We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect week”
Review of Zafiris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zafiris Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay with our two sons, daughter in law and three grandchildren and were very impressed with the hotel. Our rooms were clean and spacious and the grounds and pool were excellent. There was plenty of choice of food on offer at all meal times, something for everyone, and you certainly wouldn't go hungry.

All the staff work very hard but still manage to be very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. I hope that this is appreciated by the management who should consider themselves lucky to have such dedicated people working for them.

Pull out driers on the balcony would be nice to dry the towels on but that's only me being picky.

Thanks again for a perfect week

.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue21521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

We would like to thank the author for their time and comments.
It's always rewarding for the staff to read that customers had a good holiday.

Nearly all of the staff have a long history with the hotel and owners and their efforts do not go unrecorded.

Again your feedback in appreciated.

Wishing you the very best

The Zafiris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
There are newer reviews for Zafiris Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 785 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

we stayed at the Zafiris for 1 week in July 2013 with our 2 children aged 17 & 7, and were very impressed.
We normally go 4* but despite this hotel only having an official 2* rating it exceeded all our expectations.
Location: Best position in Sidari on a small hill overlooking the stunning scenery of the Canal D'Amour cliffs & coves.Flight of steps down to the beach. On the edge of town but close enough to all the shops, tavernas, etc.
Hotel: The Saxophone bar is on a main street (max 10 mins walk from main strip) with an ascending drive to the main hotel area with restaurant & pool. It has been described as up hill, but it is barely a hillock. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean, as is the decent sized pool. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool and on the terraces. I never saw any broken ones. The hotel is compact yet feels spacious. And the pool area is just beautiful, with an aspect out to the Albanian mountains.
Food: Our compliments to the Chef (s) !!. Fresh,tasty, well cooked, lots of variety. It is obvious they try so hard to cater for all palates. Personally, I would have liked more Greek dishes. And the poor Restaurant Manager works so hard to keep the buffet tidy & replenished. He has been harshly and unfairly criticised in earlier reviews when he is just trying to ensure a good dining experience for both early & late diners.
Drinks: The only disappointment was no spirits before 2:30 & no tonic for my holiday G & T. But this did not marr the overall holiday experience.
Rooms: We had a 2 bedroom family room in the block next to the Saxaphone bar. Clean & spacious,plenty of storage, powerful hot shower. Yes, I would have liked a room with a balcony & a view, but to be fair we were never in our rooms except to shower & sleep. Reviewers have commented on the window next to the shower where people walk past. Yes, there is - just close the window when in the bathroom - simples
Staff: These are the real stars of the Zafiris. Friendly, efficient, a credit to the hotel.
Animation Team: First Choice watch & learn. The best animation team ever. Encouraging but not forceful. Great with kids. Never laughed so much.
Trips: We went to Aqualand - very clean and suitable for all ages. And we did Corfu Town by boat. Great. Booked through local agent. Much cheaper than First Choice & very prompt.

You wont be disappointed. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

The hotel staff and management would like to thank you for your time in writing this review. It really is encouraging to see that customers can see the effort and energy that goes on both in front of the customer and behind the scenes to give customers a good holiday.

We look forward to one day seeing you return to the hotel.

Wishing you all the best

Zafiris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Having chosen the hotel based on good reveiws we were a bit concerned about a few more recent poor ones. As it turned out the hotel was much better than expected and I would probably grade it 3*. Our room ( 201 ) was clean and spacious with a huge comfy bed and plenty of storage. The bathroom was a really good size and very modern. The room did get a bit humid when doors and windows were closed all day but soon aired with the balcony door open.The block was conveniently located near all facilities. The staff were without exception friendly and helpful and the animation team outstanding. Our daughter enjoyed kids club hugely although it seemed to be under used. The pool area was never overbusy or crowded and despite the usual reserving with towels the sunbeds were never fully occupied. The restaurant again was never overcrowded and the wide selection of food was replenished regularly ( food a bit uninteresting at times but always of a good standard ).
Several comments have been made about keeping the pool bar open into the evening which I think would be a definite advantage particularly given the superb views and sunsets ( it may also attract outside custom from people walking up to admire the view ). It would avoid running up and down the hill between dinner, mini disco, sunset and then Saxaphone bar again for a drink.

We would definitely stay at the Zafiris again and would encourage visitors to try and get out of Sidari and explore Corfu a bit by bus or car because it is a very beautiful island. Anyone looking for a relaxed not too noisy, safe family hotel will love the Zafiris - those more used to a busier rowdy environment with lots of alcohol fuelled fun would be very disappointed !

Room Tip: The 200 block is well located for facilities and fairly quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

We thank you for these kind words which are much appreciated.
We take on board the points regarding the bar opening times and tentative plans are in place to resolve this for 2014. This is subject to the budget and local planning permission.

We aim to give a better service each season and the indications are that we have progressed a long way as an all inclusive since last year. We will continue to do more and thank our customers both old and new for their continued support.

A big thank your for your time and review!

The Zafiris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks at the beginning of July 2013 with family for our son's wedding and have to say the staff make the hotel what it is. The staff could not do enough for us from the minute we arrived and if we needed anything Dawn at reception was the one to ask. All in all a superb holiday with good choice of food for both adults and kids, entertainment was all day and night and have no idea how the entertainment team keep going.

We would definately stay again and have no problem recommending the Zafiris to family and friends.

A big thanks to all at the Zafiris the Bell family room 205 (what a view).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

A big thank you for your feedback. It was great to be part of your special day.
A thank you from all the staff for your kind comments.

We wish you all well and maybe look forward to seeing you again in the future.

The Zafiris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Zafiris 15th-26th June, and are so glad that we chose this hotel.

Our room was clean and comfortable, perfectly adequate for our stay. There was enough storage, plenty of clothes hangers, and the room stayed nice and cool throughout the day.

We were very impressed by the food in the restaurant. As we are both vegetarian, we were concerned that there would be little choice, but every day there were a variety of vegetarian options available at both lunch and dinner. Examples of vegetarian options included stuffed vegetables, spring rolls, cheese and spinach pies, pasta gratin, grilled veg etc. On barbeque night they also did a special vegetarian dish on order.There were always options for fussy eaters - plain pasta with optional sauce, bread, salad, chips at lunch, potatoes etc. The ice cream after dinner was delicious in 4 different flavours, and it was nice that it was self service. Food was always hot, kept topped up, and the restaurant manager was helpful at answering any questions. The only suggestion I can make here is that we'd have liked to hear more greek music playing in the restaurant instead of english music!

I don't drink alcohol, so can't comment on the alcoholic drinks, but the soft drinks were absolutely fine, and we were able to fill up water bottles with chilled water any time.

The animation team - as so many people have said - are brilliant. We had most to do with Angie because of the activities we enjoy, and she was always very friendly and full of energy. She made an effort to introduce herself on our first day and remembered people's names. I took part in the yoga, zumba, pool games etc, which were all great fun and run very well. People were encouraged to get involved, but not pestered at all.

The pool always seemed clean, and was never too busy. We never had a problem getting sunbeds, and the sunbeds were nicely spread out so people could chose to be next to the pool, or a little further away on the grass or near the sea.

We must say something about the location of the hotel - it is spectacular. The view from the balcony area is beautiful - looking down onto the sea, beach and cliffs. The sunset is just stunning - probably the best we have ever seen. Yet for some reason we seemed to be the only zafiris guests enjoying it! The sunset is a real selling point of the hotel, and should be advertised so more people can appreciate it! We watched it nearly every night, and it was amazing to have it right there on the hotel grounds.

Finally to reiterate on what other people have said - the staff are all smiley and helpful. This isn't usually something that is important to us, but they all do such a good job and always put effort and energy in. Dawn on reception was very friendly, and gave great advice on directions, places to see - and mosquito bites! The restaurant staff and bar staff were also lovely, and Martin was always around to say hello and make sure that everything was ok for us.

I was very upset to leave, and wish we could have stayed longer. So a massive thank you to all of the staff of Zafiris for a thoroughly fun and relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ell24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We would all like to thank you for this balanced review. It provides a lot of useful information that is not always covered.

Its great to read that you had an amazing holiday. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope that perhaps one day you will return to the Zafiris.

Wishing you all the very best

Team Zafiris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at this great hotel again with my husband and son, this was our 7th time at this hotel,and its as good the staff are amazing they will do anything they can to help you, the entertainment staff well they were just amazing during the day and at night,the food its realy good the staff work realy hard at this hotel and some people come here and all they do is moan about this place,don't know why think they need to go to 5 star hotel, so I can't wait to be back here next year love this hotel .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

It great to get feedback from return customers! It's reassuring to know that you had a great holiday and are coming back next year.

Thank you for your visit

Zafiris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent a week here from the 15-22 July and had a fantastic time!!!!! The biggest highlight was the quality and choice of food on offer all week and there was certainly something for everyone. In particular the BBQ & Greek themed nites were our favourites.
The staff throughout the hotel were always pleasurable and friendly which only made the stay here more welcoming!
Mosquitos and ants were a pain but this is no reflection on the hotel at all as you can stay here in England and suffer the same issues.
Great job guys,keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. Its great to read that this was your first visit to Corfu and that you had a much needed break at the Zafirs. We wish you well and look forward to maybe seeing you again one day!

The Zafiris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
8.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#3 of 39 in Sidari
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Panorama Sidari
Panorama Sidari
#20 of 39 in Sidari
1,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#10 of 39 in Sidari
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiris Hotel

Address: Canal D'Amor, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sidari
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiris Hotel is located in one of the 5 "Must See" areas of Corfu.The hotel aims to provide great customer service in an informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zafiris Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing