We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maison Donamaria is a safe haven for the weary traveler.”
Review of Maison Donamaria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Donamaria
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maison Donamaria is a safe haven for the weary traveler.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had the good luck to stay with Jean-Francois back in July, after a month of travelling. He is a most charming host and very eager to please his guests. Moreover he is a fountain of knowledge on many subjects, from local hiking trails to the history of the many ancient anvils that decorate his house.
Donamaria is a classic old building that grabs your attention the minute you enter it and you can choose from a whole library of books if you are so inclined and settle on the couch ....or you can go outside and enjoy the charming garden and swimmingpool. There is also a river flowing right next to the property.....beautiful setting! The location is just far enough away from the very busy center of town (bubbling with Camino pilgrims) to give you a feeling of a retreat and relaxation.
Great memories!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brig555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    12
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
30
85
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is obviously a labour of love for Jean Francois, which puts his stamp on the lovely traditional pays-basque house directly on the banks of the river. We got there after the end of crazy month-long rains and everything was blooming in the garden, and the air was divine. The room we had, off the main house, had windows facing the river. Though not big or fancy, it was extremely clean and the shower had good pressure.
The location itself was a short bracing walk from the town along the river, which was perfect for after dinner stroll. JF knows a lot about the area and makes good recommendations for food in the village, as well as day trips to surrounding areas. He is a hiker himself so he has lots of good advice for these things. Breakfast was also interesting as all the guests sat at a large table and ate together. In all,we stayed 2 nights, but we felt like we could easily have stayed a week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonbuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I spent one night in this maison and our only regret was that we should have stayed there longer than that! I asked for a room facing the river and we enjoyed the soothing sounds through the open window. The room was really clean, quiet and spacious. Jean Francois is an excellent host and provides with a lot of information about the region's past and present. He is really easy-going and made us feel really at home, as if we were visiting a relative. We hope to be back in the future and will definitely stay in Donamaria!

Room Tip: If you enjoy the sound of the river, ask for a room facing it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronicamoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in this lovely home for one night before beginning the Camino. We were traveling as a family with 2 children and had the family suite. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. The view from the window was the mountain we would be hiking the next day. Jean-Francios was a wonderful host. Breakfast was perfect to fuel us for our hike and prepared at our requested time.Jean-Francios was very knowledgeable of the Camino and helped arrange transport of our extra luggage. The walk into town for dinner was picture perfect. I only wish we had stayed longer. He has a nice website with information in English, French and Spanish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UFtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayase, Japan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here at the start of our Camino de Santiago journey. It was definitely one of the highlights on our European adventure. Jean Francois is an incredible host who goes to great lengths to ensure that his guests have everything they need.

We arrived into SJPdP and while checking into the pilgrim office, we were told that the mountain route was closed. We knew that there had been some snow a few days prior but we were use to backpacking in the mountains so it was a bit of a disappointment. Knowing that we wanted to hike the mountain route, Jean Francois did some research on the current conditions for us. He called a friend who had drove all the way to Roncesvalles and he even drove up to the refugio half way up the mountain to talk with the owner and check the conditions himself. All his research made us feel comfortable that we had the proper equipment to take the mountain pass.

The B&B is a very pleasant house located just down the river from the village. It definitely guaranteed a good night's sleep before a long hike. Jean Francois recommended a restaurant in town where we could enjoy local cuisine at a good price. Thankfully we arrived early because it quickly filled up with locals and they had to turn people away. The food was delicious as he predicted!

Knowing that we wanted to get an early start, Jean Francois prepared our breakfast early so we could eat and be on the trail by 8AM. Overall, I think this is a great B&B to stay for one night or hopefully longer! If we ever return to SJPdP, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollockce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our stay at Maison Donamaria in terms of accommodation was a highlight of a month long trip. Jean Francois the host has created a wonderful retreat with modern spacious bedrooms, while the common area reflects the history and charm of St Jean Pied de Port. On the edge of town the location guarantees you'll get a peaceful nights sleep. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaktiDurga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

4 of us stayed at Donamaria for the 2nd time during cycling trips in the area. We love the location, a short walk along the river to downtown; we love the comfort of the rooms and the beds; and we love the owner Jean-Francois, who is always eager to share his knowledge of the ara to make sure everyone has a good time. We intend to return with even more friends, and spend a longer period enjoying the comforts and the hospitality of this great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanmoreCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
3.9 mi away
Hotel Clementenia
Hotel Clementenia
#1 of 1 in Arneguy
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ramuntcho
Hotel Ramuntcho
#1 of 3 in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Pyrenees
Hotel Les Pyrenees
#3 of 3 in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Andreinia
Hotel Andreinia
#1 of 1 in Esterencuby
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Parc d'Arradoy
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le P...
#1 of 14 in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gite Azkorria
Gite Azkorria
#7 of 20 in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Donamaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Donamaria

Property: Maison Donamaria
Address: 1 chemin d'Olhonce, 64220 Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Basque house is situated in a quiet spot along the banks of the river "La Nive." Five minutes will take you to the historic center of the village... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing