We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, in a great location, just a short walk from the wonderful Kassiopi”
Review of St Spiridon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Spiridon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Kassiopi B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, in a great location, just a short walk from the wonderful Kassiopi”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in mid-august. The room was basic and simple, but very clean thanks to the very friendly hotel staff. The bathroom was small but the shower worked very well. The pool area was kept immaculate, and had sun all day, there was always a sun-lounger and parasol available and this was despite staying here when the hotel was full. The room had a fridge and 2 ring hob, although basic, were a godsend, allowing us to cook and prepare breakfast and lunch with fresh produce from the close-by, very friendly Nikos supermarket. Flora, the owner is exceptionally nice and gave us advice on where to eat (on which we had the best meal of the trip). The hotel was ideally suited for us, as it was out of the town area, but close enough to walk in with no problem. There is a friendly café/restaurant just across the street (Mythos bar) if you don't fancy walking into town. The restaurants, shops, harbour and main beach of Kassiopi are about a 10-15minute walk down hill. There are plenty of eateries to choose from, and we did not have a bad meal in any of the restaurants we chose. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MW1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    33
    7
    3
    9
See reviews for
27
43
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I find it difficult to be anything other than positive about St Spiridon because of the wonderful Flora and her family. A mix up with the booking meant that we were only allocated 1 apartment instead of the 2 we had booked. This wasn't the fault of the hotel but nonetheless Flora sorted it out quickly for us and found us another apartment quickly.

On being shown the apartment I think Flora immediately sensed my disappointment. I have to say at this point that I think this was a conflict of my own expectations and what we actually got. Without meaning to sound like a complete snob we are used to 4* star accommodation so this hotel was not at all what I was used to. I booked it last minute without really researching it properly.

The accommodation is very basic. However it was clean and comfortable. Our teenage children had an upstairs apartment looking over the pool and also had a view of the sea. Our apartment was on the ground floor with no view but was very private and not overlooked. The apartments consisted of 2 rooms with twin beds in each room, a shower and small kitchen area. There were just 2 solid electric hobs and no oven. We usually like to cook every other night when on holiday but it wasn't really possible here. Our apartment had a separate kitchen area and our shower was much bigger than the children's. The shower was pretty much a hand held one with mixer taps. The shower curtain didn't contain the water but this is fairly typical I think. The water pressure was absolutely fine.

Our beds were comfortable and the linen and towels were changed every couple of days or so.

The apartments don't appear to be uniformly equipped. The children had a kettle and toaster in theirs and ours didn't. I am absolutely positive that had we asked Flora she would have found us one but it wasn't an issue. We boiled water in a saucepan and even used the solid hob for toast. There is no oven but there is a fridge. There are extra pillows and blankets in the cupboard. Hand towels would have been nice and again, I'm sure flora would have got them but it wasn't enough of an issue to make a fuss.

The aircon (an absolute must in August) was 6 euros per unit per night. There were 2 units in each of the apartments.

There were a couple of pools and they were really lovely. It was also possible to use the pool at the Michelangelo apartments next door which is run by Flora's brother. The children used the pools a lot but I prefer the sea. There were always sunbeds available.

Opposite the hotel is a terrific restaurant called Mythos. We had some good food here and the hosts are amazingly friendly and helpful. It's open late too. We always stopped for a nightcap here after our return from Kassiopi town.

The walk to Kassiopi harbour took 15 minutes there and a little longer coming back as it's a bit uphill. I have an arthritic knee but didn't find it a problem. The town beach which is behind Janis restaurant is also about 15 minutes. Head towards the town and at a fork in the road turn right for the harbour and left for the beach. All the beaches in the area are pebbles and shingle. I don't mind this as I like snorkelling and it's usually better in pebbles and rocks than sand but I would strongly advise you take beach shoes.

A 20 minute walk downhill took us to Avlaki beach. It's a lovely beach with very good snorkelling and a couple of tavernas. The sunbeds and umbrellas are for use of the Avlaki beach taverna customers only. The pebbles are tough on your feet. It's a steady uphill walk back to the hotel. Flora lent us a beach umbrella and mat to take with us.

There are 2 supermarkets within 50 metres of the hotel; one to the right and one at the top of the road to the left.

Gabriella cleaned our apartment every day and did a wonderful job. She even washed up for us.

So I started the holiday thinking that I wasn't going to enjoy staying at the hotel (so much so that I was considering moving) but ended the holiday thinking I might even go back!

At first I thought it was too far out of town but I got used to the walk and now think It's not a bad location at all - it's equidistance from Avlaki beach and the town and there's a bus stop at the top of the road which goes to all the coastal beaches in the North East and then to Corfu town.

For our last 2 nights we had to move to a different apartment (due to the booking problem at the outset). This apartment was in Michelangelo hotel. It was more modern and had better facilities but there was nowhere near as much as privacy as our first apartment and I would definitely choose St Spiridon over Michelangelo because of this and because of Flora's care and attention.

Nothing is too much trouble for Flora. She really wants you to have a lovely holiday and will do all she can for you. What she can't do is change the fabric of the building and it does look tired and outdated in places. However, the outside spaces are very pleasant. It was quiet and peaceful and was inexpensive.

Like I said before , it's 2* star accommodation which in the end proved to be perfectly adequate for us but service is definitely 5*.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chickenjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having been let down last minute over flight changes by Olympic Holidays the very helpful onthebeach.co.uk saved our holiday and offered us this hotel. Initially disappointed with our tiny cell like room, and appreciating the last minute booking situation the wonderful Flora did her utmost to make us happy and after an hour allocated us a much better 1st floor room. Totally agree with Des F - must have been there the same time - loved the location, secret local beach, Mythos bar, Nikos supermarket and stroll into Kasiopi with its myriad of tavernas. So peaceful and relaxing - if only the mosquitos had gone on holiday too!! We made do without the A/C for the first few nights and then succumbed for the last 3 and it definitely improved the quality of sleep. Only criticism is the tiny bathroom (same everywhere I've stayed in Greece!) not even room to swing half a cat! However, for the first time, the shower hose did actually attach to the wall and there was a decent flow of water, hot and cold. The room was cleaned every day and the linen and towels changed every other day. Faultless staff. Highly recommend COSMIC boat trips as a great way to sightsee with Captain Costas on the Crystyna. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Flora will do her best to accommodate you if you are polite and smile a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertdebDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous week in Kassiopi staying at the Saint Spiridon Hotel. Before we start, let's get something straight. The St Spiridon is not a 5* hotel. What it is is a welcoming homely place with adequate accommodation and a quiet spotless pool with plenty of sunbeds available. It is small and the accommodation is basic but it is in a nice spot, albeit a 15 minute walk to the harbour. Towels are changed every 2 days and maid service is daily.

Across the road is the Mythos Bar run by the wonderful Thanasis and Tijana. We were in there every day for breakfast and every night for a nightcap. Nothing was too much trouble. There were even people ordering a meal at 12:30am! Thanasis was an excellent host and Tijana would cook to order. Both took time to come and chat and made me, my wife and son very welcome.

We will return to Kassiopi because we found it delightful. No gangs of lads or girls. No pandering to the British with home from home meals and drinks. No happy hours. Yet it was lively, clean and with two beaches and a harbour to choose from there was no shortage of beautiful scenery.

The hotel offers air-con for €6 per day. In August we would recommend it. The bathroom needs a little work but I am told this is in hand. Our apartment looked out over the small holding next door (see photos), possibly what Jill N refers to as the 'chicken view', mainly because of the early morning call from the neighbourhood roosters! "Cock-a-doodle-do!!"

All in all a lovely place with lovely people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Des F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Had a wonderful stay but the hotel was so bad it was funny! Extremely basic but I guess you get what you pay for. Shower a dribble and goes everywhere, only one towel provided for the hole week and no bath mat. The staff were sweet but half way trough the week the maid came in with an A4 piece of paper with the 'fire safety' and stuck it on the door wonky with a bit of celotape. We were about annoyed that we had to pay €20 to stay in the room till 4 as we couldn't check out at 12 because of the flight times. We loved the holiday and the town of Kassiopi. Recommend Wave bar and 3 Brothers and it is worth doing an East Coat tour.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just got back from our fourth year staying at .st. spiridon Hotel and it was like coming home to family and friends. We had the 'chicken' view as requested by us as it is lovely and cool, and we love the studio apartment which is bright and airy. The maid doesn't seem to stop working so our apartment was kept lovely and clean with fresh towels everyday and bed linen changed regularly.The pool is only a year old with lovely new, comfortable sunbeds, plenty of umbrellas and a separate kiddies pool with a safety rail. Flora couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. You also have the use of other pools, one with a bar and snacks and two friendly supermarkets close to the appartments. There is also a wonderful bar called the Mythos Bar which offers a fantastic range of home cooked food and the family who own it are all wonderful. The lovely harbour is a short walk away with many lovely restaurants, bars and shops. Reasonably priced boat and other trips are available too. We don't usually go to the same country twice, let alone four times, but there is something very magical about Kassiopi and we cant wait to go again next year and stay at the St Spiridon Hotel. Do not get mixed up with the Michael Angelo appartments and the St Spiridon, They are separately run resorts and the swimming pool with the broken sunbeds belong to the Michael Angelo. See you in a year,Flora. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: You can ask for sea, pool, Albania and of course the chicken view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just came home from a fab hol in Kassiopi. The first week my husband, daughter (22) and I stayed at the St Spiridon Hotel, very happy with every aspect of it. The rooms are clean bright and airy and i found my bed very comfortable.They were cleaned everyday. As most reviews have said Flora and her family are lovely people and very helpful, my husband and daughter only stayed for 1 week but I remained for 2 as i stayed with other members of my family in their villa for the 2nd week and even though the rest of my stay was not at St Spiridon, Flora still offered me and my family use of their pool if we wanted and booked my taxi for me. The Mythos bar just across the road is lovely and very friendly atmosphere. The restaurants in Kassiopi are amongst the best i have found anywhere in the Greek Islands ( and I have been to quite alot). With the help of Trip advisor we did not have a bad meal in the whole 2 weeks. I would definatley recommend the Janis (so good we went twice), To Kima, Estoni ( good food and cheaper but the lady looked a bit miserable, maybe she was just a bit shy) and the Juniper if you want a more English type dinner (the fish and scampi excellent) and run by a very friendly English couple, just to name a few. The Luminar cafe very good for breakfast or light lunch, with a lovely view overlooking the Harbour and across the other side is Virginia's bar (pleasant and cheap). Also enjoyed the Lime Lounge for evening drink. I would also recommend the boat trip to Corfu town.
All in all a really great holiday.
Just have 1 more thing to mention, which is the lovely taxi driver who took my husband and daughter to the airport and me a week later on my own,he turned up spot on time on both occasions unlike the company my sisters had booked, which were both late,( 1 by a good hour) which is not really what you want at the end of your holiday as it leaves you feeling a bit stressed as to wether you will make it on time. So if you need a taxi just call Marios & Miltos Sarakinos +30 6997775788

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank colleenwainwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kassiopi
3.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,064 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apraos Bay Hotel
Apraos Bay Hotel
#10 of 10 in Kassiopi
102 reviews
19.0 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
466 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
0.0 mi away
Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Spiridon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Spiridon Hotel

Property: St Spiridon Hotel
Address: Kassiopi 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kassiopi
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kassiopi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Spiridon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Spiridon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Spiridon Hotel Kassiopi, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing