We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Loft Fig villa we rented, Sid, and his staff!”
Review of Lofty Fig Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marsh Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lofty Fig Villas
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the Loft Fig villa we rented, Sid, and his staff!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Immaculate, nice bed (extra points for thread count and linen comfort), good air conditioning, friendly and helpful folks, great location, well maintained pool, grounds and a perfect place to stay! I hope you won't keep looking around and just book with Sid, you will be glad you did. He doesn't have many units, so don't wait. I left my phone behind, (laid in the inviting hammock before we headed to the marina) and when he found it, Sid told me not to spend money on a taxi returning for it, but instead he brought it to me right away! Sigh of relief. I am picky about where I stay, it doesn't have to be the Taj Mahal but the above mentioned qualities matter a great deal to me. Thanks TripAdvisor for the connection, and thanks Sid for a great experience!

Room Tip: I saw only one other that our travel companion rented. It was comparably wonderful. They both had pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramonabaracuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
102
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Love the convenient location of the villas and the comfortable and island feel of the property. Sig, the owner is a very nice and helpful person, the villas offer the comfort of personal room, small kitchen and living room area without losing the taste of "family island" stay.
Walking distance are all the small restaurants and flavors of Marsh Harbor.
It is a diver friendly environment with tile floors, useful hanging lines on the grass outside to let your gear drip dry and a mosquito protected patio area where to enjoy the evening.
Loved it so much the first time, stayed there again the second time.

Room Tip: Any of the villas are a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I've been back in the Abacos for a week and a room at The Lofty Fig Villas is once again my choice for the stay.
The owner, Sid, is still pleasant and accommodating and makes sure that everything is just perfect for his guests. His longtime employees, Melissa and Lindor are very dependable and hardworking, along with being great folks to visit with. I have another 10 days here and no longer even consider staying in a different location. After years of visiting this area and staying in many different locales, I am confident that I have made the right choice the minute the taxi turns in to The Fig.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaucluse France
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. Great to have the option of making food in what amounts to a studio appartment.

Sid was brilliant in that he offered useful advice and located the telephone number of a good friend who was not in the phone book

Convenient for at least three restaurants although one was clearly not in favour with Sid.

I know these things happen in the Out Islands but we suffered two extended power cuts that left us unable to have a much needed shower (water goes off too) or make breakfast. There were candles in the room but no matches and we were really quite concerned about coming back from one restaurant after dark. Perhaps torches or fixed LED lights would be a simple solution?

Clearly the cuts were no fault of the lovely Sid, but anyone who visits Abaco, or any other Out Island should be aware of possible problems.

One other anoyance was the barking dogs that went on most of the day and night

Having said that the gardens were beautifully kept and the rooms were immaculate and if we ever find ourselves on Abaco we would stay at Lofty Fig

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great location. Walking distance from restaurants, across the street from the marina and in between liquor store and convenient store. Friendly owner and honest cleaning staff, as a special ring was left on the sink and returned, before a new boat was bought ;-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtidwell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at The Lofty Fig Villas in Marsh Harbour, the rooms were perfect for our stay, very clean and comfortable, great little kitchen and lovely pool and grounds, I would recommend this great place, we also hired a Boat Captain, Captain James who is a perfect guide, give him a call at 1-242 458 2380, he's also a great chef and cooked us some amazing meals .So if you are looking for the perfect combination you cannot go wrong with Lofty Fig Villas and Captain James.

Room Tip: We had rooms 5 & 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Abaco on a 5day trip that included two days of diving with Dive Abaco. The Lofty Fig is located right across the street from the dive store and is surrounded by a number of good restaurants. The rooms have ample room with a couch, kitchen, table and big porch, more than expected. The rooms very clean and modern. I also spent time in the pool and tanning on the hammock. Great place to spend some time!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pylut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsh Harbour
0.3 mi away
The Abaco Club
The Abaco Club
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
34 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hope Town
280 reviews
23.9 mi away
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marin...
#1 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
16.7 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lofty Fig Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lofty Fig Villas

Property: Lofty Fig Villas
Address: P.O. Box AB20437, Marsh Harbour ab20437, Great Abaco Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Marsh Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, the Lofty Fig has six spacious rooms situated around their private swimming pool. Each air-conditioned studio style room is comfortably furnished with a queen bed. There is a large eating and living area inside with a table and chairs, sofa and easy chair and a fully equipped kitchen with a pass through window to your private porch. Roll-away beds are available on request. All rooms have free WiFi internet access and a 32inch flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lofty Fig Villas Hotel Marsh Harbour
Lofty Fig Villas Abaco Islands, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing