We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a good time”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Zafiris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zafiris Hotel
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a good time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just returned from Zafiris,we spent 11 nights there.
Overall we had a lovely relaxing time and yes the staff were good.
I understand the Zafiris is a work in progress and improvments are
being made every year.Then can I make a request for the next round
of improvments.Our room had partly been done up ie new tiles in bathroom
and floor tiles throughout whole apartment but other things
the fittings ie wardrobe,draws,dressing table,bed and bedside tables were
very tired looking,old,chipped and badly in need of replacement.
But I will say it was kept very clean and the bed was very very comfortable.
The thing I missed the most was air con which is controlled centrally and had been
turned off by the managment because they thought it was not hot enough to have it
on.Well I thought it was hot enough and for the first theree nights I hardley slept at all
with the heat in our room.Then we had a big storm which cleared the air a bit,so I slept a bit better.to be honest even if it was on I don't know how well It would have worked because the unit itself was a big ugly rusty heap of metal with some slats in the top which sat on the floor on a corner wall,It was even leaning forward off its rusty base and in danger of toppling over.It really was out of the ark.So they need to replace these rusting hulks with nice modern compact wall mounted units urgently.What an improvment that would be.Believe meas a holidaymaker its one of the most attractive things us, and to be able to control it oneself would be the icing on the cake.
I know these things are not cheap,but I think this improvment alone would lift this hotel into a whole different category,its got the lovely location,its got the really good staff, the new air con is the next step to making this hotel even better for the future.If you would like to check out the air con unit mentioned in thi piece our room number was 401A.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 864CarolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your candid assessment and feedback of our services.
We take on board all critique of the hotel to improve for the future.

Air conditioning.
Our service contract to provide air conditioning with First Choice is from 10/6 to 10/9 inclusive.
We have checked both the web page for First Choice and our own web page and note that this information is correct on both.

Due to the unseasonal hot weather this year we extended air con for a further 2 nights until the rain storm that reduced the temperature.

We take on board the need to replace the air con systems and allowing for budget constraints will look to replace some of the units this winter.

We have already asked a supplier to provide us with a quote with this in mind and a new unit has been placed in one room to assess performance before continuing further.

Other refurbishment plans.
There are a number of projects that we are looking to take on to update and improve the hotel, in keeping with the hotels official classification. Obviously we would like to be in a position to list these now. However we need to review the budget to match revenue to investment which is never easy especially at this time in Greece.

It's rewarding to note that you had a relaxing holiday and perhaps one day we will see you return.
Thank you again for your feedback..

The staff and management of the Hotel Zafiris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    167
    89
    39
    33
See reviews for
369
224
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just returned 28/09/2012 from a two week stay at the Zafiris hotel in Sidari, what can I say that has not yet been said, the food was out of this world it was more like a 5 star than the 2 star rating it has, there was a large choice of Greek and English dishes to keep everyone happy.
The BBQ night was fantastic the food was great,and the service that the staff give is second to none, nothing is too much trouble. Martin the Manager is a nice bloke and runs a tight ship, the place is very clean and so is the accommodation. The animation team work tirelessly to keep all the kids entertained, and Damitri multi tasks from waiter to barman to bus driver and painter, what a nice guy. We will be definitely be returning next year and feel we have made some true friends.Keep up the good work guys xxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Get a terrace instead of a balcony but both are fine its all about choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walstow1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you and welcoming you back to the hotel.

It is always pleasing for all the staff to see positive feedback and your comments have been well received. Thanks again.

The staff and management of the hotel Zafiirs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My Wife & I have just returned from a two week stay at the Zafiris..
All the staff are simply the best...
The rooms are basic but clean & maid service excellent..
Martin is a true gentleman & so much better than he thinks he is,we had some minor niggles during the course of our stay,which were fixed instantly to the point of almost feeling guilty for mentioning for reporting.
Most of which was the aftermarth of recent storms & of course not a fault of the hotel or staff,but once again pales into insignificance becuase of the absoulute A1 customer service.
Costas you have a simply wonderfull set of people working for you.
Martin,Dawn,Angela,Kostalis,Aliki,Demitri,Raluka,Natali & anyone else i've failed to mention,like the curley haired geezer in the sax bar (sorry did n't get your name) you're the best!!!
Other unsung hero's are the Chef's wonderfull food,not repetitive nicley prepared & always hot.
Our only regret is that we had to come home!
Would definatley visit again.
Thanks for a wonderfull time
E&J

Room Tip: Rooms 512 & 107 have good sea views & Albainian Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Your positive feedback will be passed onto the staff concerned.
The staff is committed to make customer service work in an informal but efficient way and this seems to have paid off overall throughout the season.

Further to other responses we are looking at what can be done to "make it better" for 2013.
We are confident that is exactly what we be able to do next year.

It's particularly rewarding that you are actively considering coming back to us in the future. This is a great endorsement and helps prove we are on the right track.

We look forward to seeing you again!

The staff and management of the hotel Zafiris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

we came back because we had a great time in may the only differance was stelios was missing every thing else was the same nothing was to much trouble for all the staff but kostalis you owe use a swimming a lesson also martin we miss you angela and hope your daughter enjoy school we love you all hope to see you next year all our love Ann & John and Margaret

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for your review.

It is always great to see customer return to the hotel. It is especially rewarding that you came back twice in the same season.

We have had a number of customers holiday with us twice in the same season. Taking into account this is our first season as an all inclusive this is great news and a morale booster for the staff.

It was a real pleasure to meet up with for a second time and we hope we see you again in the future!

Wishing you all the best
The staff and management of the hotel Zafiris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just comeback from a weeks holiday at the Zafiris and must compliment the staff and management of the hotel who were brilliant. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and have never experienced a manager like Martyn, nothing was too much trouble for him or his staff. And to see his hands on appraoch to everything was excellent.
Sure there are area's that you can criticise, but you will find them in any hotel if you look hard enough. Even the Warldorf in London ahs its problems. People must realise that some things are beyond the control of the hotel, such as those organised by the tour operators e.g. kids clubs. The Wifi worked perfectly well in our room, reception and by the pool, some much so that my wife used facetime via the wifi to contact our famly in the UK and amy sister in Florida, NO COST whooppee.
The food and all inclusive bar (subject to certain restrictions) was adequate for our needs. The weather and thunderstorms were beyond anyones control, but in true Brit traditions we mucked in and helped sort out the pools of water in the dining room etc.
The only thing this hotel really needs is a bit more inward investment, updating and painting of the accomodation etc to really make this hotel great. I just hope that the adverse comments on here from some people do not put anyone off trying it.
Technically it is a two star hotel, rated by tomson as a 3T+, but in all fairness if the enthusiasm of the staff and manager could be used in the rating I'd willing give them 4*. We intend to return ....
So Martyn, get room 510 sorted soon, cos tats the one we would like again please.

Room Tip: If you get the chance try to get the upper floor rooms they are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooby1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your candid appraisal of our efforts.

Whilst we cannot specifiy the improvements planned for 2013 we can confirm that there are plans in hand to improve a number of areas of the hotel for 2013 with some TLC.

We are currently reviewing all the aspects of the hotel and operation and are confident that guests will see a difference for 2013.

It's been a steep learning experience this year for the hotel. The transition from self-caterring to all inclusive is no easy jump but on a postive note and based on feedback from First Choice we have seen a large increase in bookings for 2013. This is suggests that whilst we need to imrprove some areas we are on the right track!

Thanks for your positive comments and we hope that one day we will see you return.
You can always contact us directly for information through our email address which is shown on our website.

It was a pleasure to have you at the hotel.

Wishing you all the best
The staff and managment of the Hotel Zafiirs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a week and we were so sad to leave everyone behind, everyone is so friendly the maid service is excellent all the staff where more than helpful we wanted to bring them all home with us. The food was lovely with a different variety every night. The view from our room was amazing with the sea in the distance the hotel is on a cliff which over looks the sea with a tiny little beach but a little walk over the cliffs will lead you to the main beach. There was different entertainment every night and it was always fun. It was an overall great experience and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyMarie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
A big thank you for this kind assessement of our efforts. It is particularly rewarding to the staff when customers tell us they would like to come back and stay again.

It's been a steep learning curve in 2012 however we now feel confident that for 2013 we will do even better.

Our thanks again and wish you all the very best

The staff and management of the hotel Zafiirs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned from a two week stay 31/08/12 - 14/09/12 what a farce we stayed in room 404 "HORRIBLE" tv didnt work only one channel world news ,rusty noisy fridge ,rusty noisy airconditioning ,the staff did try to fix this but it was so old no joy .sewer drain right outside our room not nice ,bar staff miserable ,tried to move hotel on the very first day thomson rep most unhelpful,food not great repetative and bland .bedroom furniture falling apart .after complaints felt a little bit outcast .It has to be said what a great location.all in all this hotel appears tired and run down ,but thanks to other guests we met in the same boat we had a lovely holiday !!!!!!!! i must also add that my wife and i are normally very easily pleased.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arzenalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We would like to thank the author of this review for their feedback. Feedback is always important to us. It is regretable that the authors were dissapointed by their holiday experience.

It is difficult to comment on some aspects of the feedback provided.

However as a hotel we would add the following -

The Hotel Zafiris does not profess to being perfect and appreiciate that there will always be areas for improvement. However taken on balance we note that based on Trip Advisor alone
We have received 188 reviews to date.

Of these 150 reviews customers have scored us as either excellent or very good. Overall this accounts for 79.7% of the reviews posted.

We take on board all feedback and we look to improve this ratio for 2013.

The staff and management of the hotel Zafiris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
9.0 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
0.9 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Sidari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
19.4 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiris Hotel

Property: Zafiris Hotel
Address: Canal D'Amor, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sidari
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiris Hotel is located in one of the 5 "Must See" areas of Corfu.The hotel aims to provide great customer service in an informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zafiris Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing