We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just wonderful!”
Review of Hotel Les Pyrenees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Les Pyrenees
Reviewed July 20, 2013

very elegant and spacious rooms, superb outside swimming pool, delicious (expensive) restaurant with fantastic personnel (warm and friendly experienced people that make you feel home). Don't be disappointed when seeing the front of the hotel (quite average looking front, in a rather busy street) - once in the restaurant or in the rooms the experience is just fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mieke_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Les Pyrenees
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 98 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

A very good place to stay. Nice large room with well functioning aircondition and wifi. A fine swimming pool. Friendly staff, however some of them only french speaking. Parking space at the hotel for 10 euro/day. Centrally located at the main street, but with very little noise in the rooms.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Holger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were excited to come here before starting our Camino hike. From my internet research, it looked like the best hotel in town and even luxurious. I will share that it wasn't bad or dirty or anything, just not the luxury we expected or the price called for. It really was overpriced for what it was. The location was great as was the friendliness of the staff.
I like a good bed & bedding, but was not impressed. Again, it wasn't bad, it was just not the quality that I expected.
I was bummed to find out they didn't have room service of any sort. WIth such a great restaurant on site, I thought we could for sure get something delivered to the room. Bummer! Not even wine...
I will share that it did not seem busy at all on our visit. It was really quiet & I wondered if we were the only guests since it was so quiet.
The breakfast was good quality, but also overpriced for what was offered. The homemade fruit cocktail was great, but I was let down when we weren't offered any eggs which I thought for sure would be included for the $17 euro price tag.
The restaurant was great, but expensive. See my separate review if interested.
If we returned to the area, we would stay somewhere different as the price did not warrant the expected quality.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

On our round tour in France we had several stops in the Pyrenees, the last one was on the St. Jacobs way in St Jean Pied de Port. The Hotel is directly located at the main street and on a square, good to have a room to the garden/swimmingpool.
But for us the room was very disappointing, superior with gardenview for € 255, the highest category. That the room was dark due to the covered balcony was not great but acceptable, we disliked more the facts that the balcony could not be locked, it was broken, the lighting in the entrance did work only 2 times, not sure why. The cobwebs on the lamps, the very basic interior, the creaks of the bed. Bathroom had a good sized shower.
From the room ' Coquelicot ' to the breakfast /dining room we had to pass a long hallway which seemed to have a sticky cover, not pleasant.
Positive facts, they have limited private parking ( for a fee ), a friendly reception and a very good Restaurant ( public ). The town is just a few miles away from the Spanish border and even by car one can follow the way to Santiago de Compostella also very close to Pamplona.
St. Jean has adjusted to the pilgrimage.
Visit the Restaurant it is a real treat but expansive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We are for Puerto Rico and we traveled 22 hrs. straight to get to Saint Jean ) San Juan- Miami-Madrid - train to Pamplona and taxi to Saint Jean)...so a very nice place to stay at was very welcomed. It was the beginning of our very long journey so we slept and ate very well. It is quite pricey especially the restaurant so we ate very well elsewhere. They are plenty of places to eat so I recommend that if you want to save some bucks....do that.
All in all....the perfect place to start at.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here 15 years ago and it was a great experience. This trip, the hotel had been remodeled, and the service and and accommodations were as good as our memories. The rooms are spacious, quiet, and well furnished. The restaurant was excellent, with a wonderful menu and great presentation. They still serve a favorite wine, Jurançon Blanc. The location is perfect for exploring St. Jean Pied de Port. This time we arrived too late to go to the market, on our previous visit there were hand crafted textiles, carvings, and even the local berets.

Room Tip: October was low season, so all of the rooms were quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We knew the next few weeks were going to be "roughing it" on the Camino de Santiago pilgrimage route. After a red-eye flight, three trains and a bus, it was a relief to arrive at the Hotel Les Pyrenees, knowing we had two nights to switch time zones and prepare for our hike.

We checked in late but the restaurant accomodated us for dinner and what a dinner it was. As a foodie, I appreciated the traditional French cuisine. But, the dessert! Tiny, tiny strawberries carefully arranged on a perfect little tart. Incredible. I thought about that wonderful dessert many times over the following days, savoring the memory while munching leftover M & Ms.

We wanted to leave on the pilgrimage early in the morning, before the restaurant was open for breakfast. The kind staff brought a tray to our room the night before, complete with a coffee maker and continental breakfast. Thank you for your consideration, Hotel Les Pyrenees. It was a long walk to Roncevalles that day and a good breakfast made the hike better.

It seemed a bit decadent to start a pilgrimage by staying in a Relais and Chateaux. But after our stay at Hotel Les Pyrenees, we decided it was a great way to begin the trip and we would absolutely do it again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PurpleBackpack282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ramuntcho
Hotel Ramuntcho
#2 of 3 in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
139 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Clementenia
Hotel Clementenia
#1 of 1 in Arneguy
41 reviews
2.1 mi away
Logis Hotel Xoko-Goxoa
Logis Hotel Xoko-Goxoa
#1 of 2 in Saint-Michel
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Andreinia
Hotel Andreinia
#1 of 1 in Esterencuby
200 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Eskualduna
Hotel Restaurant Eskualduna
#1 of 1 in Saint-Martin-d'Arrossa
192 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Arce
Hotel Restaurant Arce
#1 of 3 in Saint-Etienne-de-Baigorry
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Pyrenees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Pyrenees

Address: 19, place du General-de-Gaulle, 64220 Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
Price Range: $198 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Pyrenees 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Les Pyrenees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing