We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Little Sandwich Shop with Healthy, Fresh Food”

Thornbury Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Thornbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: A Thornbury tradition! Open 7 days a week serving full breakfasts and delicious lunches including a wonderful assortment of homemade bread, sandwiches, soups, salads, pastries and meals-to-go. Home of the Thornbury Bakery Original Chia Bread ... our gluten-free, dairy-free, non-GMO, peanut-free, vegan bread we now supply throughout southern Ontario! Many other gluten-free and vegan items too! Celebration cakes, cupcakes, pies, chelsea buns, chop suey buns and cinnamon buns are only a few things that made this bakery the place to go in Thornbury!
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute Little Sandwich Shop with Healthy, Fresh Food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Warm and cosy with healthy choices for lunch and some great looking treats for dessert or morning or afternoon tea/coffee breaks.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SmallerPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    38
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast/lunch spot”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great little family run cafe/bakery. They do their own bread (which you can buy) and make an awesome board of sandwiches out of it. Great coffee (kicking horse if you get brewed, didn't try the espresso based).

Soup was really good as was the sandwich I had. Menu was incredibly varied for a place that bills themselves as a cafe so if you are looking for more than just some coffee and pastries this is the place. Though that isn't putting down the coffee and pastries they do have.

Might be a bit of a wait when they are busy (and there are many reasons they are busy) but remember this isn't starbucks and good food is worth a very short wait. Service was friendly. will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stopped of at the Bakery Cafe for lunch. The coffee was great and the sandwiches we had were lovely, the bread was excellent. Very friendly staff. Some softer chairs would be nice! A great experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I were on a trip to Collingwood, and after seeing such great reviews for the bakery, decided to drive the 20+ minutes to Thornbury for breakfast. We were looking forward to some delicious eggs Benedict. We came in at 9:30 am and each ordered the Benny with peameal bacon and a coffee. Our total was just under $24.00. When poured our own coffees (which were the highlight of our visit) and after a few minites we received our "meals". It consisted of the eggs and bacon on english muffins, but the "hollandaise" (I use the term loosely, as it tasted overpoweringly like lemon) was ice cold and extremely pale yellow - not the delicious, rich sauce you expect. Our side was 5 small cubes of watermelon and 1 cube of cantaloupe, and the juice from this soaked into the muffins. I hate watermelon, and for $8.99 each, how much does it cost to throw on 1/2 a potato for homefries? .35¢? Not to mention all the flies we were fighting with, and the dirty tables with dishes and newspapers laying around. A complete ripoff. Neither worth the money, nor the drive from Collingwood.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thisisthelifebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish S, Owner at Thornbury Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
I am very sorry that your experience at our bakery was not to the standard that we strive for. We work very hard to ensure that each and every meal that goes out is not only of great value, but delicious and satisfying. Unfortunately, we did not hit that mark with you, and for that we apologize.

Our Eggs Benedict is very popular and the majority of our customers love the lemon flavour. We offer home fries as a side which allows us to keep the price at $8.99, which we feel is very reasonable for homemade eggs benedict. Many customers do not want homefries and would rather not pay for them or have them on their plate, thus the reason they are not included.

I wish I had the opportunity to correct the problem while you were visiting us, but please know that if you are ever passing through Thornbury again, please drop in and let us try to win you over!

Sincerely,
Trish Smith
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thornbury
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Bakery”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great food - fresh, delicious coffee and a hard working family run business. They cater as well. I have had the privilege of serving some of their catered foods at the grand reopening of the business I am employed by in our community. People raved about the food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank shareene2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish S, Owner at Thornbury Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank-you so much for your kind review! I'm very please that everyone was happy with the food we catered and we appreciate the feedback! Come and see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Trish Smith
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thornbury Bakery Cafe also viewed

Thornbury, Blue Mountains
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
 
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
Blue Mountains, Grey County
 

Been to Thornbury Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing