We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lofty Fig Villas(Marsh Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grabbers Bed, Bar & Grill(Great Guana Cay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahama Beach Club(Treasure Cay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delphi Club(Marsh Harbour)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Turtle Club & Marina(Green Turtle Cay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
218
71
12
10
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
71
12
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontharbour lodgeelbow cayreef bardining roombeautiful beachevery morningshops and restaurantsferry dockfood was greatbreakfast and lunchthe general managergolf cartbeach sideget awaymain buildingoceanfront cottage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 312 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Tom (manager) & Gary (bartender) & all the rest: You did a very good job during our stay! Thank you very much, we appreciated it a lot. We had a wonderful time on Elbow Cay and will definetly come back as soon as possible! What a lovely island, lodge & town! Terrific beaches, great food... everything was perfect.
Watch out for Cap'n Jacks, The Hope Town Coffee House, Harbour's Edge Restaurant, Grille on da Beach & Sugar Shack. Rent a bike at Sundried T's and go to Tahiti Beach! We didn't like the Nipper's but Grabber's is fun! And the snorkeling, too, but be shure that the beaches on Elbow Cay are much better!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corollis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We were a bit too early for the warm weather trip I had fantasized about, but the Hope Town Harbour Lodge was a lovely and comfortable place to stay. The locals recommended May and June for warm weather, and October for warm water for swimming, (keep an eye on the storm patterns coming off west Africa if you travel in the fall.)
We stayed in an ocean view cabin. It was spacious and the kitchenette was very handy. The beautiful sand beach right in front of the Lodge boasts good reef snorkeling. Check out the bar menu at Ray's Place in the lodge building for some very fine lighter dinners.
Hope Town is a charming little village of brightly trimmed white clapboard cottages. There are a couple of good restaurants along the harbour's edge which offer such entertainment as bingo or trivia night and sometimes live music. We walked most everywhere and rented a golf cart to get to Tahiti Beach at the southern tip of the cay with great tidal flat wandering at low tide. This is low key vacationing and it suited us to a tee.
Our kudos to Tom for taking such good care of us and everything else at the Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Stayed here for five nights with a group of other students to take a painting workshop. Great location; very nice service. Get up early to watch the sun rise on the beach right outside the hotel bar -- you can take some pretty incredible pictures. Tom, the manager, is very helpful and friendly and will help point you to outfitters for outdoor activities, etc. The food at the Reef Bar and the restaurant is good for what's available on Elbow Cay -- in general there's not a lot of variety on this tiny island, so you eat pretty much the same stuff (grouper, fried conch, wahoo, etc.) everywhere you go, and the prices can add up fast. Tip: Our room didn't have a coffee maker but it did have a refrigerator, so we bought some local bread at the grocery store along with mango jam and cheddar cheese, canned pineapple, oranges, etc. so we could have breakfast in most days. Hot water for tea is provided at the Reef Bar along with coffee in the mornings starting at about 6:15 or so, so you could potentially bring some camping style foil bag meals and use the hot water to make them -- another way to save money. The breakfast at the Reef Bar is good however, so definitely do splurge on it for a morning or two -- eggs, cheese, fruit, the works -- (note -- ask for the fruit without citrus if you don't like the metallic taste of canned grapefruit, which can really influence the rest of the fruit!).
The coral reef really is right off the hotel's beach, so you can go snorkeling in minutes. The hotel's center-of-town location is convenient to the small grocery stores and other restaurants; if you stay on the other end of the island you'll need golf carts all the time to get around, so this is a great alternative. Having said that, it's easy enough to rent a golf cart or bicycle to get around; would recommend a golf cart to get to Tahiti Beach or even to Abaco Inn for a nice dinner, as there are rolling hills along the way and most of the bikes available are single-speed cruisers. Go explore the lighthouse, rent a kayak, have fun!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My husband and I arrived to Hope Town Harbour Lodge (HTHL) on Saturday, Sept 9 around 2:30 pm following a two flights, a taxi and ferry ride. We had the ferry call ahead so that someone was waiting for us to pick up our luggage and take them to our room. We arrived right on the ferry dock near HTHL, once you arrive you walk across the street, walk up the stairs and go directly into the hotel lobby. The lobby is small, cool and very clean. We were greeted, paid up front our room bill and went directly to our room.

We stayed in the Passion Fruit Cottage right in front of the ocean. The room is much larger than a hotel room; there is a small kitchenette with microwave, toaster and refrigerator. The room has a king size bed, large dresser, table w/ 2 chairs and there is a very nice adjoining bathroom and large shower. I give the room top marks, there was no phone or TV which forced us to get out and enjoy the beach.

We arrived on the Lobster Fest which was also Labor Day weekend. There were American's everywhere and RICH ones at that. I was not happy about the self aggrandizement some people needed, pointing out that they came on their "private plane" and their "yacht" was in the harbor. I wanted to let them know they could just get right back on their boat I wasn't impressed. Following the Labor Day rush there were common people like me and my husband ready to unwind and relax.

Hotel staff was top notch. Tom is a first class General Manager, he makes his job look easy and I was surprised he had been with HTHL for 10 years. His mannerisms and joy in his job made it look like he was still in the honeymoon phase and was just hired on. He is a happy individual and it is nice to stay where the employees are happy.

Because we were there on such a slow time of year breakfast was bare bone, if you wanted a bagel and cream cheese, toast or dry cereal they could accommodate but hot breakfasts were not being served after Labor Day. Lunches were served daily and every weekend there was a celebration that included a live band with some kind of meal special. The first Saturday was the Lobster Feast and the second Saturday when we came to visit for the Concerned Citizens Run was the Fish Feast. Both events were fun, music was great and so was the food. Dinner is held in the main dining room which has a really nice bar and where many sailors visit and American locals. Food is expensive on any Out Island plan to spend up to $250 a day on food and beverages. If you are a heavy drinker you may want to purchase your alcohol down at Vernon’s grocery store. If you have a small budget there is little restaurant down the street near Vernon’s where you can purchase lunch and dinner. I can’t remember the name but it is on the right side of the sidewalk near Vernon’s the food is good and more affordable.

Beach is on the Atlantic side so the current is pretty strong, if I was a decent swimmer I would have gone in and there were many who did, I was just too scared of getting swept away. The sand is beautiful, soft and white and the water is blue, blue, blue…

Bar was great, it is where I hung out all day, not necessarily drinking all day but did talk with the bar tenders who were fun to talk with and the drinks went down way too easy. I would recommend renting a golf cart. Take the cart to Tahiti Beach, once you go past Sea Spray Resort there is a sign that reads “Private Road”. The road is NOT private and you can take it all the way to Tahiti Beach. It is beautiful and you can walk out quarter mile and still be walking in the sand during low tide. Bring some water, pack a lunch and go for the day. There is no shade so bring your sun block.

Also remember to bring several cans of bug spray, there are mosquitoes on the island and as long as you keep spraying yourself you will not get bit. Also be careful not to leave open food in the rooms, there are small ants and there is nothing you can do about them other then not to entice them to come eat your food.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissKimandMrE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

For a first trip to the Abacos, Hopetown Harbour Lodge was perfect. Several of the smaller cays are accessible from Elbow Cay by boat (Guana Cay, Fowl Cay, Lubbers Landing, Tilloo Cay, Man-O-War Cay, parts of Great Abaco), and the lodge offers (easy) dock access. The hotel is walking distance to the shops and restaurants of Hopetown, and has both a beautiful beach (good snorkeling and swimming) and a nice pool with a great bar. The restaurants outside of Hopetown will pick you up if you arrange in advance. The lodge itself is very nice - rooms are well appointed in tropical style, with pretty decks and views. We stayed in an Ocean View Cabin (Guava) and found it to be a nice size, with good privacy. We really liked the small kitchenette (toaster, sink, microwave, small fridge - good for storing snacks, bread and jam for breakfast, beer). I would prefer not to stay in the rooms/cabanas near the pool (little privacy), but I thought the third floor of the main lodge would be beautiful and private. Staff were friendly and accommodating. On a negative side, I did not feel that the room was always as clean as I would have liked - e.g., shower and sinks were not cleaned daily. I asked at the front desk, and this was corrected the next day, so if you are sensitive in this regard, you might request daily bathroom cleaning at the outset. In addition, we did not care for the restaurant (for dinner) - we felt it was very expensive and the food was mediocre. It was a Sunday, so perhaps it was an off night. The food by the pool for lunch looked good, though we didn't try it, as we generally we preferred the other Elbow Cay restaurants (Cap'n Jacks and Harbour's Edge), or restaurants we accessed by boat (Cracker P's, Pete's Pub, Abaco Inn). We really enjoyed getting to know some of the staff and locals at these places. Overall, Hopetown Harbour Lodge is a beautiful and relaxing place, perfect for exploring Elbow Cay and the Abacos (both of which we loved!!), and we will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews