We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“katia beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Katia Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Katia Apartments
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kassiopi
Certificate of Excellence
Langkawi, Kedah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“katia beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

alex and Joanna are great hosts, they have updated the hotel to a very good standard. the pool and bar are excellent, you got children its a child friendly aparthotel, the grounds with its little kids play park, and 3 minute walk to your own pebble beach. Had are honey moon at katia in1999 been back to kassiopi 3 times to different hotels, whent back to katia beach in October 2012. be going back in may. 2 star mmm 4 star,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kevin720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    57
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
100
122
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

katia apartments for the 3 rd year in a row for us. supurb as always.
alex and jo were excellent hosts as always. they both work very hard summer and winter to keep the place very nice. rooms very clean, pool and resturant. they update as much as they can each winter.
this is 2 star accomodation which is underatted. you cant expect 5 star for the price they charge. an evening meal or a days car hire is more. dont take any notice of the couple of bad comments on here these people would find a prblem where ever they go.
im a return customer and so are alot of others. some go twice a year. i d move in if i could afford it for the summer.
if you like clean accomodation, good hosts and natural surroundings , great bar and music, nice beach this is the place.
TWO STAR ACCOMODATION WITH FIVE STAR SERVICE

see u soon gareth and sun young

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sunyoung-Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks at Katia Aparthotel and really enjoyed it. Alex and Joanna, who run the place, are very friendly and helpful. Excellent hosts! Overall it's a very relaxed place to be whether you're sitting round the pool or in the bar / taverna.

We had one of the studios at the rear of the property which meant we had a wonderful view of the garden. No idea what it's like in high season but we found it really quiet - it was lovely sitting on our patio at any time of the day or evening.

It was a reasonable size for a studio, and was cleaned daily (except Sundays). The kitchen items were basic - similar to facilities elsewhere in Greece and much as we expected them to be. The plug-in hob was slightly limiting as there was one ring plus a very small one for making greek coffee, but we managed very well.

In one corner of the garden there is a childrens play area with swings, a slide and roundabout. Plus a bench so you can sit and watch. In addition to the main pool there is also a smaller one for children.

The nearest beach is about 2 minutes from the bottom of the garden plus Avlaki Beach which is about a 15 minute walk. Supermarket Nikos is at the top of the hill (corner of Votana St - the road that Katia is located on - and the main coast road). When you reach the main road if you look to your left you will see the bus stop. Just outside Katia reception you will see the bus times and fares posted on the notice board. Turn right at Nikos' to get to Kassiopi. There are places along the road before you get to Kassiopi where you can hire cars, bikes and bicycles. In Kassiopi there are also several travel agents who all do boat and coach trips round the island.

There are lots of places to eat in Kassiopi - more English breakfasts than I've seen in any other Greek resort but enough tavernas and restaurants serving traditional Greek food too. Our favourite was Petrino on the harbour.

We found Katia to be a great location and a lovely, relaxing place to stay. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Studios 6 and 7 are at rear and overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SetaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Not long back from a weeks stay at the lovely Katia appartments in Kassiopi.
I strongly agree with the below statment, Katia is a typical greek 2 star clean apartments with modern facilities,i.e lovely poolside, bar with great company and surrounding gardens not to mention the gorgeous pepple beach with crystal clear waters 3 min walk through the olive grove.
As well as this, it most definitely does have 5 star service, Alex and Joanne could never do enough to ensure that you had a very plesent stay.
Kassiopi is stunning and definitely worth the 15 min walk which was plesent when visiting the bays during the day and the harbour resturants in the evening.
10 mins walk in the other direction you will find another beautiful beach called avliki, that you can hire out a boat for the day to travel down the east coast at your own leisure, only to then return with a choice of two taverns for a drink or something to eat with a lovely seaview.
On our departure day we had an early start at 8:30, due to us waking up late we had no time for breakfast but Joanne was waiting at the bus ready with takeaway coffee and sandwiches that were greatfully received, thank you.
We would strongly recommend staying here if you are looking for a friendly, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: rooms with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kirsty e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Please remember; at the time of writing this review although the Katia is rated 4.5 on ‘Trip Advisor’, the Katia apart-hotel is actually 2 **Star accommodation so having read some recent reviews we think some of the negative comments are untruthful and come from people who expect a 5 *****Star hotel.
I repeat the Katia is 2 **Star – so don’t expect 5 *****Star accommodation!
But not taking anything away from the Katia for a 2 **Star hotel it is great value for money and the service in our eyes is definitely 5 *****Star!

• Our stay in August 2012 was our 3rd visit to the Katia apart-hotel complex. This is the only place during our travels that we have ever wanted to return, and we look forward to our next return visit…

• Refurbishments:
Please remember; although the Katia is rated 2 **Star it is great value for money, especially if you are on a limited budget. Over the last three years we have noticed, each year, how much hard work Alex and Joanna have put in over the winter months to improve the Katia for the forthcoming season. Amongst other things, this has consisted of full ground floor room refurbishment and poolside refurbishment. This ongoing refurbishment year in year out (during a tough time financially, in Greece) is a credit to them both.

• Location:
The Katia apart-hotel is quite secluded – nice and quiet – with only a short walk into the centre of Kassiopi. The walk is pleasant and there is a choice of two routes (turn right at the Katia entrance for both). We took the ‘olive grove’ route during the day (10-15 minutes depending on pace) as it was sheltered from the heat of the day. But at night, when temperatures had dropped, it was just as pleasant and lighter to take the main road back (15-20 minutes depending on pace). For anyone who doesn’t wish to walk, taxis are only about €5 each way. The nearest 2 supermarkets for supplies are about 4 and 8 minutes away – turn right at the Katia entrance.

• Beaches:
Right on Katia’s doorstep (within a 2 minute walk through the gardens) is a beautiful, clean, white pebble beach with a small number of loungers / umbrellas dotted along the beach. The more populated Avlaki beach is a 15 – 20 minute walk, turning left at the Katia entrance - well worth a visit. (As is hiring a boat for a day from Avlaki beach to visit the other beaches and resorts of Corfu.)

• Service:
The service is excellent: Alex and Joanna cannot do enough for their guests. If you think you may have a problem or query, mention it to either Alex or Joanna and they will sort it out for you. (Trying to please every single guest must be hard but they try their very best to do this.) I’m sure Alex could get any sporting channel on one of his TV’s to suit you, he has never let me down with my preferences for football matches and tennis matches!
Alex always brings out the best in people with his great sense of humour-nothing is to much trouble for our hosts.

• Accommodation:
The rooms are very good quality for 2 *Star. Rooms are swept clean and mopped every day - except Sundays - bathrooms are cleaned and beds are made. Towels and bed linen are changed regularly. (The maids do a great job – day in day out).
• Though the self-catering facilities are basic, they are adequate enough to produce a quick snack during the day (which is all you should need on holiday!) We also heard good reports from other families we got friendly with who said they had no problems cooking a large meal for all the family.
In the evenings we ate mostly at the Katia itself. (Joanna serves good value, tasty dishes: a variety of Greek and ‘British’ meals.) Or, for a change, we ate at the local eateries or tavernas in Kassiopi centre.

• Hospitality:
We have been to Katia three times (in as many years) and have been welcomed and waved off on each occasion as warmly as the last. (We don’t feel that this is anything to do with being return customers – otherwise we wouldn’t have booked the second visit..!)

• Evenings:
The BBQ night at the Katia is great value for money. Be prepared to eat plenty; as always Joanna’s cooking is of high standard, right down to all salad being washed in fresh bottled water. It’s a great occasion to get friendly with fellow guests.
• The karaoke nights also go down well. Again it’s another chance to make friends, unwind and have a laugh!

• For those of you thinking the karaoke will go on all night don’t worry; the karaoke stops around 12:30am, up until then people, as expected, are having a good time; drinking, chatting, singing and generally socialising. (If you do not like mixing with people or general noise – why would you book a holiday in a hotel or apartments? – book a villa where you can be on your own!) Part of our holiday is meeting new people and making new friends… Katia is good for socialising and Alex and Joanna try to cater for most tastes.
• We have never encountered any drunken noise late into the night (neither have we been the cause). The Katia caters for all walks of life – couples (of all ages), families etc. so Alex and Joanna are always on hand to keep all people happy during their stay.
• There generally are a couple of cats living around the Katia, but they are never allowed near the eating area, or diners, and are easily shooed away if necessary. Alex does not allow any animals near the restaurant area; it was good to see him request one day that an old local man leave the area (as he seemed to think it was ok to have his dogs running around guests and diners whilst they were having breakfast). (As mentioned - We have never seen any cat poo around the pool area - this area, and the gardens, are cleaned and tended every day.)

The wasps did seem to be a problem this year but, as somebody has mentioned in an earlier review, Alex has since put up wasp traps which has cured the problem with wasps while you eat.


Recommendations:
We highly recommend some of the following:

Visiting the Limani bar in Kassiopi harbour for a nice chilled afternoon whilst watching the boats come in and out of the harbour and enjoying their great food and sipping chilled drinks. :)

Eating out at night at the Taverna Castello.

Visiting the Hydropolis - all inclusive day.

The East Coast Cruise (Book through the C.O.S.M.I.C booking office in Kassiopi centre.)

The Aug 15th Kassiopi festival is not to be missed!

Visiting the Kostas Bar in Kassiopi centre to see some amazing Greek dancing!


Thank you for reading our review of the Katia apart-hotel in Kassiopi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Lancs-lad-and-Lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattgilray
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The complex is lovely, just the right size and very clean. The apartments themselves were basic but so is everywhere we've stayed in Greece. We had gone on a budget and intended eating in most nights and did wonders with the 2 electric rings. The supermarket that is furthest away does fresh meat, kebabs etc and even cooked chickens! We found the mile walk to town too far with two little ones so ended up getting a taxi on the few times we did it.
We were dissapointed with the beach but we read that it was a pebble beach before we went so knew what we were going to.
Would we go back? - if we got it for the right money we would.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mattgilray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just returned from our 10th stay in 5 years and have already booked for next year.
Some recent reviews have been quite negative about Katia and I find this very strange.
The Hotel is 2 star and the accommodation is very basic.Yes the mattresses are hard but this is a given in Greece unless you want to pay 5 star prices!
Alex and Joanna could do no more to make you welcome and would go out of their way to help you if you were to mention a problem.
These apartments are excellent value for money and set in a lovely quiet spot with Avlaki (10 mins walk) and Kassiopi village ( 15 min walk or a 5 euro taxi ride).
The food in the Snack Bar/Taverna is always freshly prepared and delicious and the pool area is spotless!!!
If you want a little piece of heaven on earth (on a budget) this is the place to be !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kassiopi
0.7 mi away
Melina Bay Hotel
Melina Bay Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kassiopi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
6.3 mi away
Matoula Apartments
Matoula Apartments
#1 of 20 in Acharavi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.6 mi away
San Antonio Corfu Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Apraos Bay Hotel
Apraos Bay Hotel
#10 of 10 in Kassiopi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kassiopi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katia Apartments

Property: Katia Apartments
Address: Kassiopi 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kassiopi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kassiopi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Katia Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katia Apartments Corfu
Katia Apartments Kassiopi, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing