We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced, who serves fries with a steak for $32”
Review of The Mill Cafe

The Mill Cafe
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Thornbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $24
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A Thornbury landmark restaurant located on the edge of the Beaver river/Mill pond dam. Enjoy amazing views and delicious food on the patio or apres ski by the cozy fireplace. Open for lunch and dinner
Meaford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced, who serves fries with a steak for $32”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Apps were great, rice looked like oatmeal, vegetables overcooked, very little for expensive price very disatissfied

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 131233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    57
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Meaford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Mill Cafe is BACK!!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Mill Café has had a hard time in the past year.
It now has a new manager, another new young chef that just started this week and some charming wait staff. We went on Wednesday night for the $1 corkage or $10 off a bottle from their lovely wine list. We shared a kale Caesar and they brought warm rolls with a wonderful fresh herb dipping sauce. The 80's music was a little loud and raucous and they readily switched to a more mellow selection...ambiance is great! We also feasted on a Seafood Pasta al Nero with black spagettini and German Style Pork Schnitzel with a tasty spaetzl. We were too stuffed for dessert but I think they are made in house. Definitely worth another visit!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DueLupiMeaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New chef, Excellent waitress”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

After not frequenting The Mill Cafe for several months, we were pleasantly surprised with the changes that have occurred recently. We had dinner at The Mill Cafe on Friday night. Our waitress, Meagan was excellent. Very engaging, professional, informed and well trained...mis en place. The new chef, most recently from Casino Rama came to ensure we were enjoying the fruit of his labour. He, also, was very engaging. He was in the midst of training his new staff and they seemed to work seamlessly, as there is an open style kitchen. They have also recently done some renovations, which show off quite nicely. We enjoyed the high top tables and the music.
I think we have found our new "Friday night" dinner spot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodsygue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely staff and the food is delicious”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Atmosphere is warm and intimate and the food never disappoints with their chef and team there to ensure it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stopped by here on a Saturday night on our way home from North Bay. The atmosphere was fantastic - dark, but with the glow of dim lights and candles. At first glance, it almost looked a little too fancy for me... but the menu was short, sweet, and simple and Aerosmith and Pink Floyd were on the stereo, so I quickly dismissed that feeling.

The food was absolutely delicious. I got the fish tacos with a side caesar salad (which they make with kale! awesome change!) and I washed it all down with a crisp Thornbury cider (come on, you're in Thornbury... it's a must!). My fiance got the Mill Burger and fries and he said it was one of the best burgers they've had. The fries came with a great dipping sauce. And the burg had a good bun, too! A lot of burgers tend to be hit and miss, always lacking in either the bun or the fixins or the meat, but it was a great burger all around. The service was great, our server was very attentive, and the value was pretty good - it wasn't cheap, but it wasn't over the top expensive, either. We will be back when we're in the area!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilporkchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill Cafe also viewed

Thornbury, Blue Mountains
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
 
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
Meaford, Grey County
 
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
Blue Mountains, Grey County
 

Been to The Mill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing