We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the mosquitos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope Town
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Watch out for the mosquitos”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a truly beautiful island, Elbow Cay...but the lodge is old, no TV, no cell service and very expensive food. There are primarily boaters in this fabulous vacation spot, but on land, the place is swarming with mosquitos. The beaches are wonderful including a friendly dolphin, but there are few luxuries on land. It is a pet friendly place, in fact the manager has two dogs which he lets bark in the evening. The biggest secret is the amount of prejudice on the cays. Man-o-War Cay does not allow non-white residents. That is as blunt as I can make it. I am not kidding, they are living in the 1700s in this part of the Bahamas. You won't find this information in any of the advertising or tourist information.

Room Tip: Get a cabin facing the ocean, if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hope Town Harbour Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Anne M,

First of all - thank you for being our guest here at The Hope Town Harbour Lodge - your business is appreciated. We certainly agree that this is truly one of the more beautiful places in the world and definitely a "fabulous vacation spot." We are also glad you got to meet the dolphin "Opie" who has been gracing us with his presence while fishing in the beautiful reefs just off our beach. We hope he stays around for a while!

Yes - the Lodge is an old historic gem - the original building was built in 1964 but that's quite new for Hope Town. This quintessential island village is 265 years old! Our beach front cottages are just a few years old and as a part of a new group of owners (as of June 15th) we are excited to have the opportunity to gently update this iconic property.

We are surprised you had no cell service as there is 3G and 4G cellular service in Hope Town and throughout The Bahamas. TV's however will never be a part of our experience - we would much rather you be on the beach with the dolphins! If you must have your fix - our neighbors at Harbour Edge restaurant have all of the television you can want.

Mosquitoes are not typically a part of the Hope Town experience this time of year - but the weather has unusually provided more than double the normal amount of rainfall this year. It is the tropics and this part of the ecosystem is something we are considering spraying for - but along with the Hope Town and Elbow Cay community we are very concerned about the impact of such a task on the birdlife and other wildlife here and will plan our efforts accordingly. Our personal experience has only really been affected around dusk and very early morning and heading into Ray's Place for a cool mojito has done the trick for many!

The most challenging part of your review is about Man-0-War Cay (a cay just to the north of Elbow Cay). Diversity is a major component of The Bahamas culture as residents and guests alike of every color and creed live, visit and do business in The Abacos every day. Your statement about not being "allowed" somewhere is incorrect. History has given many examples of prejudicial challenge the world over, even in the U.S. - but those days are gone in The Bahamas.

Again - we thank you for being our guests and would be honored to have you back again for another visit to Hope Town. Please let us know how we can help make that happen.

From all of the Team at Hope Town Harbour Lodge - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    65
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
65
133
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband and I traveled to this small island for one of the most enjoyable vacations ever. We rented a beach cabana and the view was second to none. The staff at Hope Town Lodge are some of the nicest and helpful people we have encountered. This really is a fantastic spot. If you are looking for deluxe accomodations this is probably not the spot. If you are looking for charming, relaxing and just off the beaten path this is your spot. We absolutley loved it and are already planning a trip back with our kids. This was even nicer than the pictures show.

The staff is extremely helpful and go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of.

Room Tip: Beach cabanas are great if you are looking for a bit more privacy, however, the rooms looked like th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indiana1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We recently spent 10 days over Christmas at Hope Town Harbour Lodge. We stayed in one of the ocean view suites with our 1 year old, and both sets of grandparents were in the same lodges. The food was great, the accommodations were lovely. Being right on the beach was the only way to go. Tom, the manager, was incredibly accommodating, and even made sure we all got our luggage on xmas eve (it didn't arrive with us from Miami via american airlines). Our son loved his dog, Blue. Every morning we woke up with the sun, and tom had coffee ready on the bar. The restaurants on the island were more than adequate and the scenery is lovely. Even as well-travelled people, we would stay here again, and it was my in-law's second trip to the lodge. We highly recommend it for the surroundings and the service. There's also a company on the island called "tiny Travellers" that rent out kid supplies ie. high chairs, strollers, for a very reasonable price. The only thing we brought with us was an ergo sling, as the resort supplied a pack-and-play for our toddler to sleep in.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, NH
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

If you want something different...this is a great place to go. Not a huge modern resort...just a really cute older collection of authentic Bahamian buildings with some modern private cottages right on the beach! Extremely well run by a Prince of a man Tom Haziel, and his excellent staff. Relatively easy to get to, but far off the usual beaten path. Hope Town shops and restaurants easily walkable, and the most beautiful, uncrowded beach right out front. My avatar (picture) was taken right there. Incredible location, nice pool, great food...this place is elegant yet rustic at the same time, and definitely not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have been visiting Hope Town for more than 20 years and this is always our first stop.We love the restaurant--the food is fabulous and competitive in price. The owner and staff at the Lodge are gracious and helpful and take an interest in everyone. We love Gary the bartender and have come to know several staff members over the years. The beach in front of the resort is the most beautiful anywhere with a reef for snorkeling too. The rooms and cottages are very nice and just what you need.

Room Tip: Look into the cottages on the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kemistry2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

After hearing many great things about the Abacos, we decided to book a trip for my wife's 40th birthday. We read about Elbow Cay in one of the Coastal Living issues, and decided that was the place we wanted to visit. My wife and I and our 2 girls, 6 and 8, booked five nights a the Hope Town Harbour Lodge. We ended up in one of the pool side cabanas, which have two double beds - perfect for a family of four. The hotel was very quaint, it was built over 50 years ago - I believe. The rooms were descent and what I expected - comfortable and clean. The only complaint I had were we kept getting little ants in our bathroom. Also our hot water did not work the first day we were there, but it got fixed fairly quickly. The beach on the resort was fantastic with descent snorkeling right off the shore. We ate breakfast every morning facing the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. The pool was nice and clean and the pool bar made some great adult beverages. One of the best parts of the resort was the manager Tom. Tom was always willing to help and made you feel right at home.

I would recommend Hope Town Lodge to anyone visiting the Abacos. One thing to remember, this is not a 5 star resort (I don't think there are many in the Bahamas), but it had a lot of charm and well located. We did take a look at one of the beach front Cabanas. Those looked very nice. Roomy with a king size bed, small kitchenette, and double vanity. I think these rooms are adult only. I do think the Hope Town Lodge was over priced for what you get, but I think that is common in the Bahamas. While we were there they had a $99 rate for the rooms in the main building - that would have been more affordable.

Room Tip: The Beach Front Cabana's seemed very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank areyoutravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Sometimes in life you find something special and this was truly wonderful experience.. We stayed in one of the oceanfront cottages where nothing was spared to provides a super deluxe accommodation.. The grounds, pool and dinning facilities were first class and the dinning room was the best cuisine we have ever experienced in the Bahamas.. Having lived in the country for over 38 years we thought we had experienced the best but our dinning experiences were the very best.. For quality and price it was an outstanding value as well.. The Lodge's General Manager Tom Hazel always is seeing to his guests every needs.. The staff was most well mannered, attentive and always helpful when called upon.. For boaters, dockage is complementary for Lodge guests.. Our last comment , we cannot wait to return again to this little touch of Paradise on quaint Elbow Cay, Abaco..
JHDennis and KCBurrows, Nassau, Bahamas

Room Tip: Ocean front cottages are the tops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bahamastradewinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Town
5.8 mi away
The Abaco Club
The Abaco Club
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
35 reviews
13.0 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
5.6 mi away
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
0.3 mi away
Hope Town Inn & Marina
Hope Town Inn & Marina
#1 of 4 in Hope Town
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Town Harbour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Town Harbour Lodge

Property: Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Address: Queen Street, Hope Town, Elbow Cay
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Elbow Cay > Hope Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Town Harbour Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it's locally called - "The Lodge" is quaint, essentially Hope Town's heart and soul. Aligning the renowned Hope Town Harbour iconically watched over by its historic candy stripe light house and then backing up to one of the most beautiful white sand beaches in The Bahamas - a more idyllic vacation spot could not be found. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hope Town Harbour Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Town Harbour Hotel Great Abaco Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing