We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

I just returned from the Abaco Beach resort...if you are looking for a very relaxing vaction in Abaco try Abaco Beach resort . Very clean and friendly on a nice harbor, beach just Ok. The food at the hotel ( Anglers) is great for breakfast ,lunch or dinner. Byron, the reservation manager ( good guy) can arrange any activity from bone fishing to dinner reservations to boat charters. Try dinner at Curly Tails, walking distance from the hotel. We looked at most of the other hotels on the Island and this was the nicest.

Room Tip: request the building closest to the Anglers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    56
    29
    18
    8
See reviews for
35
72
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We spent 2 months at the Abaco Beach resort in the marina and it was like a dream! The marina itself is large and well run but the grounds of the resort make it extra special. Anglers restaurant is excellent-both the food and the service. We had friends join us for a week and their rooms at the resort were clean and nicely decorated. The staff is warm and friendly, the pool is beautiful, the beach is lovely. There are several excellent restaurants in town or within walking distance that are wonderful. Visit at the right time and you might be lucky enough to witness a Junkanoo! You'll soon love the sound of the Rake n' Scrape (the saw) and they will glady let you try your hand. Rent a boat and visit Man o War or one of the other nearby islands. Snorkel on the reefs. We are planning another visit without our boat this winter and looking forward to another glorious vacation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabreline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

first off the "town" of boat harbour is a one traffic light collection of small warehouses and cheesy little shops The locals tend to be friendly for the most part (not always the case in the Bahamas). place is clean, food is decent, service good. overall very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We just returned from our visit to Abaco Beach Resort...what a special little surprise! The resort has all of the amenities of a super large resort but it still maintains a very quaint layout and feel.

Our room was very clean, comfortable and had plenty of room to stretch (our room had a King bed, night tables, a small day bed, a table for 2, coffee/sink area, dresser w tv [w a lot of channels] and a large bathroom w double sinks). The room overlooked the beach, which was an absolutely perfect way to start your day or unwind after dinner.

The grounds are immaculate and I saw plenty of busybodies keeping things clean and tidy - which appeals to me a lot. Nothing was ever out of place. The pool area is again quaint but we still had plenty of room to roam and we even enjoyed a drink at the swim up bar (order a WHATCHAMACALLIT! You're going to LOVE it!). The music around the pool was tropical but never overdone. The atmosphere was continually perfect!

The restaurant (Anglers) deserves a review onto itself!!! Everything was once again - perfect! The food was delicious, done right, appealing to the eye but again, not overdone. I noticed that everything about this resort is in the sublime - the little details, the attention to the meals, the comfy rooms, the properly maintained property, the attentive staff, the music, etc. It's all right there and in exactly the right combination!

One night after dinner we sat outside at the bar and listened to these two musicians play a saw (yes, like from a hardware store!). It was so interesting and downright good! In no time I was tapping my toe and dancing to the very cool tunes that these saws were producing. Who would have thought?? A saw? Yes :-)

Aside from the resort being IMHO very close to perfection (for what I like - quaint yet with plenty of amenities, fun yet relaxing, etc), the real gem is the actual island. I had not realized that it's like a little playground! We jumped on a boat (which you get right there from their marina...no need to go someplace else), and hopped around to the surrounding islands. It's like driving to different places, except you do it by water. These little islands (or Keys) each have their own charm. Some are like Nantucket, others are more secluded and rugged, etc. We couldn't visit all the little Keys that we wanted to see, but we will be back to finish what we started!

I don't think I've ever said this, but if I could, I'd give them 10 stars! Cherry on top...the staff is very sweet and thoughtful (they knew our names in no time and had our coffee on its way as soon as they saw us enter the restaurant in the morning!).

Abaco Beach Resort was REFRESHING! We are well traveled and sometimes we as guests feel lost among the shuffle. Not here. It was the perfect end to our summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DamianaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevie T, Guest Relations Manager at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of your stay with us. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed the resort as well as the island. As you experienced, we take great pride in creating a personalized experience for our guests. From the servers at Angler’s and front office staff to the marina team and maintenance staff, our associates are proud of the quality offerings we provide and everyone is happy to show it off and share their knowledge of our great destination. We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manor, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

My family and i just returned from a 4 day visit to the Abaco islands, and our biggest mistake was not to work harder at staying longer, as we were amazed at all Abaco has to offer and to do.
We stayed at Abaco Beach Resort based "must stay" recommendations from many friends who travel the Out Islands far more than we do, and our experiences turned out far better than their great recommendations. First, this resort is not a Ritz Carlton, but they do offer full $2 million luxury residential rentals right on the water, but our budget enabled us to stay in one of their ocean front deluxe hotel room at a very fair rate - for us, we were right on the beach and could still overlook the marina - just perfect!
Now for what was so special, almost every employee greeted us by name through out our stay, and we were greeted by Byron the same exact person who helped us with our reservation and planning, and he immediately asked if we had decided on all we thought about doing during our stay? We still were not sure, and he could not have been more helpful sharing great ideas on everything we could do and see - as we could have stayed for a month and still would have more to see and do. We settled on a using a boat available from the resort and exploring just a few of the closer by snorkeling sites - which was more than amazing, as what we saw was more breathtaking than any magazine we had ever seen - absolute crystal clear waters, as we were often surrounded by huge star fish, small rays, local playful dolphins, and so many variety of fish - just awesome!!!
We also visited Hope Town by boat as everything is so close and easy to get to, and again we were greeted everywhere with warm smiles, cold drinks and so many local dining options- just perfect.
Dining at our resort was absolutely great - as we mostly enjoyed coffee & breakfasts each morning while watching a large group of resident local dolphins play in the marina, then headed out to enjoy a day of exploring. Dinners at the resort were our favorite as we dined at the Anglers Restaurant which is right on the water at the resort - the menu and specials were always incredible (and this must surely the case, because each night at least 1/2 of the diners were local vacation home owners or residents). The service was consistently superb, and each night we were thoroughly entertained by their in-house keyboard musician who was just fabulous. And then if we regularly went outside to their marina pool bar for the 2nd entertainment venue which was always more upbeat as they just created their own party atmosphere - all in a perfect couples and family environment. We just loved it!
Our worst day was accepting that it was time for us to leave and go back home, as we are now already planning our return trip and can not wait to get back and just enjoy everything this great place has to offer.

Room Tip: Call the resort directly and ask to speak with Byron - he will make things happen for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gus23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbacoBeachResort, Michael J. Choiniere - Vice President of Sales and Marketing at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for choosing Abaco Beach Resort for your recent family vacation and providing feedback on your stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the resort and do hope you consider staying with us longer during your next visit. It’s always a pleasure to know that our guests have a personable relationship with resort associates. Byron is an invaluable asset to our Abaco Beach Resort family as he does work very hard to make memorable experiences for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

I've been to Abaco Beach Resort at Boat Harbour before, but only by boat--I'd never stayed at the hotel until this trip. My room, on the second floor, had a view of the Sea of Abaco above a stand of palm trees that borders the beach. I enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evening taking in the view. The room itself was also great--big and clean with a very comfortable bed, TV with cable movie channels, wireless internet, a wetbar with fridge, and a small coffeemaker. The beach is large with lawn chairs and even hammocks, but I mainly hung out at the main resort pool, which has a swim-up bar! I had fish tacos at the poolside bar (yum!) and enjoyed a big breakfast in the Angler's Restaurant, but otherwise ate out, so I can't comment on dinner at Angler's. The service was universally good, and the staff were all very friendly. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LouRudBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

The resort and marina is very well managed and maintained.. If your interested in exploring the Abacos this is a great homebase.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toesinthewater57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbacoBeachResort, Kevie Thomas - Rooms Division Director at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to highlight your thoughts about your recent experience with us. The resort is certainly the ideal spot for guests interested in exploring all the nearby islands. A true Out Island experience wouldn’t be complete without a visit to nearby Hope Town or Lubbers Quarters and our staff is always available to assist guests with their itineraries. We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsh Harbour
16.8 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hope Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
24.1 mi away
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marin...
#2 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#3 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
17.1 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
24.2 mi away
Green Turtle Club & Marina
Green Turtle Club & Marina
#1 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina

Property: Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
Address: Bay Street, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Marsh Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since it's inception in 1955 Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina has had the pleasure of welcoming back generations of loyal guests and families who continue to make the pilgrimage to Great Abaco Bahamas part of a storied family tradition. Simply and affectionately known as "Boat Harbour" to boating enthusiasts, Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina has become a legend as one of the best resort for individual and family vacations and boating enthusiast in the Bahamas. Thousands of beach loving vacationers and boaters return year round to rekindle old traditions and create their own uniquely Bahamian experiences. Located less than 165 miles east off the coast of Florida and situated on 40 beautifully tropical acres along the tranquil Sea of Abaco, the Abaco Beach Resort is the gateway to the World's finest fishing, eco-adventure excursion, historical island settlements and an abundance of aquatic activities. Experienced boaters and novices alike can chart their own course making stops at the surrounding offshore cays and pristine barrier islands that are just waiting to be explored. With a variety of activities ranging from island-hopping, kayaking, paddle boats, snorkeling, yoga, and water aerobics and diving to shopping and dining, The Abacos offer the perfect sanctuary for every type of aquatic and tropical island adventure. Our resort boost more than 89 guest rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, fitness center, 2 pool and is home to the largest marina in the Bahamas with 200 slips that can accommodate boats up to 200 feet in length. The resort concierge provides all the necessary amenities to assist boaters with preparations for a magnificent day on the water. Marina services include 24-hour security, Internet, TV, full detailing and cleaning, electricity and fueling services seven days a week, 365 days a year as well as on-site customs and immigration clearance. Whether planning a getaway for a family vacation, destination wedding, and corporate incentive trip or boating trip the Abaco Beach Resort is the ideal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco Beach Resort At Boat Harbour Hotel Marsh Harbour
Abaco Beach Marsh Harbour
Abaco Beach Resort And Boat Harbour Marina Abaco Islands, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing