is located in one of the 5 "Must See" areas of Corfu.The hotel aims to provide great customer service in an informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zafiris Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing