We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best sailing ever

We were booked on a catamaran but it blew an engine so we were screwed. After much research we... read more

Reviewed August 11, 2019
Patricia S
,
Milmont Park
9 Days on Antidote

WOW! This was our third charter with Cruise Abaco in about a year. We are addicted! My wife and I... read more

Reviewed July 11, 2019
Chris M
,
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Read all 165 reviews
  
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
161
2
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
161
2
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain joe charter company amazing week another couple irish lass in great condition treasure cay tahiti beach top notch perfect size other companies fantastic trip week sailing great instructor can't wait to go back the owner boat show
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 165 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2018

We rented a Helia 44 for 8 days last week and had a wonderful experience. We have been very long time charter customers, mainly in the BVI and other far-reaching locations, and have used a mix of charter companies including some of the 'big guys'. We are also someday retirees (aren't we all) that are evaluating yacht buying options and were attracted to the Fontaine Pajot (FP) fleet available through Cruise Abaco!

Well, the boats availed in the Cruise Abaco fleet are exceptional - all modern and recent yachts. The FPs are super comfortable for parties between 6 and 8 guests (depends on cabin configuration) and for cruising charter catamarans they sailed very well. We averaged 6 - 9 knots boat speed in 10 - 15 knots of apparent wind in various points of sail.

The Cruise Abaco! operation was also quite solid. They were flexible in letting on-board slightly early to get our groceries on board and did our boat walkthrough the evening before our departure. As an experienced sailor and charter customer, the test sail was a bit of a pain, but we need to understand these are super nice catamarans that are well maintained and cared for - as a potential owner we need understand the need for discretion and not sending inexperienced sailors out on these nice boats. We did have a few maintenance issues apparent in our pre-check out (again, we got on early so found some things that presumably would have been found out) as well an issue identified after we left the base. The response was excellent and timely, all things taken care of pronto. Finally, the base crew is available at all times - friendly responses and very informative with advice on routes, anchorages, etc.

As a long-time BVI charter customer, we were completely impressed with sailing the Sea of Abaco. Fun and interesting destinations - historical towns with tons of personality and access to some amazing beaches on the Atlantic side of the Cays made each stop unique and fun. Lots of access to provisions both at main harbor and around the anchorages, at the same time lots of places for isolated anchorages for some alone time. The sailing was fantastic - we sailed in mid April and had solid but shifting winds and some super long sail days of +30 nautical miles sailed up and down the chain. We are fans of the Abaco now, giving it a nod over the BVI at this point!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank hathorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at Cruise Abaco, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Hello, We enjoyed having you as our guests and happy you choose us! Thanks for our kind words and we look forward to having you again! Have a great summer! Mark & Patti & entire crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

Hands down the best vacation to date! We have visited many Caribbean locations but when we were looking to include an ASA certification, Cruise Abaco was the perfect choice. We spent a week with Captain Joe as our instructor who convinced me to join my husband in taking ASA 101,103 and 104. So glad I did! Came back with a lot more confidence in sailing, docking, and anchoring.

Joe is extremely knowledgeable and patient and went above and beyond to anchor, moor and dock us at some amazing locations, some very secluded. He even took time to walk us around town in Hopetown and Treasure Cay. Joe allowed ample time for us to snorkel as we requested at the beginning of our trip. His sense of humor and stories kept learning fun and easy. We saw conditions ranging from 10-30 knots but never missed a beat and kept the boat moving.

Everywhere we went Captain Joe was sought out by past charter guests for help with float plans, or just to say hello. Off the water he is just as helpful and went as far as to rescue my biodegradable soap from the showers at Abaco Beach Resort, and to get a new non stick skillet and spatula when we discovered ours were missing from the boat.

We can’t say enough good things about the entire crew at Cruise Abaco from Bonnie who set up our charter, to Mark, Brian, and Bruce who assisted at multiple points throughout the week.

We highly recommend Cruise Abaco and Captain Joe! Can’t wait to return and explore more of this beautiful spot.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank laurieb847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at Cruise Abaco, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hello, Thanks so much for your kind words and we look forward to having you return and bareboat! Have a wonderful summer! Mark & Patti & entire Cruise Abaco crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2018

We (husband, wife, and 5yr old daughter) did a 9 night trip with Cruise Abaco and did our ASA certification with Ray as our captain/instructor. Not only did Ray turn a couple of complete novices into competent sailors, he made the whole experience fun for the entire family. His ability to balance safety, learning, and fun was impeccable. My only warning would be... be careful, after spending a week with Ray on a catamaran, you'll want to go buy a boat yourself ;-)

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at Cruise Abaco, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Hello, Thanks so much for your kind words and we are happy you choose us! We look forward to you bareboating with us soon! Mark & Patti & entire Cruise Abaco crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

We have chartered Chasing Dreams with Cruise Abaco for 10 days with our three kids. Their service was fantastic from beginning to end. Mark is terrific and super attentive. He traveled to fix our dingy and was always responsive throughout outer trip, even with simple questions about where to visit and when. Captain Ray gave us a detailed briefing on our first day that served us well on every day of our trip. Captain Amber was helpful when we came back and needed assistance with docking and checkout. Bonnie was great with respect to booking, coordination and making out trip an easy experience. The boat was in great shape. If you are looking for a stress-free charter we encourage you to book with Cruise Abaco. We have chartered from multiple places before and their service is impeccable. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 780kerent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at Cruise Abaco, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2018

Hello, Thanks so much for choosing us and we appreciate your kind words! Look forward to seeing you again and have a wonderful summer! Mark & Patti & entire Cruise Abaco crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

We initially looked at Florida for ASA training, but opted to pay a bit more in airfare to go to Abaco and it was the best decision we made. Everyone at Cruise Abaco was extremely friendly and helpful from the booking with Bonnie, during our training with Captain Aaron and after our week talking with the owner Mark. Aaron was easy going and very patient and did a great job planning our week and asking for our input. It was great having the option of staying in the different harbors or a remote night on the hook. Will definitely do this again.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank desotodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at Cruise Abaco, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Hello, We are so happy you had a great trip and we look forward to your return and bareboating with us! Have a great summer! Mark & Patti & Cruise Abaco crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews