We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True flavor of the Bahamas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I've long wanted to visit The Abacos, having heard of the world class fishing, fantastic diving and snorkeling and authentic out-island experience. I recently spent four nights at the Abaco Beach Resort in Marsh Harbour and I can't wait to get back! Abaco is more accessible than I expected and this charming resort - with its tenured and attentive staff, fabulous food, renovated rooms and beach front setting - has everything but the pretense. It is what The Bahamas used to be...laid back, friendly, economical and surrounded by clear turquoise waters dotted with hundreds of islands and cays. The neighboring, picturesque harbor towns are easily reached by rental boat (which I did) or shuttle ferry. All together, worthy of anyone's bucket list.
Lawrence H., Meeting Planner

Room Tip: Request Oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Director of Sales at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Lawrence H,

Thank you for taking the time to review and post your comments on our resort. Our hospitality team takes a lot of pride in making sure our visitors enjoy the real Bahamian 'Experience' that comes from an out island adventure.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Abaco Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 216 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

It is a destination in the Bahamas with lots of nearby island hopping options, quick airport access, amazing service on property and a great overall value for the price. Rooms - various options ranging from standard, suites to 1-2 bedroom villas/cottages. Very comfortable beds, spacious and super clean rooms. Restaurant - Anglers has a great menu with fresh & creative dishes. Or you can walk 10 min. off property and there's 2-3 options just outside of the resort w/ fun island vibe. Meeting & function space - various options w/ nearby settings for F&B. Marina - large and beautiful. Fishing, sailing, island-hopping as many of the Cays have a unique personality. And if you want to golf - Winding Bay is a must see/must play course. The owners/management and staff are superb. Do yourself a favor - just go there!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurePurple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Director of Sales at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Pure Purple 1,

Thank you fortaking the time to comment on your recen stay at Abaco Beach Resort.

The hospitality team works hard every day to make sure our guests enjoy the true Bahamian Out Island Experience and it is rewarding to know that we achieved our goal with your experience.

Thanks for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Abaco Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I just returned from spending a week at one of the best resorts in the Caribbean " The Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour" on Abaco Island. If you are looking for exceptional service, unbelievable cuisine and beautifully appointed (newly remodeled) ocean front rooms this is the place for you.

I didn't know what to expect on a lesser known island but I was pleasantly surprised.
The Marina is right in front of the hotel and you can easily rent a boat to visit the neighboring islands and the most pristine white sandy beaches you will ever see in your life.

This hotel is truly a "Diamond in the Ruff"! Can't wait to go back!

The island is also opening a new state of the art airport in March (which is really needed).

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies overlooking the ocean and are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PittsburghSeason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed only one night. The room was spacious, the bed extremely comfortable, and I loved the beach with free use of the kayaks. I had a delicious curried chicken salad at the nice open air bar by the pool. The bartender made a perfect Goombay Smash.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank AlohaLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nice clean hotel with comfy beds and a nice view during the day. It is very dark at night but you can see the stars for miles! Beautiful pools and playground for children. It is a long walk to the shopping core but there are taxis available.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationgirlOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed for a week in June while family fished the BBC. Stayed in a two bedroom condo. The condo was new and very nice. There were a few kinks in the room that maintenance resolved quickly. The unit was in excellent condition and extremely clean. The tiki bar at the pool was the happening spot and lots of fun.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank homefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights. The bed was comfy, we loved walking out our patio door and walking a couple hundred feet to take a swim in the ocean. the beach was sheltered by the boat harbor, so the swimming was always nice, regardless of the wind. It is walking distance (but keep an eye out for traffic) to Mermaid reef, a snorkeling site you can reach by swimming from shore.
Walking distance to the Abaco Dive Center, and Captain Keith really does know the best spots to take snorkelers and divers.
Food is not outstanding, but Curly Tails across the street, WOW!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsh Harbour
17.4 mi away
The Abaco Club
The Abaco Club
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
37 reviews
16.8 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
254 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hope Town
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marin...
#1 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
17.0 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina

Address: Bay Street, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Marsh Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Price Range: $286 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since it's inception in 1955 Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina has had the pleasure of welcoming back generations of loyal guests and families who continue to make the pilgrimage to Great Abaco Bahamas part of a storied family tradition. Simply and affectionately known as "Boat Harbour" to boating enthusiasts, Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina has become a legend as one of the best resort for individual and family vacations and boating enthusiast in the Bahamas. Thousands of beach loving vacationers and boaters return year round to rekindle old traditions and create their own uniquely Bahamian experiences. Located less than 165 miles east off the coast of Florida and situated on 40 beautifully tropical acres along the tranquil Sea of Abaco, the Abaco Beach Resort is the gateway to the World's finest fishing, eco-adventure excursion, historical island settlements and an abundance of aquatic activities. Experienced boaters and novices alike can chart their own course making stops at the surrounding offshore cays and pristine barrier islands that are just waiting to be explored. With a variety of activities ranging from island-hopping, kayaking, paddle boats, snorkeling, yoga, and water aerobics and diving to shopping and dining, The Abacos offer the perfect sanctuary for every type of aquatic and tropical island adventure. Our resort boost more than 89 guest rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, fitness center, 2 pool and is home to the largest marina in the Bahamas with 200 slips that can accommodate boats up to 200 feet in length. The resort concierge provides all the necessary amenities to assist boaters with preparations for a magnificent day on the water. Marina services include 24-hour security, Internet, TV, full detailing and cleaning, electricity and fueling services seven days a week, 365 days a year as well as on-site customs and immigration clearance. Whether planning a getaway for a family vacation, destination wedding, and corporate incentive trip or boating trip the Abaco Beach Resort is the ideal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco Beach Resort At Boat Harbour Hotel Marsh Harbour
Abaco Beach Marsh Harbour
Abaco Beach Resort And Boat Harbour Marina Abaco Islands, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing