We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pride of Ownership”
Review of Lofty Fig Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marsh Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lofty Fig Villas
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just returned, 5/19/2013,from a seven day sail trip of the Abacos islands in the Bahamas, that culminated with a one night stay at the Lofty Fig Villas in Marsh Harbor. The place was clean, comfortable, charming, and relaxing. A good part of the allure was the on site presence of the owner, Sid Dawes, who promptly responded to our reservation request via email, and greeted us upon arrival. He also walked us to the unit and spent 10 minutes explaining all the features and inner workings of the room. It was a nice touch that showed his pride of ownership. The on site grill, pool, and kitchenette came in handy for addressing boat left overs. I highly recommend this place for short or longer term stays.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allen7701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 218 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent a long weekend here last weekend-totally satisfied. Sid does a great job to ensure your comfort. Great location in the heart of marina/restaurant district.Would stay here again! Five stars in my opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claret_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We flew down to the Abacos to visit friends staying on their sailboats. We chose to stay at the Lofty Fig which is exactly as it is pictured. Small, cozy and beautifully kept, the Lofty Fig was truly a gem. Once we arrived from the airport by taxi, there was no need for a car as we were able to walk to anything we needed (boat rental, adult beverages, shopping, groceries and restaurants). The Manager/Owner, Sid, is very friendly, helpful and a treasure of information. We invited our boat friends over and sat around the pool and thought about ways not to go back home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nothing against "chain" hotels, but the little owner-operated places like Lofty Fig are definitely the way to go. Lofty Fig is owned by "Sid", who himself is a reason to visit Marsh Harbor. It's located right in the middle of the restaurant/nightlife/waterfront district of Marsh Harbor. Dining, recreation and just plain relaxation are all within walking distance. Dive Abaco is just a few hundred feet away. And if you want more mobility, Rental Wheels is just a short walk down the road. Cars, bikes and motor scooters. But don't forget- In Bahamas you drive on the LEFT! Lofty Fig is about 3 miles from the airport and a mile from the ferry docks. The rooms are actually studio apartments with fully equipped kitchen and screened patios looking out onto the pool. Three buildings with two units each. So with only 6 rooms available, you DEFINITELY get the owner's personal attention. When you come to Marsh Harbor (or anywhere in the Bahamas) you have to be prepared for "a bit" of sticker shock. Prices in the Bahamas are definitely higher on everything than stateside. But Sid's place is definitely well priced by Bahamian standards. One short coming- not quite enough electrical outlets. If you have laptops or alot of rechargable equipment (I'm a cave diver so I have multiple lights and cameras to recharge) you may need to bring or borrow a couple extension cords from Sid. Looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I had booked a room at the Lofty Fig, but decided at the last minute to stay with friends. Sid was very understanding and the Villas look lovely! We will not hesitate to stay there in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at the Lofty Fig for one night at the end of our sailboat charter week. The hotel is very quiet, very clean, and the bed was super comfortable. Sid the owner is very friendly and very helpful and a fun guy to chat with. We would definitely stay there again. At the beginning of our trip we stayed for a night at the Conch Inn. Between the two, we thought the Lofty Fig was much nicer, much more comfortable, and just as good of a location if you are diving or sailing with Mooring/Sunsail. You cannot go wrong choosing the Lofty Fig.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Lofty Fig Villas is a great place to call home while in Marsh Harbour. Directly across the street from one of the marinas, restaurants, and some nice shops. A short walk (1mile) to the ferry that takes you to Hope Town.

Sid, the owner, makes everyone feel at home. The villas are a cut above a number of other places in the Bahamas. They are very comfortable, clean, with a great kitchen to make meals or just keep some beer cold!

The pool is very clean and with the BBQ nearby, you can have a wonderful dinner.

When there ask Sid the tips for the ring toss game.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. They are similar to a studio apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich_pickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsh Harbour
16.5 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
258 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hope Town
302 reviews
23.8 mi away
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marin...
#1 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
16.7 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lofty Fig Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lofty Fig Villas

Address: P.O. Box AB20437 | East Bay Street, Marsh Harbour ab20437, Great Abaco Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Marsh Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Price Range: $135 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, the Lofty Fig has six spacious rooms situated around their private swimming pool. Each air-conditioned studio style room is comfortably furnished with a queen bed. There is a large eating and living area inside with a table and chairs, sofa and easy chair and a fully equipped kitchen with a pass through window to your private porch. Roll-away beds are available on request. All rooms have free WiFi internet access and a 32inch flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lofty Fig Villas Hotel Marsh Harbour
Lofty Fig Villas Abaco Islands, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing