We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveler rating
459
218
113
51
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
459
218
113
51
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaxophone barkids clubanimation teamwater polopool barbean bagssuper mariofirst choice repslight inclinesplit levelice creamrestaurant staffall inclusive drinksnext yearcanal d'amourgreat holidaytable tennis
Filter
Updating list...
707 - 712 of 894 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a week and we were so sad to leave everyone behind, everyone is so friendly the maid service is excellent all the staff where more than helpful we wanted to bring them all home with us. The food was lovely with a different variety every night. The view from our room was amazing with the sea in the distance the hotel is on a cliff which over looks the sea with a tiny little beach but a little walk over the cliffs will lead you to the main beach. There was different entertainment every night and it was always fun. It was an overall great experience and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KellyMarie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

A big thank you for this kind assessement of our efforts. It is particularly rewarding to the staff when customers tell us they would like to come back and stay again.

It's been a steep learning curve in 2012 however we now feel confident that for 2013 we will do even better.

Our thanks again and wish you all the very best

The staff and management of the hotel Zafiirs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned from a two week stay 31/08/12 - 14/09/12 what a farce we stayed in room 404 "HORRIBLE" tv didnt work only one channel world news ,rusty noisy fridge ,rusty noisy airconditioning ,the staff did try to fix this but it was so old no joy .sewer drain right outside our room not nice ,bar staff miserable ,tried to move hotel on the very first day thomson rep most unhelpful,food not great repetative and bland .bedroom furniture falling apart .after complaints felt a little bit outcast .It has to be said what a great location.all in all this hotel appears tired and run down ,but thanks to other guests we met in the same boat we had a lovely holiday !!!!!!!! i must also add that my wife and i are normally very easily pleased.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arzenalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

We would like to thank the author of this review for their feedback. Feedback is always important to us. It is regretable that the authors were dissapointed by their holiday experience.

It is difficult to comment on some aspects of the feedback provided.

However as a hotel we would add the following -

The Hotel Zafiris does not profess to being perfect and appreiciate that there will always be areas for improvement. However taken on balance we note that based on Trip Advisor alone
We have received 188 reviews to date.

Of these 150 reviews customers have scored us as either excellent or very good. Overall this accounts for 79.7% of the reviews posted.

We take on board all feedback and we look to improve this ratio for 2013.

The staff and management of the hotel Zafiris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Well as a couples holiday this resort is ok but as a family is absolutely terrible. We went there with our 2 y/o daughter and found that facilities are not suited for my daughter, the kids club wont take her, swimming pool was too deep for her, TV in the room was not working, the WiFi internet covers only reception and pool are(no internet in the room) big issue because when it starts raining there is no other place to be then your room. Children's menu in the kitchen is very poor to say the list. Bar staff has no manners at all, they almost makes you feel guilty that you ask them to do what they are essentially payed to do!!! Reception staff is fast to jump in to terms and conditions when you try to asking them what appears to be a very legitimate question like why the air con remote has been taken away from my room when it is 30 degrees outside?

Room Tip: try different hotel
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

We would like to thank the author for their time in composing this review.
We of course respect the right of all of our customers to an express an opinion regarding the services we offer.

Children's club. This is managed by First Choice. There are age restrictions on the age of children that can be accepted into the club. We have checked with First Choice to ensure that we have a correct understanding of any restrictions that may apply to children of 2 years of age.
This information below is wildly available from First Choice.

The minimum age for children is 3 years of age. This is based on strict safety guidelines.
Further there are 3 toddler sessions per week where parents / guardians may accompany their child to the club.

Internet - We have checked both our own website and First Choice and can find no indication that WI FI is available in the guest rooms. For clarification the free WI FI is available in the pool bar restaurant and reception areas.

Poor Weather - The Zafiris is a largely open hotel. However in poor weather the Saxophone Bar is opened either for the whole day or part of the day if the pool bar has to be closed.

Children's Menu - The review is insufficiently specific as to why it is poor. Based on consumption and customer feedback - the menu along with dishes from the main menu appeals to the vast majority of smaller guests in the hotel.

Bar Staff - Taking into account other feedback regarding the staff at both bars both written and verbal it is difficult to understand why this negative comment has been included.

The terms and conditions of the holiday are clear and form a significant part of the holiday package. The air conditioning is stated on the Web Page as being available from 10/06 to 10/09.
On this occasion the hotel provided air-conditioning for an additional 2 days free of charge.
Notices indicating when the air conditioning would be switched off were clearly visible in both the reception and restaurant.

The system was switched off when the weather broke and a storm reduced the temperature.

Again we thank the guests for their feedback

The staff and management of the hotel Zafiris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My partner and i returned from our holiday to Zafiris a fair few weeks ago now, but i want to share our experience with all of you out there as i know how hard fantastic family orientated holidays are to find when you dont have endless millions to spend.
We holidayed in July and took my partners 8 year old daughter with us so were hoping for a pleasant child orientated hotel and i have to say were not dissapointed.
I have friends that have visited Zafiris Hotel in years past before it was an all inclusive complex and they have never had a bad word to say about the accomodation, Staff or surroundings and so my partner and i decided to give it a try, we were delighted to find that the hotel was now available on an all inclusive basis as like most we were feeling the pinch but had saved hard for our summer sunshine.
On our arrival we were shown to our room, which had a lovely patio area over looking the beautiful gardens, and was a short walk from the pool, bar, and restaurant.
we instantly felt safe and welcomed and no worries at all about letting our child have a little freedom and wander around (something i wouldnt ever dream of doing in england)
From the off the staff went out of their way to make us feel part of their "family" greeting our daughter by name every morning.
Dawn, the lady who co-ordinated the reception was particularly helpful and has a rare talent for predicting the weather, she was always spot on and nothing was too much of an issue for her.
We were particularly grateful of the Kids Club and the reps Lindsay and Lottie were truly amazing with Pheobe (our daughter) and encouraged her to join in with all of the other children and enjoy the fun, Pheobe has done nothing but talk about it and them to all her friends since we returned and it certainly aidied our little family break and gave my partner and I some chill time and the opportunity to sample the all inclusive vino, and the daily activities such as archery and water aerobics.
Evening entertainment was fab too and my partner and i enjoyed the greek dancing, not least for the fact that he got to strut his stuff (or so he thought).
Night times in the saxophone bar were equally as fun filled and our daughter found it fun to play with her friends she had made through the kids club so we could all enjoy the relaxed atmoshpere and quizes and karaoke.
On the whole I cannot fault the hotel, its staff, the area, the food, the facilities, infact the only gripe i have is that we had to come home.
Zafiris was the first holiday we had taken as a family and thanks to its friendly, safe and welcoming ethic we will definately be making a return visit next year.
You will not be dissapointed if you visit the Zafiris hotel, it was honestly one of the best holidays iv been on :)
I hope this helps you enjoy your visit as much as we did ours.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarahlou791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are always appreciate the time people to take to add their feedback about their holiday experience with us.

We seem to have hit the right note in this case and we appreciate all of the positives that you have added which has included so many of the staff.

We really set out this year to keep the hotel informal and family friendly and for next year we are hoping to do more. There are already plans in place to (suject to budget contraints) to carry out improvements for 2013 based on customer feeback taken from both Trip Advisor, our own internal reviews and feedback from First Choice who provide us with an analysis once per month.

It is our hope to given guests an even better experience in 2013.

Thank you for your time again and wish you well. Look forward to seeing you again.

With warm regards and all the best
The staff and managment of the hotel Zafiris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

,,just returned from a one week stay , staff friendly especially dimitris at the pool bar who we found pleasent and very helpful.room nice and very spacious and location wonderful.however we have been to numerous all inclusive 3 star hotels and this hotel is not what we were led to believe when booking. only wine and beer and a few soft drinks served until 2.30pm and then only whisky rum or vodka all other drinks had to be paid for branded or not .the bar closed from 1pm until 2pm while the barman went to work in the restaurant, snacks consisted of cheese or ham sandwiches everyday [toaster available if you wanted to toast them] food in restaurant was nice although breakfast closed at 9.30 am.in the evening the pool bar closed at 6 and the bar at the bottom of the hill opened at 6.30pm i know a lot of people enjoy a drink before dinner but this was not possible unless you wanted to walk down the hill have a drink and then walk all the way back for your dinner.in the evening the same restriction applied to the drinks [unless you wanted to pay for them] and to be honest the saxaphone bar was quite boring we seen lots of people sitting playing cards;we spent most nights going into sidari strip.there is a greek night held once a week and this took place at the pool bar [yes they opened it] and to be honest this was much better felt like you were on holiday,the kids could play and it was nice sitting outside in the evening. [nothing for the kids in the sax bar there was a play area but it was closed down] overall we made the best of the holiday and as i said could not fault the staff but i think first choice should make people aware of the restrictions and inform them not to expect all inclusive before takin there booking. .

Room Tip: room at the bottom of the hill furthest away from pool and restuarant . rooms overlooking reception big and spacious
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acky13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZafirisHotel, Owner at Zafiris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

We would like to thank the writer for their objective view of their holiday with us.
There are several points that warrant further clarification.

Drinks – We provide 10.30 to 23.00 locally produced soft drinks, draft beer, ouzo, wine as well as tea and coffee.

Further local vodka, rum and gin are also served in which ever bar is open in the evening.

This information is correct on the First Choice website and the introductory letter provided on arrival to all customers.

Also from 14.30 to 17.30 we provide at the pool bar local vodka, gin and local Bacardi
In the evening a cocktail of the day is also provided.

Bars – The decision to open or close bars is weather dependent. Due to the exposed position we have to take into account the comfort of all of the hotel guests.

If guests would like a drink in the 30 minutes between the pool bar closes and Saxophone opening.
Guests can ask a member of staff in the restaurant who will be more than happy to serve them wine beer or a soft drink.

There is a notice at the bar that explains that Dmitri may not be available during the lunch service. However since he is only 40 metres away in the restaurant he or any other member of staff would be only too happy to arrange a drink if guests asked.

Children’s area in the Saxophone Bar – Further to earlier responses. Despite numerous attempts it was not possible to secure the necessary workmen or materials to repair the damaged indoor play area. It is for this reason this facility is not shown in the brochure or website. However we are pleased to report that we may now have resolved this problem for 2013 and are waiting for confirmation that the work can be done.

Customers may also contact the hotel direct by email which is shown on our website and we will be only too happy to address any queries or questions about the services we offer.

We take on board the comments raised and again thank the author for their time.

With best regards
The staff and management of the hotel Zafiris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews