We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Donna Amalia Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Donna Amalia for a week on Sept 9th>>>the Apt was clean , and listening to people about the emptying of the bins < we used to empty our own , as we went out every day , there is a great big waste bin as you walk to go out so we just took our rubbish there ,the beds were the same as you get all over Greece, not saying I am keen on them but for a week? no problem , as far as towels are concerned, we just asked for a couple more and they were happy to provide them , I have always found if you have a problem with anything go and see the owners , they usually are happy to help , do not wait until you get home and then complain , the Greek people are lovely people , but if you do not say they do not know do they?
Our bathroom was small , and as far as the shower curtain being short , we just left the water and it went down the little grid in floor the made for this purpose >>
They are self catering Apts so as far as toilet rolls are concerned I expected to buy my own ,
yes they could do with more equipment in the kitchen , but hey! we made do and had a laugh doing it !
The apartment was not perfect but it was perfectly adequate for a weeks stay, we are going back in May so it cannot be that bad ,,,
Thank you to Donna Amalia

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bolero-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Donna Amalia Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 129 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

Have my reservations about these apartments as they have some really good points & some not so good. We had a good value holiday & I would return if I could get the same price but would not recommend them to friends or family. Most people seemed to have paid a lot more than us & if I had I would have been very unhappy.
The studios are of a reasonable size with rooms 1 & 5 on block 2 much bigger with a large seating area. We also saw a 2 bed apartment which was a great space with a good sized well equiped kitchen. The studios have limited wardrobe & drawer storage but with more coat & trouser hangers I have ever seen before. The kitchen area has enough utensils & crockery to prepare snacks but nowhere, except for the fridge to store food. Mugs are supplied which is a bonus & decent sized glasses for beer & the odd G&T. Tea towels also provided. There is a kettle & sandwich toaster which is ok for toasted sandwiches but not great for toast in the morning
The beds are very firm but seem to have good quality matresses & a decent pillow but had to get up before 7 o'clock every day to relieve back pain. Towels are extremely poor quality & often smelly. No bath mat provided & the tiles in the bathroom are lethal. Had to use towel to stand on. Luckily cleaners left us extra towels after a few days for this.
Not happy that bins were only emptied every 3 days. Have only come actross this once before & was also disgusted then. First toilet roll only provided & all others have to be provided by guests. Only using his as information as this is quite common in Greece.
Very surprised to be informed breakfast was not served until 10am & when we were there the pool bar closed at about 7pm every night. No one to greet guests who arrived at night just a board with directions to apartment, if you were lucky. One couple, that we know of, arrived after midnight with no instructions or details of where to go. Another couple arrived with all their details & accommodation voucher to find that their accommodation had been rented to someone else & they were asked to stay elsewhere for a few days. They refused.
No phone at apartments & staff to help. Partner tried to phone for taxi as I was in hospital in Corfu Town but mobile wasn't working. Lady at bar unable to help as she spoke no English & Yannis had still not arrived. Not very good as all guests are British. Had to go into town for assistance. Very limited availability before 10am & after 6pm if you needed help or information.
Do not know if this is because it was near the end of the season but not acceptable as everyone still pays for the service. Were informed that on alternate years Donna & Costas run the apartments & then everything is well organised & higher quality. Would advise before you arrive to confirm with the owners directly that your accommodation is available to avoid disappointment. Also when you are dropped off by the transfer coach there is a bit of a walk to the apartments & a rough track which will knacker the wheels on your suitcase.
On the plus side the location is great. Near rhe hub of everything but quiet. The pool is bigger than it looks in the photos & a great area. The pool was kept very clean by Costas but about a third of the sunbeds were damaged. Also there is dog poo in the apartment area which is not cleaned up. Saw Lucy their dog foul in front of the apartment steps & informed lady behind bar but this was ignored. Watch where you walk in the dark!!!!
Feel that I have been quite negative about these apartments but if you take the 5 ot of 5 reviews with a pinch of salt you will not be too disappointed. Kassiopi is a beautiful town & these apartments are in a perfect location. Do not know if standards had slipped because it was the end of the season but would try again if I could get as good a price as before as I know what to expect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AME34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy K, Ιδιοκτήτης at Donna Amalia Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

dear friend

i have to answer about some thinks..first i want to thank you about your riview.This small family self catering apartment no big hotel, so the summer time we keep the bar about 14 hour in 24 because we hane good atmoshere in pool area and people sray and the night time also

now we are in the end of saeson so we close if people living for the pool area...for the new arrives in night time i put sine with details "name" numper of room and people going easy to the room"we dont have lost of arrives in the finish of saeson"..the next morning i talk with apeople if exist eny problem..its importand understand people the style of this apartment..work under the self catering contract wich we have with tour operators...so the toilet parer and the cleaning system is ungluded..always we try for the best ..we have customers wen came again and again because understand aou filosophy and enjoy our hospitality and the beautiful greek sun

best regards

Giannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our 2nd year at the Donna Amalia. Once again a fab holiday very good value for money in a fab location and apartments well stocked with everything you would need. Barby on sat night is very good value at 10 euros . Donna and Yanni very good hosts hopefully will be returning next year .If you are looking for a peaceful relaxed holiday this is the place to book .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 604Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We love Kassiopi, and have been here before, as a resort its great no need for a hire car as you can go everywhere by boat, great bars and restaurants and friendly locals but the apartment was a disappointment. When you have spent a day on a boat swam in the sea applied lashings of suntan oil you NEED a nice hot shower before going out to eat. Firstly there was no bath mat supplied so we had to use the hand towels or risk slipping over on the wet floor as the shower curtains were too short and water cascaded out, in fact I wondered why they bothered with a shower tray at all! then there is nowhere to hang the shower head - have you tried applying shampoo with one hand while clutching the shower in the other? the temperature was variable, some evenings tepid others hot as was the pressure. Towels only changed once in a week and were the thinnest I have ever seen. Hard beds are to be expected and we could not fault the cleanliness but saw no sign of owners or staff during our stay apart from on arrival when a man ? the owner, helpfully picked up my husbands small rucksack and carried it up stairs to the apartment leaving me standing astonished at the bottom with a heavy suitcase plus my own rucksack to wait for hubby to come back down for a second trip to help. The air-conditioning which features in their adverts was he informed us, an additional 4 euros a night and when we went to pay he added but its 5 euros a day and you cant have only the nights even if you do not plan to be there at all during the day so in total that was over 50 euros for a weeks stay. Toilet bin only emptied once during the week which is really not very hygienic and a limit of one toilet roll for a week is on the mean side too. In its favour the apartments are close to all amenities but then so are lots of others so next time we will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetreason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy K, Διευθυντής at Donna Amalia Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

I would like to point out that our toilet bins are changed every two to three days and there is nothing to say i should lift cases for guess as i would be lifting cases all day!!! The towels are standered thickness and air conditioning is stardered price although i think you will find air conditioning is around 8/9 euros on average per night so we are cheaper than most!!!!
Im sorry you did not enjoy your stay but we have regular customers coming back year after year!!!!
Best reguards
Gannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice place, really nice accommodation and lovely people could not ask for more....looking forward to next year :)))) its a really good place for the whole family plus there is plenty of things for everyone to do I definitely recommend you try it!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellewestwood@11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

for me a good pool where the kids can play safely,
a bar with friendly NOT pushy staff,
meals made to order from their own local farm .
prices that don't leaving me feeling ripped off.
location to the main resort (not miles away like many other) these are the thing that make my holiday.

ok so maybe the beds are a bit hard compared to what we are used to and the apartments are basic.(you can have air con) but i don't go on holiday to spend all my time indoors.

these are family run apartments in a great location where you can relax.

example . Yanni puts on a bbq on a saturday for 10 euros. for that you get his own fresh greek feta salad followed by bbq chicken and kebab. more than enough food to keep you going while he puts on a bit of greek dancing after.

one of the guest had a birthday while we were there, yanni keep,t the bar open , we joined in and sat by the pool in the moonlight sipping bubbly

thats what you get from a family run hotel.

i will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had 11 nights at the Donna Amalia Apartments. Like with all there are the minor points but overall we found it to be good value for money. It's not in a bad location. Its a two minute walk to the main street of Kassiopi with a ten minute stroll down to the harbour. We booked a two bedroom apartment which was huge. We also had a relative staying in a studio and they were a good size as well. Good cooking facilities with decent size fridge with freezer. There isn't a tv but i didn't have a problem with that. The balconies are shared but are quite big so you don't really notice. Good sized pool with lots of sunbeds and a pool bar serving all the usual stuff. It's very peaceful even when its fully booked up. If you want to chill out in very quiet surroundings this is a good place to do it.

Ok.........the minor points. Some may say bed linen being changed every three days is not often enough but you probably wouldn't do that at home anyway. Towels! Like with a lot of places i've been to the towels aren't the best and this is no exception. If you haven't been given enough Ask and you will be given more. I know there appears to be an issue with towels but i understand that its an ongoing problem that they are trying to solve. Toilet bin!!! I'm sorry Donna Amalia but once every three days is not enough. It may seem picky but i would make it once every two days from a purely health perspective. Three days worth of paper in small bin in hot conditions??


Would I go again.....definitely......the issues are the same in lots of places but Donna Amalia will try to sort any problems out, and for all the returning guests they have, they are definitely doing something right.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeJB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy K, Ιδιοκτήτης at Donna Amalia Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Friend thanks for your rieview...the onest rieviews make as beter and beter!...we try again and again to make beter money contract with tour operators and if we do that we offer more to our castomers..we follow at the moment the system wich follow all the propreties in the island with this value!...if exist any problem in the during of the holiday we speak always with people and we try to short...toilet dins is resonable to change every 2 days..we talk surius with a cleaners about this!!

best regards

Giannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kassiopi
0.2 mi away
Melina Bay Hotel
Melina Bay Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kassiopi
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kassiopi Bay
Kassiopi Bay
#5 of 10 in Kassiopi
84 reviews
5.4 mi away
Corifo Village Hotel
Corifo Village Hotel
#5 of 20 in Acharavi
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
7.1 mi away
Hotel Corfu Secret
Hotel Corfu Secret
#1 of 2 in Agios Markos
77 reviews
30.3 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donna Amalia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donna Amalia Apartments

Address: Boutikatika, Kassiopi 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kassiopi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Kassiopi
Price Range: $41 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donna Amalia Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Donna Amalia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Apartments Hotel Kassiopi
Donna Amalia Apartments Kassiopi, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing