We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Zafiris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zafiris Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks at the beginning of July 2013 with family for our son's wedding and have to say the staff make the hotel what it is. The staff could not do enough for us from the minute we arrived and if we needed anything Dawn at reception was the one to ask. All in all a superb holiday with good choice of food for both adults and kids, entertainment was all day and night and have no idea how the entertainment team keep going.

We would definately stay again and have no problem recommending the Zafiris to family and friends.

A big thanks to all at the Zafiris the Bell family room 205 (what a view).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
A big thank you for your feedback. It was great to be part of your special day.
A thank you from all the staff for your kind comments.

We wish you all well and maybe look forward to seeing you again in the future.

The Zafiris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    184
    98
    44
    40
See reviews for
401
235
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Zafiris 15th-26th June, and are so glad that we chose this hotel.

Our room was clean and comfortable, perfectly adequate for our stay. There was enough storage, plenty of clothes hangers, and the room stayed nice and cool throughout the day.

We were very impressed by the food in the restaurant. As we are both vegetarian, we were concerned that there would be little choice, but every day there were a variety of vegetarian options available at both lunch and dinner. Examples of vegetarian options included stuffed vegetables, spring rolls, cheese and spinach pies, pasta gratin, grilled veg etc. On barbeque night they also did a special vegetarian dish on order.There were always options for fussy eaters - plain pasta with optional sauce, bread, salad, chips at lunch, potatoes etc. The ice cream after dinner was delicious in 4 different flavours, and it was nice that it was self service. Food was always hot, kept topped up, and the restaurant manager was helpful at answering any questions. The only suggestion I can make here is that we'd have liked to hear more greek music playing in the restaurant instead of english music!

I don't drink alcohol, so can't comment on the alcoholic drinks, but the soft drinks were absolutely fine, and we were able to fill up water bottles with chilled water any time.

The animation team - as so many people have said - are brilliant. We had most to do with Angie because of the activities we enjoy, and she was always very friendly and full of energy. She made an effort to introduce herself on our first day and remembered people's names. I took part in the yoga, zumba, pool games etc, which were all great fun and run very well. People were encouraged to get involved, but not pestered at all.

The pool always seemed clean, and was never too busy. We never had a problem getting sunbeds, and the sunbeds were nicely spread out so people could chose to be next to the pool, or a little further away on the grass or near the sea.

We must say something about the location of the hotel - it is spectacular. The view from the balcony area is beautiful - looking down onto the sea, beach and cliffs. The sunset is just stunning - probably the best we have ever seen. Yet for some reason we seemed to be the only zafiris guests enjoying it! The sunset is a real selling point of the hotel, and should be advertised so more people can appreciate it! We watched it nearly every night, and it was amazing to have it right there on the hotel grounds.

Finally to reiterate on what other people have said - the staff are all smiley and helpful. This isn't usually something that is important to us, but they all do such a good job and always put effort and energy in. Dawn on reception was very friendly, and gave great advice on directions, places to see - and mosquito bites! The restaurant staff and bar staff were also lovely, and Martin was always around to say hello and make sure that everything was ok for us.

I was very upset to leave, and wish we could have stayed longer. So a massive thank you to all of the staff of Zafiris for a thoroughly fun and relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ell24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We would all like to thank you for this balanced review. It provides a lot of useful information that is not always covered.

Its great to read that you had an amazing holiday. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope that perhaps one day you will return to the Zafiris.

Wishing you all the very best

Team Zafiris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at this great hotel again with my husband and son, this was our 7th time at this hotel,and its as good the staff are amazing they will do anything they can to help you, the entertainment staff well they were just amazing during the day and at night,the food its realy good the staff work realy hard at this hotel and some people come here and all they do is moan about this place,don't know why think they need to go to 5 star hotel, so I can't wait to be back here next year love this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
It great to get feedback from return customers! It's reassuring to know that you had a great holiday and are coming back next year.

Thank you for your visit

Zafiris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent a week here from the 15-22 July and had a fantastic time!!!!! The biggest highlight was the quality and choice of food on offer all week and there was certainly something for everyone. In particular the BBQ & Greek themed nites were our favourites.
The staff throughout the hotel were always pleasurable and friendly which only made the stay here more welcoming!
Mosquitos and ants were a pain but this is no reflection on the hotel at all as you can stay here in England and suffer the same issues.
Great job guys,keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. Its great to read that this was your first visit to Corfu and that you had a much needed break at the Zafirs. We wish you well and look forward to maybe seeing you again one day!

The Zafiris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

What can i say?? This holiday was a return visit for me to the Zafiris and once again i was not disappointed. From start to finish this was a break to remember, for my first week i enjoyed the relaxation of this fabulous all inclusive hotel, its wonderful restaurant and staff, Dawn in Reception, and the guys in the Animation team, Danny, Lari, Leni and Angi, who are a fantastic team of people. I took part in the daytime activities, trying my hand at archery, and aquafit. the team games were fab to watch as was the night time entertainment in the saxophone bar.

I had so much fun that i could waffle on forever but this really is a place you must visit for yourself, i assure you that once you visit Zafiris you will not want to leave and will be all to eager to return.
As I right this I am booking to return in September.
Thankyou once again for an epic holiday
:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
It will be a pleasure to see you return in September. Thank you for your review and we wish you well. It's always encouraging to see customers come back to the hotel and your comments push us to do more!

All the best Zafiris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed with my son for a week at the end of June on a last minute deal. I chose this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor, in particular about the friendliness of the staff and the variety of hot food. I can only agree with these two points. The food that was meant to be hot was always hot with plenty of choice and there was a large selection of salads. We particularly liked the pancake corner on some evenings. If you accept the fact this is a 2+/3 star rated hotel, then base your expectations realistically and not expect Michelin star restaurants. The staff were always friendly and helpful, the cleaners, the restaurant staff, owners and especially the Animation entertainment team. We could not believe the levels of energy they had to keep everyone entertained round the pool during the day and in the Saxophone bar until late into the night. (PS: Can anyone tell me what is the name and artist of the Zafiris pseudo theme song played regularly by the Animation team ‘Ska Ska Scusci’???)
The location is Spectacular. We spent a lot of late evenings on the sofas overlooking the beach/alcoves gazing at the stars and chewing over the meaning of life and trying to understand why we seemed to be the only people making use of this wonderful setting. Everything was clean and tidy and excessive amounts of sunbeds round the pool (hurrah). We stayed in one of the family apartments and the only incidents we had was a leaking air conditioner, which was fixed the next day (condenser tray overflow) and an influx of ants, but I’d come prepared bringing in some ant spray which sorted that out.
The only downside to the stay was not as a result of the hotel. Although I had brought anti-mosquito spray on the first day I obviously didn’t use it enough and by that night my legs were covered in very irritating bites which lasted all week. None of the bite relief creams worked. (Tip: I took Piriton tablets when I returned to the UK and they cleared them up immediately Doh!) I noticed quite a few other people with the same problem – Put on plenty of insect repellent if you have sensitive skin.
Apart from that we had a very enjoyable and chilled time and the all-inclusive aspect made it extra relaxing not having to think twice about getting cold drinks as often as you liked.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antinkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
A big thank you for taking the time to write your review.

To answer your question the singer is Stavros Livykos. And the song is "Skase Skase" which literally means "Shut up, shut up". You can pick up the sound track on You Tube.

We very much appreciate your feedback and wish you well in your next trip.

The Zafiris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Zafiris Hotel and it was fantastic, we didn't want to come home. The staff are helpful, polite and always make you feel welcome. Our room was clean when we arrived and the cleaning staff supplied clean towels regularly throughout our stay. The entertainment staff are brilliant, with activities for all ages. The Saxophone bar is really good for the kids at night with a kids disco and play area to keep them happy. The pool area is always kept clean and there are snacks available throughout the day (exercise activities also available to work them off as well). The only 2 points to raise for readers are is that there are ants, but they are not a big problem and it not unique to the hotel, there are ants in lots of areas around Corfu, so if you can't cope with this idea then its probably not a place for you, the other potential problem is the hill at the entry to the hotel, it is not a large hill, but if you have any mobility problems you should be aware of it, if you have no mobility problems then you will be fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is great to read a balanced report and to read that your holiday at the Zafiris was a success! We very much to see you come back one day and take this opportunity to wish you well for 2013 and beyond.
The Zafiris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
9.0 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sidari
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Panorama Sidari
Panorama Sidari
#21 of 39 in Sidari
1,006 reviews
0.9 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiris Hotel

Property: Zafiris Hotel
Address: Canal D'Amor, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sidari
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiris Hotel is located in one of the 5 "Must See" areas of Corfu.The hotel aims to provide great customer service in an informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zafiris Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing