We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Explore 'The REAL Bahamas'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Full disclosure: This was our first trip to the Bahamas. That having been said, however, hearing all the stories about Nassau, Freeport, and other major cruise ship ports of call, I cannot imagine a more "authentic" island getaway than to Marsh Harbour and the Abaco Beach Resort. The place is gorgeous and relaxed, and the staff, while wearing many hats (we saw the same friendly faces in various roles throughout our four-day stay), tries very hard. The best kept secret of the facility is the food: It's spectacular.

If you're a history and nature-loving foodie who doesn't tire of conch salad, langosta (spiny lobster) at every meal, and plenty of grouper, all presented in as laid-back an atmosphere as you can imagine, check out this destination.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room: more space and closer to the entrance, pool bar and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TulsaTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 215 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

I came from chilly Boston to this beautiful resort, right after Christmas via boat from West Palm Beach. The marina is gorgeous. The resort beautiful. The grounds are perfect as was all the staff. The weather could not be beat also...that always helps. All the facilities are in working order and spotlessly clean.
The restaurant was as good as any other on the island. The chef cooked a Mahi-Mahi that we had caught which was perfection.
I can't wait to come back this season and stay at the hotel. It looked beautiful.

Room Tip: Stayed at the Marina, so did not get to enjoy the hotel....it's on my list for my next visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

For reference, I have been to Turks and Caicos multiple times, St Thomas, Dominican, Aruba, Great Exuma, and Anguilla.

We went in the off off season and saw only 4 or 5 guests besides ourselves. Hurricane Sandy had taken down the internet antenna so our room (which was on the far end) did not have service. I inquired about this, but at no time did they offer to move us closer. This seems like a small thing, but how hard would it be to move us closer to the working antenna? We use devices to connect to work throughout our vacations, so we really needed it. It's the nature of our business.

The sand of the beach was outstanding and it was extremely large. The pools were clean and clear and the pool bar was very nice. The restaurant was fantastic.

Out dust ruffle on the bed was black with dirt. The mini-fridge was old and had to be slammed to stay shut. No toaster, no microwave.

The room was otherwise clean, and the maid service was good.

The water was nice, but if you're looking for a resort with white sand beach as far as you can walk into the water, this is not it.

I'm an active guy, and unfortunately on the off-season, everything was closed. So, I would not recommend this island during the quiet times. Unless doing nothing is your goal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Visited this resort for work purpose two weeks back. I must say that the hotel grounds are really nice and spacious. There is no reason you should not be able to relax and chill here. The rooms are cozy and spacious.If you are one for large flat screen televisions, well this is not the place for you..... but there has got to be something you can do other than watch tv. Visit the exercise room, go swimming, jogging, bicycle riding, walking, have a rest in a hammock on the beach, rent a boat for the day, play volley ball, enjoy the pool side bar or one of the great residents and visitors at the resort. I did not eat at the restaurant on premises, but I have heard rave reviews about it. Will definitely give my findings next time.

Now, I will say this much. the staff here do not seem to be that interested in the persons that they service. Im not one to knock the staff but they really have a "salty" attitude... maybe its because they are so close to the water.... NOT!
From the front desk right down to the grounds keeper.... everyone I met, other than hotel guests, seemed like they were upset with the world. Management will definitely need to do something about this. If not for this matter, i would give them 5 star ratings. Or maybe it was just my interpretation of it all.......

Because of the location and view, I will definitely be back......

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the villas are WORTH EVERY PENNY. The room has a set "low" tempera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevie T, Guest Relations Manager at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

We value your feedback tremendously and thank you for pointing out the amenities we offer here in such detail. Our service is of the utmost importance to us and we are disappointed to hear about your experience. Our hospitable staff has long been a source of pride, and please know that we will address this issue to ensure that your next stay with us exhibits that pride and most importantly meets your expectations. We look forward to your future return and hope you have the opportunity to sample some of Chef’s creations here at Angler’s restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Was there to do bone fishing on November. The temperature was in the 70s and very comfy.

Location was excellent . We were able to just walk to most places.

Beach was groomed and clean.


Wait staff was very nice. The bars and restaurant were open on time every day.

No issues with security and felt safe . No issues.





Love the full access wifi. it was better that most free wifi in the states!

rooms were large and clean.


A week ago hurricane sandy just went through it. You could never tell. Would definite go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We just got home yesterday and can't wait to get back! The resort grounds are clean and beautiful. The pool is clean and I love the swim up bar. The bartenders were very personable as were all the staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and can't wait to go back. The kids had a blast fishing, swimming and going snorkeling, diving for lobster and conch! Everyone should visit this resort! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsdeg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevie T, Guest Relations Manager at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it’s much appreciated. We are so glad your family was able to get out there and experience The Abacos both on and in the water. We hope to see you all again soon and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this resort in the off season (early august). The grounds of the resort were gorgeous, the beach was nice and the boats were a cool perk. Unfortunately the staff was awful. I'm not sure if this is namely because it was off season and they were understaffed but regardless there is no excuse for what we experienced.

Upon check in we were purposefully put into the wrong room. The room was pre paid for online and we were brought to a cheeper level room. This is my opinion because this is what happened. We were being checked in and the front desk clerk told us the room we would be brought to. I told her that I think it's the wrong room and retrieved the receipt I printed. She didn't even look up at it and told me that NO this was the correct room. We were shuttled to our room. It was clearly the wrong room and we had to be shuttled back to the front desk where I angrily insisted she actually glance up at the receipt. She did and said "owe yes, we realized that it was the wrong room once you left." Yet she didn't call the room to switch it.

The correct room smelled musty. The first night the shower head broke off while I was in it. We had to switch rooms. The second night the door lock broke and we could only exit and enter our room from the balcony. We again had to switch rooms. The drinks were awful (cheep and poorly mixed). The restaurant in the hotel was very good. Good "arnold palmer" drinks. The view from the restaurant was excellent too.

We paid 500$ for a private boat tour. It was excellent. Our guide took us to Hopetown, a few other keys and guana cay. We also went snorkelling. It was a good experience.

We rented a car and drove to treasure cay. This was the best part of the entire trip, it was magnificent. The beach is rated among the best in the world and I understand why. We ate and lounged at "treasure sands club." The food was superb and the drinks were fantastic. The pool and club were top notch. Don't miss this experience if you're there.

Otherwise we ate in town and it was excellent. Don't ask the cabbies for restaurant advice. We made that mistake one night and he took us to the local hangout, which was gross. Overpriced and bad food. Do your own research. I suspect the cab drivers are compensated for telling you to go to specific places. Curly tails was very good, as was the restaurant across the street from it.

You don't have to go early to the airport, it takes 5 minutes to check in once you arrive.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't rip you off. They may try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevieT, Guest Relations Manager at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Katrina we value your feedback tremendously and sincerely apologize for your recent stay. We pride ourselves on our guest service and what you experienced absolutely did not measure up to our standards. Please know that we have addressed the issues you faced and we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you should you allow us to be a part of your future travel plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsh Harbour
0.3 mi away
The Abaco Club
The Abaco Club
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
37 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hope Town
290 reviews
16.8 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marin...
#1 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
152 reviews
9.2 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
17.0 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina

Address: Bay Street, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Marsh Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Price Range: $266 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since it's inception in 1955 Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina has had the pleasure of welcoming back generations of loyal guests and families who continue to make the pilgrimage to Great Abaco Bahamas part of a storied family tradition. Simply and affectionately known as "Boat Harbour" to boating enthusiasts, Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina has become a legend as one of the best resort for individual and family vacations and boating enthusiast in the Bahamas. Thousands of beach loving vacationers and boaters return year round to rekindle old traditions and create their own uniquely Bahamian experiences. Located less than 165 miles east off the coast of Florida and situated on 40 beautifully tropical acres along the tranquil Sea of Abaco, the Abaco Beach Resort is the gateway to the World's finest fishing, eco-adventure excursion, historical island settlements and an abundance of aquatic activities. Experienced boaters and novices alike can chart their own course making stops at the surrounding offshore cays and pristine barrier islands that are just waiting to be explored. With a variety of activities ranging from island-hopping, kayaking, paddle boats, snorkeling, yoga, and water aerobics and diving to shopping and dining, The Abacos offer the perfect sanctuary for every type of aquatic and tropical island adventure. Our resort boost more than 89 guest rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, fitness center, 2 pool and is home to the largest marina in the Bahamas with 200 slips that can accommodate boats up to 200 feet in length. The resort concierge provides all the necessary amenities to assist boaters with preparations for a magnificent day on the water. Marina services include 24-hour security, Internet, TV, full detailing and cleaning, electricity and fueling services seven days a week, 365 days a year as well as on-site customs and immigration clearance. Whether planning a getaway for a family vacation, destination wedding, and corporate incentive trip or boating trip the Abaco Beach Resort is the ideal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco Beach Resort At Boat Harbour Hotel Marsh Harbour
Abaco Beach Marsh Harbour
Abaco Beach Resort And Boat Harbour Marina Abaco Islands, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing