We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome luxury” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roncesvalles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Roncesvalles
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Welcome luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

The first challenge when arriving from the Camino, is to find the front door. After that the check in was slow. But our room was nice. We had to wait for a later supper because the entire restaurant had been taken over by a youth group. It wasn't easy to get the attention of a waitress, but we finally persuaded one to go to the bar and make us each a gin and tonic. That saved the day. Huge and Bombay Sapphire. Supper wasn't particularly great, but after walking over the Pyrenees .....
Breakfast was OK, but again not special.
Overall the building is quite a spectacular restoration. We did feel a bit special.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PickwickClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    82
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
99
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

It was a long hard, enjoyable day's hike up the Pyrenee's and down into Roncesvalles. I am glad we had a reservation here because the albergue was filled, and I was in no shape to walk to the next town. The hotel is in a restored monastery, filled with history and old world charm. The apartment was adequate in size, clean, and equipped with a kitchen. The only negative I have, the nearest supermarket is another 3K up the road. I had absolutely no desire to walk another 6K do get food for dinner, so we ate at the hotel restaurant, which was a disappointment.

Basically a nice place to sleep, which is all we really needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unckyherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

After a long descent through the Pyrenee's, the Hotel Roncesvalles was not just a welcome retreat, but a simple yet beautiful place to lay your head. The restored monastery has a medieval charm with stone floors, whitewashed walls,beamed ceilings and arched doorways.The dining room was filled with a few tour groups and the food was abundant and tasty. The pilgrim's mass next door in the old church was a moving and magical way to begin our journey on the camino. The rooms are large, we had a 3rd floor room with skylights and wood floors, very quiet . Be careful of the slanting roof lines, I walked into the eave over my bed on the way to the bathroom at night and gave myself a good clunk on the head!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nauheim, Germany
Level Contributor
200 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The transformation of the the old monastery into a hotel has been done perfectly. The reception area, as well as the bar is just great. The rooms are spacious and very nice decorated. Everything is nice and clean, with lots of details. We had a room goind to the inside area. I highle recommend this hotel. Unfortunately, the restaurant is not meeting the same standards as the hotel. The dinner they offered is ok, but not more. Its not prepared with the same perfection, it was simply basic.
Overall, the hotel is situated in a wonderful surrounding, a nice retreat and a good starting point for exploring the pyrenees.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Always_0n_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

After a very hard day's walk on the camino, this hotel was a wonderful haven for rest and recuperation. The room was spacious and light. The bed was very comfortable and service excellent. The hotel helped us organise bag transfers for future walking days and food was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank botot_alpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
168 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

After spending our first (rather long) day of walking the Camino Santiago (which included scaling then descending a section of the Pyrenees) it was a true blessing to land in this former monastery. This hotel (which was booked for us by the Camino Ways tour group) was situated right on the actual Camino Santiago, so there was no need to divert from one's traveling path. Hotel Roncesvalles was modern, spacious, tidy, and offered weary walkers a very comfortable resting place. Additionally, both the dinner served and well as the next morning's breakfast left nothing to be desired. Service was both professional, and the food was not only ample, but tasty and well presented. A true miracle in the wilderness!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
272 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wow, after a really nasty hike in the rain and mud from St Jean Pied de Port, we were really happy to check in here. It was über modern and the facilities were great. A wonderful little bar and a good dinner and breakfast to get us on the way. Very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelownatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orreaga-Roncesvalles
7.4 mi away
Hotel Clementenia
Hotel Clementenia
#1 of 1 in Arneguy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Loizu
Hotel Rural Loizu
#1 of 2 in Auritz-Burguete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
8.5 mi away
Erreguina Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Rural Torre de Uriz
11.1 mi away
Hotel Ramuntcho
Hotel Ramuntcho
#1 of 3 in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Besaro
Hotel Rural Besaro
#1 of 2 in Ochagavia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roncesvalles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roncesvalles

Property: Hotel Roncesvalles
Address: Mayor, s/n, 31650 Orreaga-Roncesvalles, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Orreaga-Roncesvalles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orreaga-Roncesvalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roncesvalles 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Roncesvalles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing