We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value for money”
Review of Philippos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Philippos Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location and good value for money”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from another great holiday in Kassiopi and our third stay in these apartments. We have stayed in a lot of the accommodation in the village over the years and Philippos are among the best. They are in a great location a couple of minutes walk from the main street to the square and down to the harbour. The apartments are set in nice gardens with a lovely pool and the complex is well maintained and clean. We had a surprisingly large studio overlooking the pool with a pleasant,sunny balcony. The free aircon and plasma screen tv for world news channels were an added bonus we didn't expect (new additions since our last stay there). Staff are all pleasant and friendly and the presence of a security guard on the grounds during the night is reassuring, (although in the many years we have visited this quiet, friendly village we have never had any trouble!) The one downside to the complex for us was, although there are a lot of sunbeds, you had to be up early to grab one, I counted 44 with towels on by half past eight one morning!! It was peak season and the complex was full, so it may not always be like that. At a rate of 40 euro a night I would defiantly return to the Philippos again, well worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    69
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
82
83
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
skipton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family and I returned last week after a two week holiday to Kassiopi
It was a last minute holiday choice (with T/A help), we booked the week before and really dropped lucky.
We found Philippos apartments to be clean, and well run. The rooms were fine, with regular cleaning and linen changes. The air con (free) made the rooms nice and cool for sleeping, and the wifi (also free) means you can keep in touch with friends, find information about Kassiopi etc.
Spiros, Jenny and the staff were all very helpful and friendly, and the lad at the bar serves a mean Stroh rum! (sorry I cant remember, his name ..I think It was Stavros..(well he kept giving me the Stroh what do you expect.lol)
No kids activities, but the lovely, clean pool kept them happy all day long.
The apartments are just a short walk from the main street, where a variety of shops, restaurants and bars can be found, including a very nice bakery.
The harbour is fantastic and we spent a lot of time down there, just chilling, and watching the world go round.
You can hire a motorboat for the day for around 70 euros + fuel, and I would definitely recommend doing this, as you can explore the east coast at your leisure, stopping In small bays snorkelling, dropping in on the various harbours for a bite to eat.
All in all, a perfect base for a fantastic holiday in corfu.
We will definitely be returning to Philippos. Highly recommended.
Ps
Just one ever so tiny, tiny prob, which I joked about with Spiros...GET SOME softer matresses. LOL.
Best wishes Spiros and co, and on the next visit I expect to see a Moto Guzzi by the pool table!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were greeted by the owner Spiros towards midnight and shown to our apartment which was very clean and comfortable. On depositing our luggage we could not resist some refreshment at the bar which was still open and, by the way is never noisy at night.
The pool is fabulous and looks amazing at night with its multi coloured lights. Snacks and light meals are very good and very reasonably priced. A large Greek salad with fresh bread at 5 Euros
is cheap !
As mentioned previously Spiros is always on hand to help out and I do believe that he has never heard of the word "no". The rooms are more than adequate and I disagree with comments such as basic. We managed to make some nice meals in the kitchen area, go rent a villa at 5 x the price if you want to prepare cordon bleu cuisine. With temperatures reaching 36* the air con in both bedrooms was invaluable and is provided free.
Location was good in amongst the olive trees and a pleasant walk into town.
We were a family of four and met some lovely, like minded people who all thought of Philippos as a hidden gem. Spiros and his staff work tirelessly to make everyone's stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Apartment 510 was in a great position as its balcony overlooks the pool and snackbar. The pool looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mistajimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just had 10 nights stay here after seeing a review on TA. Nice clean rooms and a good sized well maintained swimming pool. Only a 5 minute stroll down to the bars/ beach.Just perfect, would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wozza988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 week holiday, it was brilliant! Spiros and Jenny were lovely, the rooms are nice, Greece is basic and I have stayed at a few different places in kassiopi and this is by far the best, the room had a plasma tv not that I watched it, air con is free, the bar is open till midnight and the food and drinks are to a very high standard there and priced fairly, I had a 1 bed apartment overlooking the pool on the 2nd floor (424) It comfortably fit me and my husband and 2 girls as it had 4 beds. I would highly recommend here for a family holiday, I have already booked up for next year!

Room Tip: 424 is the best room in my opinion as it had a lovely pool view and high ceilings as the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 666hay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have just returned from spending a few days here with my family. It is really a lovely family friendly complex and is run and managed by the lovely Spiros.

I have read other reviews mentioning " Basic" accommodation etc! How absolutely ridiculous!!
I myself run a 5 Star Gold B&B in the UK, and when my husband and I ravel together we normally splash out and pay for luxury.

This complex however is geared towards families offering a good standard of accommodation and facilities for the price. 40 euros per night ( and people want more luxury)??? If you want luxury, then you have to pay for it!!

Having said that, this place is just lovely and comfortable and ideal for lazy days by the pool with young children. I personally wouldn't want to take wet, excited, oiled up children to 5 star luxury!

This place is just lovely and the tuna salad is amazing!!

See you next year Spiros and I am so impressed I am bringing my husband next time!!

Best wishes
Claire. x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fusspot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just back from a week's holiday at Hotel Philippos. Spotlessly clean apartment with very effective free Air Con and free wi fi. Towels changed and bins emptied a couple of times during the week. Pool is lovely. Spent most mornings by the pool relaxing and could always get a sunbed, although as with many other places, there are always some people who must set their alarm to make sure they get their towels on the best ones! The pool bar is very reasonable and the service is excellent. Great location. About 5 mins walk to the shops and a wide selection of tavernas. Dined at a different one every night. All good with plenty of choice. Some a bit too 'English', but plenty of Greek choices at others. Our favourite was Petrinos by the harbour. 10 mins walk to the harbour where we hired a boat for the day. The beaches are about a 20 min walk. All pebbly, but plenty of sunbeds although about €2 each. Great beaches for snorkelling. Swam with loads of fish!
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Philippos and Kassiopi for a great family holiday. Must also say a huge thank you to the cleaning lady who ran after us as we were about to leave to give me my iPhone that I had left behind. That's what I call excellent, honest and dedicated staff. Thanks for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kassiopi
0.2 mi away
Melina Bay Hotel
Melina Bay Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kassiopi
210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apraos Bay Hotel
Apraos Bay Hotel
#10 of 10 in Kassiopi
96 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kassiopi Resort Memento Hotel
0.0 mi away
Donna Amalia Apartments
Donna Amalia Apartments
#6 of 39 in Kassiopi
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solaris Kassiopi Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Property: Philippos Hotel
Address: Kassiopi 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kassiopi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Kassiopi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Philippos Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Kassiopi, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing