We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lofty Fig Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marsh Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lofty Fig Villas
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Wheeling, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting Abaco for over 30 years and have stayed in several hotels and cottages. Lofty Fig Villas is undoubtedly the best accommodation we have experienced in Marsh Harbour. The villas are perfectly located offering a choice of good restaurants, shops and a convenience store within a few steps. The eight cottages which are grouped around the pool are very clean, attractively and comfortably furnished, with well-equipped kitchen and privacy. The flat-screen TV and free wi-fi were also a welcome addition.
Sid and his staff are very friendly and made us feel that they really appreciated our business.
Most importantly, the Lofty Fig Villas represents excellent value for money.
David R

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
101
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and i enjoyed 10 days at this gem. Sid, the owner,is very friendly and helpful with his suggestions. The location is great as a base for visiting the various cays in the area as well as a base for several restaurants and boat rentals. The rooms are immaculate with all the necessary features such as wi-fi, kitchen,TV and a screened porch. The pool, patio and grills are added are nice touches. This is real value.

Room Tip: Suite #6 is the best and #5 fine away from road No restaurant or fitness center so not rated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Lofty Fig and its owner, Sid are definitely the best treasures you will find in the Abacos. Comfortable and clean rooms, pristine freshwater pool and an owner who does everything he can to make your stay enjoyable make Lofty Fig my choice each time I travel to Marsh Harbour and the surrounding Cays!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freising, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you are looking for an affordable (speaking in Abaco-terms) home for a few days on the beautiful Island of Abaco this is your place. It is small, well kept, spacious rooms with small kitchen situated in a nice garden with pool. Restaurants and supermarket close by. Sid, the Owner and Canadian is very helpful and definitely a nice guy.

Room Tip: rooms on the southern side are probably more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at Sid's place for three nights upon our arrival in Marsh Harbor. We had hoped for better weather as it rained half our stay, however the location was perfect for it. Liquor store next door and restaurants and bars across the street. We walked one day to get enough staples to cook breakfast in our room. Kitchen was suffieciently equipped with what we needed. Room and Bathrooms were clean and the perfect size for the two of us. Thanks for the stay Sid!

Room Tip: There is abviously noise from traffic when you're on the street side. Nothing too unbearable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Want2BWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Lofty Fig was perfect for me and my girlfriend during our stay in Marsh Harbor. The room was clean and well kept and there are some good restaurants right across the street for those rainy days. We came in early December so the weather can be a little unpredictable but we had a great time nonetheless. The pool was nice and clean and we had it all to ourselves because I guess us Canadians are the only people crazy enough to go in there this time of year. Sid, the owner, was very courteous and accomodating and we would recommend The Lofty Fig to our family and friends if/when they go to Marsh Harbor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExnerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Lofty Fig was an excellent stay for the week we were there. Both Sid and his staff were informative and helpful in helping us coordinate the things we wanted to do on the island. The "Fig" is located in the heart of Marsh Harbour. Though we rented a car to drive the island and see the sites, one can walk to the all the restaurants and the ferry in minutes. The dive shop is across the street as well as Mango's, Snappas and the Curly Tail restaurants. For those who want to take advantage of the kitchenette in your room, talk to Sid nicely, and he will drive you to Maxwells Superstore, a very well stocked grocery and pharmacy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsh Harbour
16.5 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hope Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
23.9 mi away
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marin...
#2 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#3 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
16.7 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lofty Fig Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lofty Fig Villas

Property: Lofty Fig Villas
Address: P.O. Box AB20437, Marsh Harbour ab20437, Great Abaco Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Marsh Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, the Lofty Fig has six spacious rooms situated around their private swimming pool. Each air-conditioned studio style room is comfortably furnished with a queen bed. There is a large eating and living area inside with a table and chairs, sofa and easy chair and a fully equipped kitchen with a pass through window to your private porch. Roll-away beds are available on request. All rooms have free WiFi internet access and a 32inch flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lofty Fig Villas Hotel Marsh Harbour
Lofty Fig Villas Abaco Islands, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing