We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best sailing ever

We were booked on a catamaran but it blew an engine so we were screwed. After much research we... read more

Reviewed August 11, 2019
Patricia S
,
Milmont Park
9 Days on Antidote

WOW! This was our third charter with Cruise Abaco in about a year. We are addicted! My wife and I... read more

Reviewed July 11, 2019
Chris M
,
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Read all 165 reviews
  
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
161
2
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
161
2
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain joe charter company amazing week another couple irish lass in great condition treasure cay tahiti beach top notch perfect size other companies fantastic trip week sailing great instructor can't wait to go back the owner boat show
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 165 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2018

My husband and I were looking for a place to have a nice vacation and also take the ASA 101, 103, 104 and 114 Certification Courses. This turned out to be the perfect company to do this with. We were really impressed with every aspect that Cruise Abaco had to offer. (Beautiful location, great instructors, nice Marina, friendly people, personal attention, sparkling clean boat!) Captain Joe was awesome. He was supper patient and was a wonderful teacher. He also made great suggestions for where to go and places to eat each day. We highly recommend Cruise Abaco. We can't wait to go back!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank paulsentribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at Cruise Abaco, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2018

Thanks so much for your kind words and we all care and work hard to be sure all expectations are met and we are so happy you had such a wonderful trip and look forward to seeing you on the docks again! Mark, Patti & Cruise Abaco crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

I am a proffesional skipper Ive been developing my career with charter boats in 3 different continents working with more than 20 charter companies and i know how difficult it could be sometimes dealing with them specially during the checkout process. all i can say is good words about this company with their understandable way of thinking trying to make everything fast and efficient while giving excelent customer service. if i have the chance i'll charter a boat with them again.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Jorge I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at Cruise Abaco, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Hello, Thanks so much for your kind words , it is much appreciated and look forward to working with you! Capt. Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

A group of us visited Abaco for a week and booked a day trip with Cruise Abaco and had the pleasure of Capt Mark at the helm. He met us in Man-O-War Cay and we sailed a short distance to dive for some conch, then we anchored up at Fowl Cay Reef for great snorkeling. While we were swimming the reef Mark had made some fresh conch salad! What a treat! Anchor up and we were off sailing along and crossed another of his charters. Mark told us they were here to get a certification (sailing?) and challenged them to race. He let them get ahead a bit but overtook them in a few moves that had our crew helping with lines. So much fun! Mark is a great entertainer and obviously loves what he does. I highly recommend Cruise Abaco for your upcoming Bahamian adventure.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Right_Rigger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at Cruise Abaco, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

We booked a large, expensive catamaran with them. We had a very experienced skipper. On our first day, they had him take us out and spent an unnecessarily LONG time having him show he can maneuver the boat. Then, after we left the port for the day, Mark sent us an email telling us that we can't go beyond certain (fairly close) boundaries without paying $250 fee. We sent an email back stating that we would pay the fee since we didn't know where we wanted to go. Then he replied back and said it was too late. That made no sense. We know what he was doing. He was trying to keep us from hanging out with another group of yachts that were doing a tour of the Abacos. We were not affiliated with them, but Mark kept suggesting that we were. There's nothing in the contract prohibiting us from hanging out with other yachts and we did want to hang with other people. He had our full deposit well before the trip and we are a very responsible group of people. This caused us to have to dock our boat for a few days and adjust plans, which in turn cost us more money. Then, the last day we were able to meet back up with the group of yachts for a night. As soon as we returned to the dock, Mark came by and said he saw us from his house the night before with the group of yachts. He wasn't mean at this point, his mood changed because he realized that the yacht was in perfect condition, spotless, and we were extremely responsible.

All in all, I understand that Mark was worried, but he handled the whole situation in a poor manner. Mark should not expect people to check email when already out on the water. He really disrupted our trip, made us worry when we didn't even do anything wrong, we felt watched and monitored the whole trip, and it was just overall uncomfortable and not enjoyable. For those reasons, I can't recommend Cruise Abaco.

Date of experience: January 2018
12  Thank penshockey668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

I chartered the Helia 44, Torosay, bareboat from Dec. 28- Jan 6th, 2018, and experienced the same winter storm referenced by the poor review below. We had purchased the $250 "area extension" in advance, the necessity of which was clearly communicated to us beforehand. However, when we got to the boat, Mark immediately informed us that he was revoking the extension through the Whale Cay passage because seas would be unsafe. This was disappointing (and overly conservative, in my opinion) because the storm was not to hit for another 4 days. I do understand their worry, and Mark refunded us the $250, which was equitable. As it turned out, the storm did churn up some very bad weather later in the week (25+ kts. in the Sea of Abaco), so we would not have wanted to be making that passage by then.

As the skipper, I was very grateful to Captains Joe and Vince for going out of their way to advise us during our charter. I talked to both of them during the week (via cell and chance encounters in port) for recommendations and advice regarding passages and anchorages (and good bars!) to take refuge during the storm. Joe called in a favor to secure us a slip at a Hope Town marina so we would have a guaranteed berth during the storm in case the mooring field was full. We are indebted to them and appreciate their experience and good natures!

Overall, we really enjoyed ourself on this charter. The boat was in great condition and the Abacos were very beautiful. We also appreciated Mark and his staff accommodating us as we loaded scuba tanks and gear for 7 people, and for driving it back to the dive shop for us at the end. That was not necessary, but was a kind gesture.

My only real complaint is that Cruise Abaco does not offer a "sleep aboard" night at a reduced rate, which covers the day you spend loading gear and checking in. This is a common practice at other charter companies in the BVIs and on the Chesapeake Bay. Given that Cruise Abaco starts their checkouts at 3pm, there is almost no chance of sailing the first day, yet you are still charged for that as a full day. Similarly, you are requested to be back in port by 10am the final day. Alternatively, it would've been great to be able to begin the checkout process earlier, so as to make use of the first day; however, that was not possible given their current structure.

Thanks again to Mark, Joe, Vince, Bonnie and the rest of the staff. We had a great time and hope to be back!

Joe

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at Cruise Abaco, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Hello Joe, Thanks so much for your kind words and we look forward to having you again! Patti , Mark & Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews