We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best sailing ever

We were booked on a catamaran but it blew an engine so we were screwed. After much research we... read more

Reviewed August 11, 2019
Patricia S
,
Milmont Park
9 Days on Antidote

WOW! This was our third charter with Cruise Abaco in about a year. We are addicted! My wife and I... read more

Reviewed July 11, 2019
Chris M
,
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Read all 165 reviews
  
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
161
2
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
161
2
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain joe charter company amazing week another couple irish lass in great condition treasure cay tahiti beach top notch perfect size other companies fantastic trip week sailing great instructor can't wait to go back the owner boat show
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 165 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

We spent 9 days in the Abacos and 7 aboard Pretty Lady with Captain Aaron. This was our second trip with Mark and Patti’s company in paradise. Carefree days of sailing, snorkeling, sailing and then relaxing on a mooring, anchor or slip promote a complete recharge and lifelong family memories. Thanks for another great trip!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Apmille1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at Cruise Abaco, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2019

Thanks so much for chartering with us once again and have a wonderful summer and look forward to having you as our guests again! Mark & Patti & entire Cruise Abaco crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019

From our initial contact via email to inquire about a charter trip, to our on the ground and in the sea experiences with the crew at Cruise Abaco - it couldn't have been any better. The boat was immaculate, beautiful and well equipped. We never felt like we didn't know what to do next or that we were missing anything. The only thing wrong is that we had to leave after a week! We can't wait to come back and visit the The Abacos again on a Cruise Abaco boat!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at Cruise Abaco, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Thanks so much, we are so happy you enjoyed your trip and we look forward to your return! Have a great summer! Mark & Patti & entire Cruise Abaco crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Ready to book our second charter because the first one was such a great experience. We refreshed our knowledge with ASA 101 and 103 (had already taken US Sailing 101 and 103 but on monohull). Thoroughly enjoyed the large cat (40') experience. Appreciate Captain Ray's expertise as we learned how to manage the twin engines since the boat definitely maneuvers under power very differently than a monohull.

The waters of Abaco Sea and the Atlantic are breathtaking!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank sailingRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at Cruise Abaco, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Thanks so much for your kind words and we are so happy you had a wonderful vacation and learned as well. We look forward to having you as our guests again! Have a great summer! Mark & Patti & Cruise Abaco crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

Just completed our second charter with Cruise Abaco, and had a great experience with them. Staff was knowledgeable and fun to work with. The boat was in great condition - couple of minor things but that's par for any charter we've ever done. Will definitely look to them for the next trip to the Abacos.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at Cruise Abaco, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Hello, Thanks so much and we look forward to having you as our guests again! Have a wonderful summer! Mark & Patti & entire Cruise Abaco crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019

I've chartered boats in many locations throughout the Caribbean and Mediterranean and my experience at Cruise Abaco was one of the best. The boat, the sailing area, and the staff of Cruise Abaco combined to make for a wonderful week for my wife and me along with another couple.

TL;DR:
- Boat in nearly new condition
- No grills on monohulls
- Lovely sailing area
- Small-ish charter company was reliable
- They require an actual sailing checkout and cash/cash equivalent deposit
- Friendly and knowledgeable staff
- Highly recommend

More detail if you like:

The 34ft Jeanneau monohull, “Pretty Lady”, that we charted was in nearly new condition, sailed well, and was very comfortable for 2 couples. The boat had a draft of under 5 feet which is quite helpful in the shallow Sea of Abaco. There was plenty of sun protection and even air conditioning that could be used on shore power. The only thing missing was a grill which the owner explained was prohibited by insurance for various reasons. Only their catamarans have grills. If you can afford it, a catamaran would be the preferred option both for draft, and the ability to grill on board.

The Sea of Abaco is a beautiful sailing destination, though in March it’s not quite as warm as further south in the Caribbean. We had a few days where the high temperature was barely 70F and a jacket was definitely needed at night. We also had plenty of days with temps in the mid 80’s. The sea itself is quite shallow and not particularly well charted in spots, prudent seamanship will be rewarded with nice harbors and extremely friendly people.

We did pay for the range extension that allowed us to go around “The Whale” and up to Green Turtle Cay. Whale Cay channel has quite a reputation and the charter company won’t let you go there if it’s bad. However, as someone who’s sailed through Wood Hole in Buzzards Bay MA on numerous occasions I do wonder about their definition of tricky. It was calm and beautiful on both our passages. Green Turtle Cay was nice but we didn’t have enough time in the area to really explore or swim with the pigs on No Name Cay. For us the range extension was worth it, even with only a week on the boat, but I wouldn’t call it a must have.

Back south of The Whale we especially enjoyed our time on Man-O-War Cay and in Hopetown. Man-O-War has a much more “local” vibe and was extremely relaxing. The Hibiscus Cafe had excellent food at reasonable for an island prices. Hopetown is more “cute” and touristy but still quite pleasant. It’s the one place we had a challenge finding a mooring so I’d recommend calling some of the providers a day or two ahead if you can. It’s worth it to be in the harbor instead of anchored out. We also had the rare pleasure of seeing a Manatee right in Hopetown Harbor. We also enjoyed Great Guana Cay which has Nippers Beach Bar and Grill for the party types and a very nice beach.

One interesting thing about Cruise Abaco that I haven’t experienced before was the sailing checkout. In every other charter I’ve done I’ve been given a boat briefing and then pushed off the dock with a smile and a good luck. At Cruise Abaco we had to do a tack and a gybe with Captain Amber on board, and then a touch and go at the fuel dock to drop her off. I actually appreciated this as I think it shows how much they care about their boats. It’s also probably because they are a smaller company that can’t afford to have boats down due to “credit card captains.” The size of the company also explains their deposit policy. The deposit must be cash, travelers check, or a certified check. There will be no disputing the charges on your credit card if something goes wrong. Unlike some other charter companies I’ve dealt with they didn’t find BS “bent stanchions” or the like to charge me for, so I find their policy reasonable.

All the staff we dealt with were warm and friendly and willing to answer questions at any time. The owner Mark is extremely knowledgeable and likes to talk. We encountered him several times out and about the islands as he was checking on various operations he runs. We relied on him for advice on the weather and finding the best snorkeling. Always a fun conversation.

We are definitely talking about coming back to the Sea of Abaco and will definitely charter from Cruise Abaco if we do.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank amwlts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews